We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Cozy Place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Deer Haven Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Deer Haven Inn to your Saves list
Deer Haven Inn
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
San Francisco, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Cozy Place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We had the upper corner room with two queen beds. The fireplace was great to have. There was a small refrigerator, microwave and coffeemaker in the room which was great to have especially the frig- kept water and food cold (left overs from dinner). The Inn has been upgraded and nicely decorated. It's also located in a nice area. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your nice review. The team is very grateful that your experience was more than exceptional. Our renovations are near complete and the changes have been wonderful. We look forward to having you back in the future! All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    39
    14
    7
    6
See reviews for
35
36
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Perhaps it was the peaceful corner room upstairs that made me enjoy my stay so much. The room was very spacious, had a king bed, a rather romantic gas fire place, ample wardrobe space, a generous bathroom counter which was separated by a door from toilet and bath.
A refrigerator, microwave, coffeemaker and a flat screen TV rounded off the updated accommodation. I learned that the hotel had recently been remodeled - except for the reception which is overdue and apparently coming soon. The choices of the continental breakfast, however were not satisfactory which might have to do with the limited space in the reception.
Coastal walks, Monarch butterfly grove, Pacific Grove's shops and restaurants are all in close proximity. I was there for The "2013 Pebble Beach Pro-Am" Golf Tournament, and anyone playing this sport will be in 7th heaven here.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs will be less prone to the noise of parking/starting cars.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Let us thank you for your review! We are glad that you enjoyed the local attractions and had a great time navigating through the area! At Deer Haven Inn, our goal is to make sure your experience is more than exceptional. Our breakfast has vastly improved and our rooms look even better! . We hope we get another opportunity to show you a wonderful time at Deer Haven Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My husband and I Loved our room and the fireplace was nice to fall alseep in front of. The next morning we woke up and saw deer near our front door. We will be back to stay another night when we are in the area

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. The team is grateful that you had a very exceptional stay. After intense renovation and change, our rooms look even better! The neighboring deer also look forward to seeing you back as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Pacific Grove was the second stop of our Central Coast road trip the last week of September.

My first impression, which was of the office where we checked in, was not positive. If the office was not clean and was obviously in need of some repairs, what would our room be like?

As it turned out, the room was nice. New paint, crown moulding, nice linens. The room also included a gas fireplace equipped with a thermostat. Since it was rather cool, we used the fireplace to keep the room comfortable during the night.

While there was little to complain about, at about $210 with taxes -- almost exactly the rate for our wonderful room at the Inn at Morro Bay the night before -- the Deer Haven Inn was not a terrific value. It was a gussied-up motel room, and would have been a reasonably good value at $150.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Let us thank you for your review. At Deer Haven Inn, it is our goal to make sure your stay is more than exceptional. We apologize if the receptionist did not give you a positive experience. After intense renovations and change, we are happy with the end results. We hope we can get another chance to have you as a guest. Our rates and rooms look better than ever!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed here one night this past week and were very happy with our room. This is not a fancy place, but our room was clean, updated and very quiet. The location is perfect if you want to walk through the conference center grounds to the beach. We saw 5 deer on our walk and spent a good amount of time on the beautiful beach that is just a quick 5 min. walk from the hotel. A very basic breakfast was available in the AM in the front office. No complaints here - would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: We stayed upstairs in a king room with fireplace. I prefer being upstairs so you're hearing peo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to provide outstanding service and exceptional rooms. We have gone under a lot of renovations and change. Our rooms look even more amazing! We look forward to having you back as our guest. Glad you were able to enjoy the beach and the neighboring deer. We definitely have a lot of comments regarding how quiet and nice the area is. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Pros: It was clean and located in a quiet neighborhood. The room itself was a little tight with two queens and four people, but not unreasonably so. I did not have much interaction with staff, but the man at the desk when we checked in was nice.
Cons: There are two reasons for the low rating. First is the price. $140+ is overpriced for just a room with basic amenities. More importantly is the lack of sound insulation between rooms. We could here every word spoken by the woman next door. In the middle of the night not only were we woken up by the man upstairs getting out of bed, but we then could actually hear him him urinate. When he flushed the water gushed through the plumbing that is located right next to the head of the bed.

Room Tip: Single level floor room or upstairs rooms might have less noise from the neighbors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I spend one night at this convenient motel, silent, well located and clean. The restroom had a door separating bath/toilet from the sink. The staff was pleasant. It's a value for money inn, in the end. I recommend the place for a short visit to Monterey Peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RPandJustin, Front Office Manager at Deer Haven Inn, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. At Deer Haven Inn,our goal is to provide outstanding experiences. We get a lot of comments regarding how quiet and peaceful the area can be. Looking forward to having you back as a guest in the future. Our renovated rooms look great!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Deer Haven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deer Haven Inn

Address: 750 Crocker Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Deer Haven Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Deer Haven Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Deer Haven Hotel Pacific Grove
Deer Haven Inn And Suites
Deer Haven Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Deer Haven Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.