We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 25th Wedding Anniversary to Remember” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fandango Restaurant

Fandango Restaurant
223 17th St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3326
831-372-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fandango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dessert, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California. Featuring Mediterranean & European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops, and Fandango’s famous rack of lamb... all on our wood burning grill. In addition to our hearty pastas, paella, lamb shank, and osso bucco.
Folsom, California, United States
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A 25th Wedding Anniversary to Remember”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Why go to the South of France, when you have it here in Pacific Grove? A fabulous menu with signature dishes, attentive staff, and a delightful atmosphere. It is no wonder why we continue to return to this restaurant every time we are in Pacific Grove.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you for the fantastic review! We are so happy you enjoyed everything on your visit and hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    83
    30
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A Truly Signature Dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

My spouse and I have been traveling together for over thirty-five years. We have been fortunate to have found many places that we liked; we have found a handful that we keep going back to because they are simply excellent ... simply the best!
Fandango is one of them.
It's hard to believe that one can find a restaurant with a signature dish that remains so across so many years, but Fandango has done it with their rack of lamb.
The cuisine is Basque which resembles Italian in so many ways; but not all. It is an exquisite mix of flavors and textures.Their menu has not changed since our first visit which was over fifteen years ago.
The wine list is both broad and deep in terms of its selections.
The appetizers are consistently good with the sand dabs being a perfect example. They are cooked so perfectly -- every time -- that you feel as though you're having a deja vu.
The entrees are all superior. Strangely, even the olives they put out with the bread basket are the best we've ever had. And they are the same every time we dine there.
But the main reason for this revue is because the rack of lamb is just brilliant every single time. It is so consistently excellent that we travel somewhat over 300 miles (not a day trip) to make reservations. We usually stay somewhere in Big Sur or Carmel the night before Fandango and plan our day so that we haven't had too much to eat before hitting the restaurant at dinner time. For us that would be anytime between 6p and 8p.
I have loved lamb chops since I was a child. My Mom would prepare them for me for super-special occasions. But, at Fandango, they present you with a rack that has been carved apart from the rib bones after being perfectly cooked; it looks like a tiny rib roast sitting before you in its characteristically cylindrical shape. It is a truly exceptional meal. Mom would have been very impressed!

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
We are so happy you are a fan of the delicious Rack of Lamb! It is definitely a local favorite and we are so glad you enjoyed it. We hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Be Surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

If you are staying downtown Monterey you will be surprised that excellent food is available within a short walk of the fast food outlets you are surrounded by. Vacationing as a family of 4 + baby on a busy Friday night in August we booked Fandango's for dinner. This is a quaint restaurant on 17th street in Pacific Grove. The restaurant consists of different rooms of varying sizes we were in one of the back rooms which had 4 tables for 4. Our table had plenty of space for the stroller and no fuss was made that it needed to remain up during the meal as my grandson was asleep. Now to the important bit the food. Excellent, excellent, excellent. We each chose a different starter and main course. I had duck a l'orange as a main course it was tender with a lovely sticky orange sauce. My dining companions had sand dabs, steak and a lamb tangine. Every dish was beautifully cooked with delicious sides. Desserts also did not disappoint. I highly recommend this restaurant to all trip advisors readers you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy you found us on your recent visit and we sincerely hope you visit us again next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madera, California
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“I really wanted to like the food more but...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The décor is lovely, beautiful fresh flowers in Silver decanters on crisp white linens, a very friendly staff, roaring fire, rustic French country motif, windows that swing open....but the food was just ok. The bread was good but who cant serve warm bread? A few in our party did like their sand dabs though. Pricey for lunch but much is in this area.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
We are so happy that you enjoyed the beautiful ambiance and so sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food more. Please feel free to contact us directly at the restaurant if you'd like us to discuss it further as we sincerely want you to thoroughly enjoy your visit with us. We sincerely hope you visit us again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Family wedding dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We had our wedding reception for 30+ people at Fandango.

My new husband and I and all the guests all enjoyed the dinner there.

For the starter, we had a selection of tapas and some greens. All was very fresh and delicious.

For the main course, we had a choice of ravioli, duck, steak or sanddabs. My husband and I were really debating what to get because each of these dishes sounded and was really good.

The staff was friendly and the banquet / wedding organizer Jenn was really helpful.

A very nice place, highly recommended.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Thank you for the great review and the wonderful recommendation. We are so happy you decided to join us for your special event and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fandango Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Fandango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fandango Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.