We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some fantastic dishes, helpful and informative service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Passionfish

Passionfish
701 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2501
831-655-3311
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Passionfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Congress Ave
Description: Doing what we know, to save what we love! A sustainable seafood restaurant focused on saving our oceans. Awards: - Zagat rated #2 Best Seafood in Bay Area 2012 - Repeatedly named "Best Restaurant in Monterey County" by Monterey County Weekly readers. In 2012, Passionfish was voted Best Selection of Wines by the Glass, Best Restaurant in Monterey County, Best Restaurant in Pacific Grove, Best Seafood Restaurant, and Best Sustainable Restaurant (a record-breaker for the Weekly's 22nd annual Best of Monterey County poll). - Participant in the Monterey Bay Aquarium's Seafood Watch program. - Selected in April 2012 to be on the Ameriorganic list. - Certified green by the Monterey Bay Green Business Program. As the first officially green restaurant in Monterey County, Passionfish sets an example with a strict policy of sustainable and environmentally friendly purchasing.Passionfish is owned and operated by Chef Ted Walter and his wife, Cindy Walter. With an ever changing menu that features the freshest sustainable seafood, slow cooked meats, farm fresh organic greens and delectable house-made desserts, your experience is guaranteed to be unique EVERY time you dine with us. The chef’s simply inspired dishes reflect his philosophy of serving healthy, flavorful, and ecologically sound meal choices. All are complimented with a Wine Spectator award winning wine list, priced well below what you might expect.Over the past eight years, Passionfish has earned a noteworthy reputation for Chef Walter’s unique California cuisine. His simple, inspired recipes have been published in:- Bon Appetit magazine - Ocean Friendly Cuisine: Sustainable Seafood Recipes from the World's Finest Chef's - The Food of Fisherman's Wharf: Cooking and Eating from San Francisco to Monterey Passionfish has also been featured on KRON TV's "Bay Cafe", Rachel Ray's "Tasty Travels" and the Discovery Channel's new healthy lifestyles program.Join us for dinner and experience the NEW good life!Our Passion - Be sure to check out these organizations and to support our ocean friends:Monterey Bay Aquarium Tag-A-GiantSeafood Watch Eco TrustFish WiseLeatherback Turtle TrustLiving Oceans Marine Fish Conservation Network Marine Stewardship Council NOAAOceana Oceans Alive Plastic Pollution CoalitionSea Turtle Restoration Project Sea Web Seafood Choices Tagging of Pacific Predators The Coastal Alliance for Aquaculture Reform The Institute for Fisheries Resources
London
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Some fantastic dishes, helpful and informative service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Staying a couple of days in Monterey and we wanted a meal and a menu that didn't contain any burger or american stand-bys. Passionfish delivers fine dining in a relaxed but stylish setting with friendly informed service who recommended a lovely local pinot ( somewhere away from the top prices). Good food recommendations for our 9 year old son (duck confit with edamame). Fish broth to start was a vibrant and tasty trimph as was my wife's scallop on artichoke risotto, scallop perfectly, just, cooked, yum. Mains were good but not quite as brilliant as the starters ( mine halibut , hers gnocci, very silky). Panna cotta and peach and strawberry cobbler were very good. Would definitely recommend and go again - if i ever get the chance.
Service was always helpful without being obsequious.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

766 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    467
    188
    53
    38
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
163 helpful votes 163 helpful votes
“Very amusing and reasonable wine list”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's not that long but it's original with wines not only from California but from the rest of the world with a very good choice of wineries as among the chenin blancs the Clos des Papillons from Closel. The mark up is very reasonable.
The food if good but sometimes recipees are to be reviewed: for instance crab cake with a sauce made of tomatoes, onions and chili: both are good but the problem is the crab cake is warm and the sauce both cold and watery... and great scalops perfectly cooked but served with boiled green vegetables tasting vinegar.
And even f you are a return client, they are truly in a hurry to see you leave! we had hardly eaten our last spoon of the desert when the check was put in front of us!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Two buddies and I enjoyed great meal after golf at Pebble. Pricing very fair, and the wines are just a tick above or at retail with ample selection. We got a very Chardonnay for around $50 (good finds for less on the list too). Really enjoyed the ricotta gnocchi to start, and fresh salads. The scallops were excellent (and I rarely order them because they can sometimes be a little chewy for me, not these) and my friends each raved about the shrimp.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern NJ
Top Contributor
196 reviews 196 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 102 cities Reviews in 102 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Limited menu but every dish we tried was great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We went there very late (after 8pm) for dinner and I prefer my meals at 6pm. As such, we ordered a number of appetizers to try and were not disappointed by anything! Everything was extremely fresh and presentation was not neglected! Prices are rather high but not inconsistent with the quality of the dishes. I will return!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Bottles of wine!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Love the concept of this place- sustainable food/fishing and the food was great. The fish was amazingly fresh but the baked gorgonzola/curry salad stole the prize for interesting/tasty dish.

They were able to take a last minute reservation and their bottles of wine are only marked up slightly (instead of the 3X at regular restaurants).

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Passionfish also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Passionfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Passionfish, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.