We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Property! Fantastic Service! Based on 25 Years of Staying Here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Grove Plaza

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pacific Grove Plaza
Save
You added Pacific Grove Plaza to your Saves list
620 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Albany, Oregon
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Property! Fantastic Service! Based on 25 Years of Staying Here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Pacific Grove Plaza is a wonderful timeshare property with rental options for all. I have owned at PGP for over 25 years and seen wonderful management, and service. I stay every year and can't wait to come back each year. The upgrades by the Board and Manager are right on. The front desk personnel are attentive and very pleasant and sociable. If you don't want to stay here it means I get to stay here more often! Congrats to the staff and Board for creating a great property and continually looking out for the owners!

Room Tip: All rooms are awesome! There is not a bad room on property!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    1
    1
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
3
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Negaunee, Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

We've been coming here for years and enjoyed it for years. Until recently. The quality has seriously degraded with the change in management.

The units were dirty and hadn't been cleaned. The mid week service is no longer available (well, without having to pay for it). The sheets didn't fit correctly. The windows were dirty. The silverware and dishes hadn't been put through the washer. And parts of the carpet hadn't been vacuumed in months.

Parts of the unit hadn't been maintained and were broken (and look like they had been broken for months.) There was no parking available at night (and the handicap space parking was not enforced).

Smoking is supposedly not allowed indoors, but the garage and halls reeked of it. The unit next to us the first week, was outside on the balcony loud and smoking until late hours in night.

Not a pleasant experience anymore. Seriously disappointed in how poor of a visit. It used to be a highlight. Not just a stressful experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Assistant manager reneged on her promise to give us a quiet room in the back (we’d done our homework and read the Room Tips). Instead “the only room left” when we arrived was a VERY noisy room in the front (on the main drag and above the restaurant). We took it and our vacation turned into a sleep deprivation experiment. (We're normally heavy sleepers but not here.)
On the plus side, it was nice to have a kitchen. On the negative side, the bottom rows of silverware had other people's old, dried food on them.
Not the vacation experience we were looking for.

Room Tip: If they promise you a quiet room in the back, be smarter than we were and get it in writing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

We have been coming to the Pacific Grove Plaza for 11 years - we own a timeshare here and use it every year. It has become our family tradition! There are one and two bedroom units - ranging from 1000 to 1800 sq feet. The units are so spacious, we can really make ourselves at home. The kitchens are fully stocked with dishes, utensils and pots/pans. It is a one mile walk to the Aquarium along a beautiful, level path that runs along the coastline. It is located in the middle of Pacific Grove, within feet of restaurants and shops. The cinema is 4 short blocks; grocery store is 2 blocks. Safeway/shopping center is about 2 miles. Major mall is one exit down the freeway. Carmel is 15 mins. We find the location perfect. Parking is underground and plentiful. Parking in Pacific Grove is easy anyway and it is so much quieter than Monterey or Carmel. It's hard to find dates for casual visitors but if you call far enough in advance, you may find availability. For those with timeshares to trade - this is a super trade. It is NOT a Marriott or similar vacation rental. This is like an apartment. We like it because no one bothers us - there is a mid-week cleaning where they refresh towels, linens and clean the units. Since it is a small complex - 15 units - the cleaning doesn't start until after 10 or 11 - so we can sleep in, make breakfast and head out before the cleaning. Hotels and such are great if you need a concierge, bell staff, valet, swimming pool and daily maid service. If you want somewhere to relax, spreadout, not be disturbed and to feel like a local, this is the place. There are helpful staff members available from 9-5 at the desk - they have menus of local restaurants and information on all the atrractions in the area and recommmendations on hikes, etc. We love it!

Room Tip: Rooms at the front (facing Lighthouse avenue) are noisier; Rooms in the back are quieter and have oc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

We time shared exchanged into this site - we were a little disappointed that this was the only available trade in Monterey-Carmel region but took it regardless - small collection of what appear to be former condos - no lobby, no pool no gym...located in center of downtown Pacific Grove so we had to drive to all the places we wanted to visit - there are many neat places in the area (Aquarium, Carmel beach, Pt Lobos, not too far to Steinbeck certer in Salinas or to Big Sur) so we had a nice week. Our 1BR condo was fine - new carpet and appliances and very quiet. Two nice restaurants (Passionfish and Le Normande)close by-very friendly staff.

Room Tip: 2BR units appeared to have distant ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Looking for a place to stay on the Monterey Peninsula? Check here first! Most of the rentals go to the timeshare owners (it's a fantastic deai if you're in the market for a getaway spot), so look early. These units are ENORMOUS, modern, with full kitchens, comfortable beds, and most units have balconies. Many of them have ocean views.

It's not a traditional "hotel", more of a vacation rental, which we prefer traveling as a family.

The location can't be beat, right on the "main drag" in Pacific Grove, minutes from a walking/biking path that goes directly to Monterey Bay Aquarium, Fisherman's Wharf, etc. Just on the other side are the lovely beaches of Asilomar and just down the road is Carmel. Plenty of great restaurants in town, too.

Room Tip: Lighthouse can get noisy for a light sleeper
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2008

We visit Pacific Grove 1-2 times a year and stay a week each time at the Pacific Grove plaza. There is so much to do in the Monterey/Pacific Grove area - having a place that is like a 1 or 2 bedroom apartment is wonderful. Full kitchen, 1-2 bathrooms, living room and dining room - lots of closet space and right in the middle of town - 5 mins from the beach/Lover's point and walking distance (very easy and breathtaking 1 mile) to the Monterey Bay Aquarium. Grocery store 3 blocks away; several very good dressy and casual restaurants within 2-3 block radius. Underground secure parkng. The staff is wonderful and welcoming. Units have recently been updated and all are very well appointed. Sunny. Hotels are not only expensive but inconvenient - if you want to sleep in - you have to be sure to put the 'do not disturb' sign on the door. Here, you can easily get more towels and such but housekeeping only comes in once during our stay - on Tuesday. Rentals I believe are daily but we are 'owners' so our arrangments are different from those who rent one or two nights. I like being able to relax and spread out like at home - and not worry about people coming in to clean. That may sound odd - but after traveling a lot for work - it's a pain having to put computers, laundry, bathroom stuff - away each morning because you know cleaning staff will be coming into the room. Pacific Grove Plaza is conveniently located to everything in the Monterey area and the town is small and quiet - unlike Monterey. They even have their own Farmer's market now on Mondays. If you like hotels, this is not for you. If you want a comfortable place to relax, most of what you need within walking distance and area attractions easily accessible - this is the place. It books 11 months in advance so call as soon as you know you want to come.
(I wrote a previous review in 2005 but could not update it so I am adding a new one)

  • Liked — Location - walking distance to most of what we needed
  • Disliked — Street noise from some units
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Grove Plaza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Grove Plaza

Address: 620 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Pacific Grove Plaza Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Grove Plaza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.