We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Thai Bistro

Thai Bistro
159 Central Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3015
831-372-8700
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #50 of 75 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Price range: $0 - $10
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Doing business, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Takeout
Salt Lake City, Utah
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

The food here was fresh and delicious. Speedy service and the extra little touches on the presentation of the food really impressed us. Great value for the food & service. Both dishes we tried were delicious and the side salad & dumplings that came with our meal were tasty too. If we lived in Pacific Grove, this would be a regular lunch or diner spot.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    14
    6
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Monterey, California
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

After returning from downtown shopping and the beach the other day, my wife and I went into the resturant to get a quick bite to eat. Thai Bistro was so quite it was just what we needed after our busy a day. The young lady server must be one of the family because she was so friendly and accommodating. We felt like we were home while there. Service was a bit slow, but Wow, what a great meal. Dumplings, soup, Thai rice, Wow, so good, all freshly prepared and served with style. We highly recommend the resturant for couples wanting a great meal and a quiet and very comfortable setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Bad Service!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My friend and I went to this restaurant for dinner on Feb 21, 14. We were very disappointed by the service provided by the waitress there. We asked to be seated in a more private setting since she wanted us to place us shoulder to shoulder with other people. So she let us there standing until we ourselves found a table that was by itself. She never refilled our waters after walking by so many times. She has so much attitude which I do not tolerate at all. The group next to us asked her if they had coconut ice cream and she said no. Then the other waiter came in and asked them if they needed something else and they responded that they wa nted ice cream and he told them they had coconut ice cream after being lied. Then she got upset with the waiter for not charging the group for the ice cream after the group had spent good money and she is being petty about it. The food was okay nothing special.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing Thai”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was the cute exterior of this restaurant on Lighthouse Ave. that drew me in. I ordered the tofu Pad Thai and just found it okay. It wasn't bad, but being from Portland (OR) maybe I am spoiled by the many excellent Thai places to choose from. Service was also just okay; polite staff, but didn't seem overly interested in my overall experience. Maybe it was just a bad night or I ordered the wrong dish? Was wishing for more, though.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Great service...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

As mentioned above, great service family owned restaurant. Pad thai i thought was really good, had the red curry which i thought needed coconut milk ( all the thai curries that i've tried have coconut milk). The thai iced tea was great, i thought they should make it bottomless LOL. It does look like a greek house from outside, maybe it was an old greek house/diner before it became a thai place. Price range $30-40 for a couple.Restrooms are pretty clean considering it's an old house converted into a restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Bistro also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Thai Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.