We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our new place to go in Pacific Grove” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lovers Point Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Lovers Point Inn to your Saves list
Lovers Point Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Sacramento, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Our new place to go in Pacific Grove”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2011

We vacation in Pacific Grove twice a year and have stayed in other inns/motels. This time we tried the Lover's Point Inn and have declared it our new "go to" place to stay. It is located a block from the shore with, from the third floor accessible by elevator, great views of Monterey Bay and Lover's Point Park. The rooms are good sized with very comfortable beds. The shower/toilet room is pretty small, but who spends much time in it? The rooms are clean and have just been refurbished. The folks who run the inn could not be friendlier or more helpful. The continental breakfast is quite adequate and, although we didn't notice until we checked out, there are a few outside tables to enjoy the breakfast in good weather. The Inn's value is quite good even during the high season and especially so at other times. We already have reservations for our annual Thanksgiving week visit to Pacific Grove.

Room Tip: Third floor rooms worth the expense for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

491 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    168
    160
    100
    43
    20
See reviews for
87
285
14
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgan Hill, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011

My wife and I have visited this beautiful locale in Pacific Grove many times over the years, but we never considered staying here because we thought the rates would be too high. To stay in a clean hotel with a friendly staff and views of Monterey Bay (just across the street) we must have been dreaming. So now that the cat's out of the bag, the "Vacancy" sign will probably end up with a "No" in front of it more often. The rooms are clean with comfortable beds and although a bit smaller than one of those luxury hotels, it's hard to beat; besides, who spends time in a hotel room in Monterey Bay? This was a great find at a good price. They even up-graded us to a higher floor (better view). We had a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2011

We had a beautiful view of Lover's Point from our third floor room. There was a larger than average mini-fridge which was great since we traveled with two kids under two years of age and had many food and drink options to put in it.
Our room had been recently updated from when my husband got ready for our wedding in this Inn in 2008. Not all the rooms have been updated yet, which was apparent by walking by some of the rooms.
The rooms aren't huge, but who needs a ton of space when you don't do much but sleep in it anyway. We were able to move the coffeetable and make room for the two pack n plays (portable cribs) for the babies.
There is no AC in this inn and it did get stuffy at night, which they have supplied fans for.
This inn is non-smoking, which they make you sign and agreement to that fact when you check-in, but our room smelled like smoke and our bathroom smelled of smoke the first night (even after running the fan for hours while we were gone for dinner and leaving the window open). The next night our bathroom smelled like marijuana. After mentioning to the front desk the smell of smoke the first night they offered to rememdy the situation with some spray, but due to my children's allergies I declined. The second night we didn't notice the smell until quite late in the evening and didn't want to disturb the front desk again so we just kept the bathroom door closed and tried to deal with the smell as best as possible when we visited the bathroom. Upon complaint of the strong marijuana odor the 2nd night and knowing the issues we had the first night with the smoke smell they refunded credited us one night of our stay, which we were highly grateful for.
The beds were comfortable and the upgrades were a nice touch. I really liked the wicker furniture for seating in the room. We enjoyed our stay except for the smokey smell in our room. We will likely stay here again because of it's location and friendly service.
Another reviewer said the parking garage was creepy, but it's a parking garage under the building, not too much is creepy about it. If you have litle ones they'll like learning about an echo as our son did.
Antother reviewer also complained of the parking/inn being on an alley, it's a narrow street with no sidewalks, but there are homes and the "alley" is Mermaid Ave. It is behind another motel, but if you stay closer to 17th Ave you'll have a better view of Lover's Point, even the first floor can see it from that side of the hotel.
Our son also enjoyed the elevator because we could see the view as we rode it.

Room Tip: 17th St 1/2, any floor. Best view 3rd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

We found this hotel to be a great value with a great ocean view. The room was very clean with a comfortable bed. The people at the desk were friendly and helpful. The best part was that the hotel was quiet on a quiet street. It was great to wake up and go on a walk down the beach. We will go back for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2011

The Inn is a bit of an old Inn that looks like it was recently remodeled. We stayed on the ground floor, it's about $10 more per floor, so I picked the economy view. Room was small, right next to the vending machine and elevator (which surprisingly didn't bother us at all). The walls separating your room with the outside are paper thin, as I discovered when guests started checking out at 6:30am. once they were gone though, I didn't find any reason to complain. The breakfast is not worth your calories. Packaged food. Nothing fresh, mini bagels and cinnamon raisin toast are the highlights of breakfast. Skip that, and go to First Awakenings right down the street, for sure. All in all, nice bed, clean room, great location and parking, nice staff, but cheap breakfast and smaller spaces.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2011

We stayed in the suite on the third floor, it had a very nice view of lovers point and the ocean. It is just a short walk to the ocean and less than two minutes from cannery row. Access to the rooms and parking was great. Our room appeared to be recently remodeled and had a flat screen TV in the master suite. The other room had a couch and table which was nice for relaxing and enjoying the view. We stayed over on a Saturday night and enjoyed the local restaurants and cannery row.

Room Tip: The best views of the ocean are fromt he thrid flr
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fresno, ca
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2011

We made reservations here referred by friends that live in the area. Great, scenic location, rooms very well appointed, not fancy or formal, but clean and neat. Upper floors have best views, walking accross streat gets you to some of the prettiest views of Californias coast. Very close to Monterey bay aquarium, a mile or so.

Room Tip: Ask for top floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lovers Point Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lovers Point Inn

Address: 625 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Lovers Point Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lover's Point Inn is located on the coast of historic Pacific Grove, California. Just moments from the beach, we are centrally located between Monterey and Pebble Beach. Within a mile is Cannery Row and the famous Monterey Bay Aquarium, as well as many choices for fine dining, shopping, and other family experiences. We have a variety of one and two bed rooms, many with ocean views. A perfect place for a getaway for the entire family! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelClick and Priceline so you can book your Lovers Point Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lover`s Point Hotel Pacific Grove
Lovers Point Hotel
Lovers Point Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lovers Point Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.