We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff but musty small room.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Save Saved
You added Lovers Point Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Booking.com Orbitz.com
and 7 more sites!
Lovers Point Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
15% OFF
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Pacific Grove
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Friendly staff but musty small room.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012 via mobile

The staff was very friendly and helpful. The view was ok. The room was as shown on the internet. It was nice to go across the street to sit at the beach. To bad I couldn't smell the room from the internet because then I would have known to bring fabreeze. It was very musty and had an old stinky locker room smell to it. The drain in the tub needed draino or liquid plumber. By the time I finished with my 3 min shower, the water was to my ankles. The continental breakfast was not bad. The office had cookies and brownies in the lobby every afternoon. Next trip to Monterey, I think we will pay a little bit more and stay @ the Best Western Beach Resort again.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sindy B, Manager at Lovers Point Inn, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review, I really appreciate your feed back. I want to personally apologize for your terrible experience at our hotel. I would like to ensure you that this falls short of LPI's standards! After reviewing our past procedures in room cleaning, I have sat down with the head of housekeeping and created a plan to better refresh our rooms for all future guests. Again, I apologize for your experience here at Lovers Point Inn, I do hope you decide to give us another chance, let us redeem ourselves....Thank you, Sindy Buentello
LPI Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

372 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    140
    120
    70
    31
    11
See reviews for
67
215
10
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Olivehurst, CA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This hotel appears to be in new and very capable hands. The staff were courteous and readily available, but never in the way. The room was clean and complete enough (all the expected such as hairdryer, wifi, fridge, local tickets. etc). No fancy gym or conference rooms, but this is a vacation place, not a conference junket. The hotel is at the start of the walk/bike path to Monterey bay, a gorgeous walk of about 1 mile. What we saved in one night paid for the meals (and good meals) for days.

Room Tip: You don't need to get an "ocean view" room - just step out the door and you're the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2012 via mobile

I would never stay here again. Soon as we walked in to room got hit with old musty smell. And it was really hot inside. Went to look for AC unit to cool off room and could only find heating thermostat. Called down to front desk to ask about AC and they said there is no AC in the hotels in the Monterey area even over at Pebble Beach. Lies!!! The last three hotels we have stayed at here in Monterey have had AC/ Heater units in the rooms. I would recommend staying at the Best Western Plus Beach Resort. Wish we were there now. Its a little more pricey but WAY worth it. Back to this dump, it is a small room and has a very small bathroom and no safe to put valueables. Man what a memorable anniversary for my wife and I.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Grove, CA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

My husband and I spent an evening at the ideally located Lovers Point Inn in Pacific Grove, just steps away from the beach and within walking distance to the historic downtown shops and restaurants. The room overlooked the rocky coastline, adorned with the floral "pink carpet." Our room was perfect and the service was excellent. Thank you for a wonderful getaway, we will come back again!

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanview or better yet, request the Honeymoon Suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012 via mobile

I stayed at lovers point inn in mid april for my fiances 30th birthday also our 1sy vacation together ever....loved the name of the hotel which is what made me look into it more.....amazingly friendly staff......cute rooms and about 1.5 min walk from lovers point park....very quick to respond to request made for example the lamp was unpluged by the bed after informing them someone was at my door to fix the situation.....housekeeping did a wonderful job.....I would recomend them a a nice romantic getaway anyday -monique c

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
whitby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2012

We have stayed at pricier hotels and not had half the service. The staff was helpful, even obtained a room for us on a busy weekend when we decided to stay an extra night. The view of the ocean was amazing and it was just steps to Lovers Point. I had the best run I had in years up and down the coast. Sindy and her staff were helpful. We were three thousand miles from home and they made fell right and home in Pacific Grove. Thanks so much for a great stay and making our vacation memorable.

Room Tip: Room 305 has a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at Lover's Point INN for my husband birthday. The staff their was very helpful, and friendly. They make you feel right at home. I don't know the area well so they had made dinner plans for me before I arrived. Check-in was very easy and fast. Rooms are very clean and the ocean view is to die for. Close to the beach and shopping..It was a great place to stay. I will come stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lover`s Point Hotel
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel
Address: 625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lover's Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Venere, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.