We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sand Dabs!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fandango Restaurant

Fandango Restaurant
223 17th St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3326
831-372-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fandango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $30 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Entertaining clients, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Dessert, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California. Featuring Mediterranean & European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops, and Fandango’s famous rack of lamb... all on our wood burning grill. In addition to our hearty pastas, paella, lamb shank, and osso bucco.
Woodinville
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sand Dabs!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

This is a huge restaurant made to feel intimate by creating several smaller rooms. There were 4 of us (2 couples) dining together & this ended up being a great place to try a local fish specialty, Sand Dabs! Sand Dabs are similar to halibut, but less dense. The dinner portion is large enough to share, with about 6 pieces of fish & veggies. You can get the appetizer portion for less than $10, but you don't get any veggies & maybe 3 pieces of fish. The "boys" both ordered cassoulet, which was quite flavorful with HUGE white beans. The Caesar salad was generous in size & came with optional anchovies. The service was friendly & our waiter was very knowledgable about everything on the menu. Corkage fee is $21/bottle.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
We're so happy that you enjoyed the delicious Sandabs! They're definitely a local favorite. We thank you so much for the kind words and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    218
    83
    30
    25
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston MA
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

Wonderful food. Great friendly staff that knows every dish. Great ambiance. Food is consistently good. Wine list complete and fun. The owners are here and it shows in the care and meticulousness after decades. Worth driving to if you are near Monterey or Carmel. Try to get table near fireplace if cold.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for the lovely review! You're so glad you enjoyed wonderful food along with our friendly staff. We thank you for your kind words and we sincerely hope you visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great seafood dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I both had the scallops, which were large, cooked to perfection, and with a great mild sauce. Good wine list. Dinner was very pricey, especially with a bottle of Italian white wine, but a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed the scallops… Definitely one of our specialties! We hope you visit us again soon and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
274 helpful votes 274 helpful votes
“Best Filet Mignon in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent service, warm, friendly, efficient in this pleasant restaurant.

I hadn't been to Fandango for maybe nine months, and yet they remembered my name and said hello with a happy smile! Wow, with all the people who come through their doors, that was impressive.

Delicious filet mignon with peppercorn sauce, cooked to perfection.
Excellent carrots, good potatoes.
I will be back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy you enjoyed the delicious Filet Mignon and we sincerely look forward to next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Cute but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We rented a house in PG for a week in January taking the kids and grandma with us. My wife and I wanted a dinner alone and checked Trip Advisor and Wine Spectator. We arrived a few minutes early and the host asked us to want a few minutes to prepare the table - no big deal we were early. Another couple came through the door and the host kissed the cheek of the lady and hugged the gentlemen. Okay, this place has regulars I thought. We were seated in a small room with four tables seating four to a table, cozy and quaint. We looked over the menu and given the French and Italian dishes we chose Italian. I looked at the Wine Spectator rated wine list and chose a local wine on recommendation of the waiter. Then the wait started, the waiter disappeared without a soul coming in the room to flag down and some twenty minutes later our meal arrived but still no wine. Was it because we are not regulars? Carve out that issue and a good evening out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are so sorry that your wine arrived after your food on your visit with us. That was definitely an oversight on our behalf and we apologize. We sincerely hope you visit us again when you are in town and we thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fandango Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Fandango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fandango Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.