We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rosedale Inn Executive Suite

Save Saved
You added Rosedale Inn Executive Suite to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   775 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Pacific Grove
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“STAY SOMEWHERE ELSE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We had requested quiet rooms when making our reservation and were instead given rooms right next to the road and adjacent to the breakfast room. Traffic began zooming by in the early am accompanied by the hotel staff passing by our rooms talking loudly slamming storage doors to set up the breakfast in the early AM. There was also a very stong chemical smell in both rooms so you had to open the windows in order to not have you eyes burning. Only problem is that screens to the windows are virtually destroyed allowing all bugs, rodents etc. to freely enter you room. Breakfast was adequate but we noticed that bagels,croissants were merely covered over and reused for the next days breakfast. The only redeeming aspect of the Inn was that rooms have been somewhat remodeled with new bath fixtures and seemed relatively clean. We were not offered any good will or discount for the problems upon checkout but did hear from management after we had returned home offering for us to come back again and they would give us a free upgrade from a queen room to a king room in a quiet area of the property. Sorry, too little too late!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are extremely sorry to hear that your stay at our Inn was less than pleasant. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we would like another opportunity to provide that to you. My email offer to you still is valid. We hope that you come back and give us the opportunity to make your next stay with us a memorable one. Loking forward to seeing you at our Inn soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

206 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    97
    71
    23
    10
    5
See reviews for
43
109
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

Our room was not available at the check-in time of 3pm. We were given room keys, but when we arrived at the room, we found the door open and the room half-cleaned. We returned to the front desk and were told they were running behind and asked to wait for the room while they finished cleaning. We were finally able to access the room at 4:45 -- a full hour and 45 minutes after check-in time.

The room was small, but overall seemed decent. Bathrooms had been remodeled as stated in previous reviews. Fireplace was nice but didn't work that well. It was great to have free HBO and a fridge and microwave. Internet was free, but also very slow and difficult to use--the network keeps requiring you to sign-in over and over again. I also noticed a small yellow stain on the comforter. Location of the Inn was nice. A few minutes walk from Asilomar State Beach and surrounded by woods.

The first night, the toilet in our room stopped up and we went to the front desk to ask for assistance. Their response was to hand us a plunger. I was shocked at this service.. but the toilet was fixed and we went about our stay.

The next morning, we enjoyed the free breakfast. It was simple but better than expected with oatmeal, toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, yogurt, tea, and cereal. We headed out to Cannery Row at about 10am and decided to return briefly to the room around 4pm before heading to dinner. I was disappointed to find that the room had not been cleaned while we were out. When we were relaxing before dinner, the maids knocked on the door at around 4:30 and asked if they could clean the room. We told them that we would be heading out to dinner shortly and would like the room cleaned once we left. The maids responded by saying this was the last room left that they needed to clean that day, and that they would be leaving work before we left for dinner. Very disappointing to receive this level of service.

We returned to our room after dinner and wanted to try out the jacuzzi-style tub that was highlighted on the Rosedale Inn's website. I started running the water only to find it was ice cold. We tried to let the water run for a while, but it remained freezing. Not even lukewarm--it was literally icy. The office had already closed for the evening and we had no way of reaching anyone and were unable to shower, let alone enjoy the jacuzzi tub that had been one of the reasons we choice the Rosedale Inn.

Upon check-out the next morning, I reported the biggest problems of the stay--the late check-in and the lack of hot water. The woman at the desk was apologetic and explained that the water heater had broken, which is why we were the only ones staying in that part of the inn. I guess they thought our room wouldn't be affected by the broken water heater. I understand that things happen, but for $125-150 per night, I think that hot water is a basic expectation. When also taking into consideration the other shortcomings of the stay, I was really upset with our experience. We were offered a discount of $15 per night for a total of $30 off. In my opinion, this did not make up for the poor experience we had.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
We are extremely sorry to hear that your stay at our Inn was less than pleasant. It was really unfortunate that the water heater went out during your stay at Inn. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we would like another opportunity to provide that to you. We hope that you come back and give us the opportunity to make your next stay with us a memorable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012 via mobile

My boyfriend booked us a room at this hotel to celebrate my 40th birthday. When we checked in, the two ladies at the from counter were very friendly. They asked us questions in friendly conversation. Upon completion of checking in, they told us we have been upgraded in our room. Much to our surprise, the room was awesome! Very big and clean with all the amenities including a HUGE jacuzzi tub! My favorite! The location was great & the hotel was awesome!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, responded to this review, September 21, 2012
Thank you so much for taking some time out and writing a good review about our beautiful Inn. We truly treasure all our guests and their comments & suggestions. We are very glad to hear your had a great time with us and we look forward to seeing you again at our Inn. Have a wonderful day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yuba City, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The room was terrible.No heat,no fireplace working.I can say that under no circumstances ever use the rosedale inn. Our room the heater in the family room did not work,the fireplace did not work.The tv remotes needed new batteries and only one room had flat screem tvs.I complained to the front desk and they said they were sorry,no refund.

Room Tip: Dont use this INN.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
I am sorry for the experience you had, however if a guest calls or comes into the office when an issue arises we immediately seek to resolve the issue.
We cannot in good faith issue refunds after a three or four day stay because a guest presents a list of issues they say they had over the course of their stay.
We cannot take care of a problem that we are not aware of, and after staying three or four days with no word to staff until check out I'm afraid it becomes a moot point. Had we been advised you stay would have been a wonderful one.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Comfortable room (king bed), renovated, clean and spacious with fireplace, sink, microwave and refrigerator. The breakfast is simple but enough to start the day. Walking distance to the beach. Near the charming Carmel and Scenic Hwy 1.

Room Tip: Not sure if all rooms have been refurbished, so it's worth asking when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, Manager at Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Thank you so much for taking the time and effort to place your review on our Inn.
We love our special place here and it's lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to seeing you again soon!

LaVonne Brighton
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

The Rosedale Inn in Pacific Grove is a nice peaceful place to stay, and within walking distance to the beach. We were here for a romantic weekend getaway and it didn't disappoint. It is centrally located to all the attractions the area has to offer, as we enjoyed 17 Mile Drive, Cannery Row, Fisherman's Wharf and Asilomar State Beach. All were just a few minutes away.
The room we were in was large with a king bed and two sitting chairs, a wet bar, fireplace, flat screen tv, jacuzzi tub. The bathroom had been remodeled and was very nice with elevated sinks, dark woods and new tile. Very quiet, even though we had neighbors. All we heard was the ocassional door shutting.
The breakfast area leaves a little to be desired though. Enough variety to find something you like, but not a large selection by any means. Still, when is a continental breakfast not a welcome addition to any stay!
All in all, a nice place and we would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the property which is farther from the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are truly grateful for your kind review and look forward to seeing on your next visit to beautiful Pacific Grove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is a great little place and we were pleasantly surprised. We don't nornally stay at non - branded hotels as you never know what you are going to get - however this place was very nice. Great location, very clean and it appears that they have done recent upgrades to the rooms. We booked directly with the hotel as we found the rates were better than on Hotels.com or Expedia. Make sure you ask for a room with a fireplace...very worth it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rose3_12, General Manager at Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to beautiful Pacific Grove.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rosedale Inn Executive Suite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rosedale Inn Executive Suite

Address: 775 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 16 hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rosedale Inn Executive Suite 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Rosedale Inn Executive Suite reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rosedale Inn Executive Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Pacific Grove
Rosedale Hotel Executive Suite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rosedale Inn Executive Suite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.