We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Point Inn to your Saves list
Lovers Point Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Napa, California, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My husband and I went to PG last year and walked along the Lovers Point area. We took a picture that happened to have this hotel in the background. So we decided to stay there on our next visit.

I was actually surprised how nice it was. It's kind of pricey for an older hotel, but it was very clean and comfortable. Actually the best bed we have slept in at a hotel for a very long time.

We stayed in a king room on the third floor. Beautiful views (though not unobstructed - there is another hotel between you and the water),

Over all we like it. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Third floor, ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear Loretta G,

Thanks for choosing our hotel and we are glad your enjoyed your stay. We recently upgraded our mattresses and it looks like you noticed! Thanks for the positive review and we look forward to having you back.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    160
    100
    43
    20
See reviews for
87
285
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

we moved away from PG last summer and miss the area so much. Knew this is where we wanted to stay and saw great reviews. room was quint, clean and our view from the 3rd floor beautiful! office staff was very pleasant, friendly and we meet multiple people working the desk.
The breakfast they provided was perfect, fresh and set up to eat there, on the patio out front or we could take it to our room. so very nice when you have kids with you.
thank you for the great stay and we will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear fairygirl13,

We are sorry you had to leave Pacific Grove, but are very glad you chose our hotel to stay at on your return. We pride ourselves on our customer service and are very pleased you could experience it. We are looking forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa City, Iowa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

I recently traveled from Iowa to visit a friend in California, she wanted to show me around one of her favorite places so off to Pacific Grove/Monterey we went. The rooms at Lovers Point Inn hotel were full so we decided to stay at the Mermaid house (part of the hotel). We arrived shortly before 9pm and the staff was helpful and friendly. If you are traveling with family or meeting up with couples/friends I would HIGHLY recommend inquiring about the availability of this house..spacious, updated, clean, comfortable beds (I was contemplating looking at the mattress to write down the brand!), and most importantly relaxing-it was hard to leave, once we opened the door and I walked up the steps I immediately felt a calming feeling overcome me. Overall location of this hotel is perfect, Lovers Point park is across the street,a trail that takes you to Cannery Row/Fisherman's Wharf/the aquarium,a restaurant across the street, honestly you can park the car and walk! Continental breakfast is included and to my surprise there was a broad variety to chose from, we actually spent our morning sitting out at the tables and watching the waves crash in and enjoying the scenery. No problems and hoping to travel back to the area this fall with my family! Highly advise anyone looking to travel to this area to check this place out!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear abbyjo!

Thanks for your very positive review. We were glad you could be accommodated at our vacation home. We recently upgraded all our mattresses and we are extremely glad you noticed! We can not wait to host you again in the fall and look forward to your return.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2014

This hotel is not posh, nor fancy but we knew this when we booked. Whilst generally run down, it was immaculately clean, and the beds huge and comfortable. And whilst we had an ocean view room, the only window in the room looked onto the public walkway balcony, so as other reviewers have said, you cannot keep the blinds open if you want any privacy. Plus you had to lean over the balcony to see the sea, but it was pretty when you could see it.
Check in was fairly easy, free wifi and the breakfast, whilst simple was pretty good, nice coffee and orange juice, and lovely setting outside with a sea view.

If you just want somewhere to stay and sleep, then this is a great choice, good value for money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear bikegirl,

As a small family owned hotel, positive reviews like yours really help us out. We are so happy to have had you as our guest and we hope you choose us for your next trip to Pacific Grove.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

I stayed here with my family for two days. January 1 and 2. It's not the fanciest hotels but it's very clean. I booked two rooms which I requested to get by each other which I did. The location it's great right next to lovers point park. There's a trail that you could take walking if you don't mind a good walk to the aquarium. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone that's on a budget Thank you to Diane, awesome personality

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear sandrarodrigue,

We appreciate the very nice review! it was a pleasure to have you as out guest and are extremely pleased that you chose our hotel. We are looking forward to your return!

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

stayed the night there over the weekend (1/4) and was overall greatly disappointed. prior to registering there were two other parties ahead of me so i was being patient awaiting my turn. i noticed that the registration person had a very canned speech when registering i.e. breakfast is available at such and such a time, parking down below, internet access, beach is across the street, etc. etc. so when it came to be my turn i heard the same thing, except for.... "and by the way there are security cameras all over the place". didn't think too much of this at the time, but i did wonder, "why did he mention that to me and not the others in his canned speech". finally after the registration was complete he was giving me the cardkey and i suggested that he only issue me one for both my wife and i (i guess standard issue is two). well lo and behold the cardkey didn't work after several attempts. so i went back to the front office, and yes there were others in the middle of registration. and yes i got to hear the canned speech again as he gave it to the new registrants. but i noticed again that the "security camera" portion was yet missing from his speech. was it because i look and happen to be hispanic? i don't know but it was strange that it felt that way.

oh and the toilet backed up. so i called the front desk to have someone unplug the toilet. i didn't realize that i was both the plumber and the guest:( all he did (same guy at the registration desk) was hand me the plunger and in a bag and said "you can just keep it in the room" and turned around and walked away. i suppose that i could have said allot of things but didn't want to make a big deal about it. i suppose my response is writing the review and vowing to NEVER go back or suggest to anyone they stay at this location.

also, my wife who loves taking a bath chose not to after she removed a glob of hair from the drain. and the outside noise can be very distracting. at one point i asked my wife to close the window because i could hear the cars and people outside...the window was already securely closed!

yes the price is very affordable and the location is awesome (across from the beach) but the view both in the room and from the room lack a great deal. sorry but on a scale of 1-10 i would give it 2-3.

Room Tip: pay a little extra and stay some where else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Dear David S,

We sincerely apologize for your recent stay at our property. As a small family owned and operated hotel, we take our customer service extremely seriously and it appears in this case we did not meet your, or our usually high standards. While we were having issues with our electronic card key system, we do apologize that our front desk staff was not more service oriented regarding your toilet.

It is unfortunate that you felt that due to your heritage you received less than outstanding service. Many of our front desk employees are "minorities" with a large percentage of Hispanic descent and the Lovers Point Inn enthusiastically welcomes guests of all races and nationalities.

Again, we are sorry that your stay was not more enjoyable.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

We had the bad luck of booking too early (april 2013). They changed their "system" and our paid reservation got lost. Thankfully the receptionist was helpful and called hotels.com. Hotels.com promptly rebooked us into another nearby property which was a great choice... Can't tell you much about the hotel other than it would have been an awesome location, and receptionist was helpful.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoversPointInn, Owner at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear colleens941,

Thanks for originally booking with our hotel and we apologize that your reservation was lost. Yes, we did upgrade our entire reservation system and there were some lost reservations. We regret that this happened to you but are glad we could rebook you at another local hotel.

Sincerely,

Lovers Point Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Address: 625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lover's Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.