We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red House Cafe

Red House Cafe
662 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2616
831-643-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary, Californian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Dessert
Top Contributor
455 reviews 455 reviews
286 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 105 cities Reviews in 105 cities
167 helpful votes 167 helpful votes
“Comfort food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014 via mobile

Breakfast, lunch and dinner. A short wait for seating for brunch. The crab Benedict, warm mozzarella & tomato sandwich and the grilled cheese were generous portions. Friendly and fast service. A cozy locale where both locals and tourists hang.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    263
    144
    27
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great cosy and quite place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Perfect littme cosy place for a relaxed romantic dinner. The waitress was very friendly and service-minded. I really don't have anything bad to say! It's a great cheap alternative to the pricy places along the Cannery row

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A fun place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Our hotel manager sent us here for the fancy grilled cheese sandwiches. They were great! Had artichokes and sun-dried tomatoes. Yum!

A great atmosphere and would go back often if we lived there. Thanks!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014 via mobile

We took my elderly father to lunch here while visiting him in Pebble Beach, and his initial comment was "its a girly place" to eat. Not so, as it was packed with guys & gals. Seemed like a locals crowd too. Our lunch was outstanding along with the service. Try the dungeness crab cake salad combo as I would come back just for that. And my dad now has a new favorite place to eat, girls and all...

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Tasty breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

Red House Cafe is so cute. We went on a Tuesday morning and had a short wait. Was looking forward to going here on our vacation to Pacific Grove. It did not disappoint. Great french toast and a wonderful frittata. Service was friendly and efficient. Would definitely return.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House Cafe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Red House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.