We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great value with upgraded rooms” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Haven Inn to your Saves list
Deer Haven Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A great value with upgraded rooms”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

The best part of deer haven inn was that right when we were checking in, a family of deers were crossing the street, it couldn't get any welcoming than that! They just upgraded their rooms with hardwood floors, granite in the bathrooms, and our room had a cute fireplace. If you are also traveling with pets, this is the place for you! It is a pretty small inn within a neighborhood so it was very quiet, which is what we wanted. I am strict about cleanliness, and Deer Haven Inn fit my standards.

It's driving distance to Monterey and very close to downtown Pacific Grove. I would highly recommend checking this place out as we were very happy!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    57
    16
    8
    7
See reviews for
47
56
9
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

An excellent deal for the price that we paid, with a clean and spacious room. Almost everything was brand-new inside: a large and comfy bed, a dining table and a fridge, the decor, etc. and there was even a fireplace... everything that you may need to stay there for a while and make yourself comfortable, although you will probably prefer to go out and enjoy Pacific Grove. We suggest walking along the coast or around the older part of the town, then finding a nice restaurant for dinner (mostly accessible by car). The Deer Haven Inn is located in a very quiet and residential neighbourhood. From the outside it looks like an ordinary motel -the name of the place may have been misleading in that sense- but as soon as we stepped inside our room we were reassured that we had made a good choice.

The breakfast provided was minimal, but it was nice to grab a little something to eat before getting back on the road the next morning.

The receptionist on the evening of July 8 was rather rude, but on the next morning the other receptionist more than made up for it - very friendly and warm.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Everything was great except for the walls being a little thin so you could hear neighbors talking.

Room was clean and very good
Service was genuine and caring. I would totally stay at this place again.

The breakfast was small but had the essentials and I liked the fire to warm by while eating on the patio.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monrovia, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We booked a two queen bed room the morning of a driving trip down the coast; we needed a dog friendly motel, which this was. The price was very reasonable, the room was clean, the staff friendly and helpful. The motel looks recently renovated; new windows, shower curtain, bedspreads, flat screen TV with direct tv service. The site is only a couple hundred yards from a very nice beach, easily walked to.

Although the room size was modest, we couldn't have been more pleased with the value proposition. I would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Very quiet neighborhood. I don't think the room selection matters.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here on the night of June 28th. We arrived early and Amo at the front desk said that if our room would have been ready, he would have "taken care of us." He was friendly and made us feel welcome right away. When we did return at 3:00, the front desk person (we didn't get her name) was also friendly and told my husband that if any noise bothered us to let her know right away. Our room was very clean and, except for the normal noise of people on the floor above us, was quieter than we expected. We thought the room price was a bit high but this is coast and is the season. The breakfast was small but good and the in-room coffee delicious. We would definitely stay here again. Thanks, Amo!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Dorado Hills, California
Level Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We stayed two nights at Deer Haven Inn, traveling with our two dogs, so their pet-friendly policy worked for us. The good: affordable, pet friendly, clean, relatively quiet location near Asilomar in Pacific Grove, our room included a small refrigerator which was nice to have. The bad: small room and no scenic view so don't plan on spending time hanging out in your room. There was a small table in the room, but good luck making room to actually sit at it. Our comment on the so-called free breakfast -- don't bother. Coffee and the kind of danish you buy at the grocery store or maybe 7-Eleven. But we take the price into consideration and if you want a place with a full fresh-cooked breakfast buffet in the morning, you're going to pay more than Deer Haven. So if you need a place to stay on the Monterey Peninsula with pets, Deer Haven Inn is a decent choice. Just don't set your expectations too high and you'll have a clean place to sleep and park your luggage without emptying your wallet.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

My husband and I stayed 3 nights for our 10 year anniversary with our elder little pooch and thoroughly enjoyed it! The rates, location, remodeled rooms, lovely landscaping, continental breakfast and customer service were simply lovely. We will recommend and return to Deer Haven Inn! Thank You.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 104 and would request it for our next visit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.1 mi away
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 536 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 512 reviews
0.5 mi away
Butterfly Grove Inn
Butterfly Grove Inn
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.3 mi away
Asilomar Conference Grounds
Asilomar Conference Grounds
#10 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.5 of 5 stars 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Business Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Haven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.