We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great seafood dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fandango Restaurant

Fandango Restaurant
223 17th St, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-3326
831-372-3456
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Fandango Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: French, Mediterranean, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: Located on the beautiful Monterey Peninsula, in the heart of Pacific Grove, California. Featuring Mediterranean & European Style cuisine. Enjoy our fresh seafood, giant sea scallops, and Fandango’s famous rack of lamb... all on our wood burning grill. In addition to our hearty pastas, paella, lamb shank, and osso bucco.
San Jose, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great seafood dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I both had the scallops, which were large, cooked to perfection, and with a great mild sauce. Good wine list. Dinner was very pricey, especially with a bottle of Italian white wine, but a very enjoyable experience.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
We are so happy you enjoyed the scallops… Definitely one of our specialties! We hope you visit us again soon and thank you for the great review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

81% Recommend
    178
    63
    21
    23
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Laguna Niguel, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
266 helpful votes 266 helpful votes
“Best Filet Mignon in the Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Excellent service, warm, friendly, efficient in this pleasant restaurant.

I hadn't been to Fandango for maybe nine months, and yet they remembered my name and said hello with a happy smile! Wow, with all the people who come through their doors, that was impressive.

Delicious filet mignon with peppercorn sauce, cooked to perfection.
Excellent carrots, good potatoes.
I will be back!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We're so happy you enjoyed the delicious Filet Mignon and we sincerely look forward to next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Cute but...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

We rented a house in PG for a week in January taking the kids and grandma with us. My wife and I wanted a dinner alone and checked Trip Advisor and Wine Spectator. We arrived a few minutes early and the host asked us to want a few minutes to prepare the table - no big deal we were early. Another couple came through the door and the host kissed the cheek of the lady and hugged the gentlemen. Okay, this place has regulars I thought. We were seated in a small room with four tables seating four to a table, cozy and quaint. We looked over the menu and given the French and Italian dishes we chose Italian. I looked at the Wine Spectator rated wine list and chose a local wine on recommendation of the waiter. Then the wait started, the waiter disappeared without a soul coming in the room to flag down and some twenty minutes later our meal arrived but still no wine. Was it because we are not regulars? Carve out that issue and a good evening out.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are so sorry that your wine arrived after your food on your visit with us. That was definitely an oversight on our behalf and we apologize. We sincerely hope you visit us again when you are in town and we thank you for taking the time to review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
farnham
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Cosy and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

We were recommended this restaurant by our hotel and it was great. Its small almost romantic and a great place to enjoy your partner. It has several small rooms with about three tables in each one The food was excellent, the wine was reasonably priced, and the service without fault. We went by taxi, and just as well or we might not have found it. Its just outside the shopping area and at the start of the residential properties.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are glad you decided to visit us on your hotel's recommendation and that you enjoyed everything! We sincerely hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kritou Tera, Cyprus
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“By now a local landmark of casual and elegant dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We have been regular customers of Fandango since it first opened many years ago. It is a peninsula favorite for many reasons. Pierre and Marietta Bain have created a miraculous atmosphere in the many rooms that make up this restaurant. Pierre brings a southern French dynamic that demonstrates the ethnic multiplicity of that region, e.g. French, Italian and North African influences, in the menu. His mom's recipe for Algerian couscous is a prime example.
And Marietta is from an important local Italian family on the peninsula and these flavors are also represented here. As well, Marietta takes a personal interest in keeping the décor so fresh and elegant and simple at the same time, even bringing in magnificent roses from her garden to decorate the mantles and tables.

The menu is varied and seasonal, with a number of favorites available year round: couscous, paella, sweetbreads, lamb rack, etc. The desserts are noble and luscious, such as the crème brulee, profiterole au chocolat, among others. We miss the exquisite semi-freddo Grand Marnier soufflé, that was one of the finest creations. Not sure why it was removed from the menu, but please of please, reinstate it--it alone made the trip there worthwhile!

A sure sign that a restaurant is well run is witnessed by the fact that a number of the service staff have been there now for a couple of decades. The Bains value their employees as members of the Fandango family and this comes through very clearly.

Our favorite room there remains the front dining area with the fireplace, but on nice sunny days the long glass covered conservatory in the back with the wooden booths is very pleasant and informal.

A recent mail last month was just splendid, and my personal favorite lunch there is the poached salmon served on a bed of succulent stewed leeks.

I always recommend Fandango to friends and other visitors I know will be visiting the Peninsula and they are never disappointed.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FandangoRestaurant, Manager at Fandango Restaurant, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We are happy to hear that you are longtime regular customers and we thank you for such a lovely review! We look forward to next visit and hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fandango Restaurant also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Fandango Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fandango Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.