We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than your usual 2 star” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Save Saved
You added Lovers Point Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Sydney
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Better than your usual 2 star”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Stayed 1 night in room 114.
Better than basic hotel/motel, with clean with fresh linen; though the mattress was a bit old and had a noticeable divot in the middle, could do with replacing.
Helpful staff.
Located pretty much on the water, a little out of town which was nice.
Our room was on the ground floor with parking right out front, which did result in a bit of noise but nothing major.
Would be happy to stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Thank you for choosing Lovers Point Inn during your recent travels. We appreciate your review. you are a valued guest and we hope your will visit us again when you are in our area.
Your business is greatly appreciated.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    139
    89
    35
    18
See reviews for
81
248
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crawley, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Good - Close to beach. We had a partial sea view. Close and convenient to Monterey without the hustle bustle. Service could not have been better, very friendly and helpful. Room was clean and presentable. Great shower. Managed to park near the room but they also have underground parking too I believe.

Not so good - Lots of noise from other guest due to thin walls and design maybe. Breakfast pretty basic, no hot food and took back to room, which was fine.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
I really appreciate your review, we are currently working on making changes and updates to our hotel. We value you as a guest and hope you will visit us again soon.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Lover's Point Inn is way overpriced for the rooms and the amenities provided. We were very disappointed with our overall experience. The so called view (even from a higher floor) is overlooking the top of a couple of buildings in between the Hotel and the Ocean. The staff was courteous and helpful and the fact that we didn't stay in the rooms for too long during day time helped.
But still no VFM at all in this place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
I am sorry you were not pleased with your recent stay at Lovers Point. We have new management that will be reviewing pricing and operations. There will be improvements very soon.
Thank you for your review, we hope you will visit us again.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Sad to say that our experience at the Lovers Point Inn was the first time that Trip Advisor let us down. Room was small and most definitely not worth $160 per night. When we reserved, put in the special comments section that we were there to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were not expecting any special compensation but it still would have been nice to have had at least a card from management stating "Happy Anniversary" or even just a "congratulations" from the hotel management upon check-in. The reason most folks stay at hotels--and return--is because you feel welcomed and like an honored guest. This was a major miss at LPI. We won't be back because we've had more positive experiences in Monterey at other hotels. Will not recommend to others either as we would have felt awful if they had paid what we did for a rather small room.

Positive note is that the location was good and breakfast was sufficient to start out the day. I would just recommend that the prices be more reasonable and that the hotel management be more focused on making guests want to return to stay again rather than treating them as people they won't ever see again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am so sorry that we did not meet your expectations, but mostly I am so sorry that no one recognized your anniversary. As of June 1, we will have a new manager and If you give us another chance, you will see things change. This manager is known for great service and clean comfortable rooms.
We appreciate your review, it gives us your view of our hotel and the corrections that need to be made. I apologize for any inconvenience to you.
Please plan to visit us again soon, we do appreciate your business.
HAPPY ANNIVERSARY TO YOU. From our new management team
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed here this past memorial weekend and thought it was just perfect, especially for the price. We stayed on the 3rd floor, so we did have a view of the ocean from our room. The rooms are on the smaller side, but it made no difference to us as they have obviously remodeled them and we were very comfortable. Those that are on the picky side, will probably find issues with the older bathroom, but if you are looking to save some $$, then it is worth it. We also walked to & from the cannery area (less than a mile) for dinner and it made it even more enjoyable.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is probably best for an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I am so glad that you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and for writing the review. Your comments are very important to us since it tells us the guest experience at the hotel.
Please plan to visit again soon, we appreciate your business.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Managet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodega
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We love Pacific Grove and really enjoyed our visit but our hotel experience was not the best.
First for the positive. This is a good location, right at the point of the little peninsula that sticks out into Monterey Bay. Right across the street is a little park and a walking path that runs all the way to all the Cannery Row tourist attractions. It also sits at the edge of the downtown section of Pacific Grove so there are lots of great little restaurants and shops, even thrift stores within walking distance. The staff were fairly nice during our stay. All in all we decided on arrival that this hotel is one step up from the Borg, which is right next door.
On to the negatives. The rooms are small and dark and old, though they make best use of the space by confining the bathroom to a closet sized space with the sink and mirror out in the main room. The furniture in the room is fake wicker outdoor furniture, clean, but too uncomfortable to sit in for long. The hotel advertised a "private balcony with a view of the ocean" when we booked the room. There is a view of the ocean, over rooftops of the nearby buildings, and the view gets better the higher the floor obviously. But the private balcony is the hallway outside the door of all the rooms, running the length of the building where people walk, talk and seem to congregate late at night. There are 2 rooms with private balconies and when we pointed this discrepancy out to staff they explained that some staff are new and don't know that most rooms don't have a private balcony. Do they not look up at the hotel as the come to work? Anyway, we didn't spend much time in the room, we were mostly out at the beach or in town walking around so the room would have been an okay visit if not for plumbing issues. For one thing, this is one of those hotels where you can hear the plumbing when in use in nearby rooms, all night long. For another, we had to use the plunger in our toilet every time we flushed it. The plunger provided in the room had obviously seen a lot of use already and curled up inside out each time we tried to use it. Luckily there were public bathrooms in the park across the street so we could use those during the day. However, on our last night the toilet finally overflowed. By quick use of all our clean towels we were able to localize it and transfer it to the bathtub. Rather than search for staff and try for a room change, we decided to hold on till morning and leave early. I stayed up much of the night listening to the plumbing sounds and some swearing and wheeled devices being rolled back and forth on the "private balcony" and I began to wonder if others in the hotel were having the same late-night issues. We didn't stick around to investigate, just notified staff who said they would look into it. Then we hopped in the car and headed for the highway and a gas station bathroom.

Room Tip: Top floor has the best view and you won't hear the plumbing sounds from the room above you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
I am so sorry that you experienced so many problems on your recent visit to Lovers Point. I have discussed . review with management, who will see the necessary repairs are made. We will also do additional training with front desk so everyone understands the layout of rooms and views.
Again, I apologize for the inconvenience to you. Thank you for staying with us, and I hope you will visit again and see the changes in progress.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I made a reservation for a 1st floor room for 2 adults and a child and after my information was taken, I was informed that a mistake was made and there were no 1st floor rooms available so I would have to be "upgraded" to a 2nd floor balcony room. I didn't question the change as I assumed that a room that costs more must be at least equally equip as a room that costs less. I was terribly disappointed to find that our room was the size of a shoebox with a balcony that barely had room to sit and a view that was impossible to see if seated. In fact, the balcony was directly over the outdoor breakfast area that is available at 7:30 in the morning so the sounds of conversation travels directly into your room early in the morning.
The room was clean with the exception of the ant invasion on the chest of drawers; I was killing ants all weekend and paranoid they would end up in the bed (since the room was so small and the bed was a short travel for the ants).
The bathroom was small but the water pressure was good and the shower was warm. There was no place to hang towels but for a small 12" rack that also held the hand towels.
The bed was a queen and had nice bedding. The fridge and microwave worked well.
The continental breakfast was good enough to hold us over until lunch. Milk, cereal, coffee, toast and danish available at 7:30.
I suppose this room is okay if you're a couple only there to sleep - in which case - I don't recommend spending the extra money for the balcony or ocean view.
Honestly, I got the impression that they placed us in this room because we had a baby and the placement would seem the least disruptive to other guests if you had a crying baby.
(No one puts baby in the corner!) I don't thing I'll be returning to that particular hotel with our son. Perhaps if I got a cheap online reservation for a first floor room (that's actually bigger!)

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are tiny!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloria B, Guest Relations Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your review and for staying with us at Lovers Point. We hope you will change your mind and visit us again, as of June 1st, we have a new manager and there will be great customer service immediately, she can't do much about the size of the room but be assured that the room will be clean and comfortable. It will be our goal to have a hotel in the Lovers Point area that will be known for good, friendly service and comfortable rooms.
Please plan to visit again and give us a review of the new management style.
Gloria M. Brown
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Address: 625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lover's Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Tingo, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.