We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really ocean view” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Point Inn to your Saves list
Lovers Point Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Noosaville, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not really ocean view”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We booked in before 3pm and had to come back for check in. There was a line up for an hour of others doing the same thing. We ended up going across the road and having an early dinner and coming back. Our room was overcrowded with furniture but clean and had a comfortable bed. Took us a while to find the fan thinking at first it was a heater! So glad we found it as room was very hot and the windows did not have security screens. Not really ocean views as all you can see is a tiny view mostly car park and the motel next door. Lift was not working properly. Breakfast was good and the outdoor area is nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am sorry that you experienced problems with check-in, this is not typical of our hotel. The elevator has been repaired and is not in good working order. Thank you for you review so we can make necessary improvements.
We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again when you are in our area.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    157
    100
    42
    20
See reviews for
87
279
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (172)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vista, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

We really enjoyed our time at this hotel. The view is gorgeous. There is a great restaurant across the street. The people who run the hotel were very nice and welcoming. The room was clean and well kept. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
You are so right, the area and the views are amazing. We are glad you enjoyed your visit and all that the area has to offer.
Thank you for choosing Lovers Point, please plan to visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

For some reason I checked my booking for this motel a few days before we arrived and found that my original booking made months before had not been transferred on to the computer system! I made several phone calls but the staff eventually sorted it all out and we were given the room I had booked on arrival. The staff on duty were all very friendly and helpful. Our room was nicely decorated and very clean with a small bathroom and a view of the sea (over another motel) on the 3rd floor. The only thing we didn't like was the balcony running directly outside the window so that everyone walked past. Our room was quiet though and the overall winning factor is the location in Pacific Grove, opposite a small park with the most beautiful views and walks. It was a short, pretty walk along the coastal path to The Cannery where we hired bikes and explored the area. The breakfast area in reception was small but there was a good choice of food and I enjoyed sitting on the pretty street patio outside looking towards the sea. We ate at the excellent restaurant The Beach House each evening (directly across the road). We were so glad that we had stayed here instead of one of the hotels in Monterey as Lover's Point is such a beautiful location!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am so sorry about the confusion on your reservation, put glad that everything worked out and you were pleased with your visit.
We appreciate your business and hope you will visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmichael, California, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We arri ed 15 oct the deal for 3-2 we thought we could get was not open so we had to take the 20%t a wichwas ok but dissa
pointed that the add said m-s but other than that the room was lovely and clean and ok across from the ocean ; its very hilly so if you need to walk up hill to stores best to drive.
Its nice.

Room Tip: 3 floor middle
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Thank you for your review and for choosing Lovers Point for your recent visit to our area. I am sorry that your requested room was not available, but you were pleased with a discount and enjoyed your stay.
Your business is appreciated, we hope you will visit again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sacramento, california, usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in a king 3rd floor room with a decent view of the ocean, they are not ocean front there is another hotel in front of it but it is a good view. Very clean for an older hotel, bed a little to firm but Location Location Location. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
You are so pleased that you enjoyed your visit at Lovers Point. You are so right, it is a great location and the views are amazing
Thank you for staying with us, your business is greatly appreciated.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grapevine, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

The folks in the front office were very friendly. I was disappointed that the upgrade to a king room with ocean view ended up having mostly a view of the hotel in between it and the water. There were some rooms at one end that had much better views, and I was disappointed that a couple who arrived and checked in behind us got one of those. The bed was nice, but in such a small room, it was a tight fit. Accommodations were adequate. This was not a bad stay, but I had hoped for more after doing research online prior to the booking.

Room Tip: The best view of the water are a few rooms upstairs and nearest the end where the office is located.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
I am so sorry that you did not get the room that you wanted. I hope you mentioned this to the desk personal to see if you could more. Our management there is fairly new and are working to make improvements and upgrades.
Thank you for your business, please plan to come back and we will try to have the room you request.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

We arrived here late one evening from San Francisco and were looking for a well priced room just for over night. I called many places which for the most basic of motels were not cheap. They were really expensive. Lovers Point had given us the best price over the phone and when we enquired in person were given a discount which sealed the deal. We got a small room on the bottom floor. It was very small and very basic but was clean. Our room had a bit of a hole in the wall and was in need of a repaint etc, but I had read this prior to booking in and perhaps the price reflects this. The location is great- so close to the foreshore and the breakfast in the morning was ample for an 'included in room rate' price. We sat in the sun and watched the resident friendly gull and it was lovely. The staff were very friendly. Would definitely stay again if the rates remain better than their competitors.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
It's good to hear that we were able to accommodate your needs on your recent trip from San Francisco. We recently hired a new management company and general manager. We are currently working on renovations.
Your next visit should be more comfortable.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Address: 625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lover's Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.