We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy little cafe with great food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Red House Cafe

Red House Cafe
662 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2616
831-643-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Delicatessen, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Level Contributor
35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Cozy little cafe with great food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Ate there 2 nights in a row because we just loved the food! Everything - from their salads, soups, to main dishes and desserts! Really excellent quality of food.
Service was ok, could be better in the future :)
Atmosphere is lovely, romantic, intimate.
Would love to dine there again!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Vwanderer-Thank you for dining with us two nights in a row! What a nice compliment! Thank you for liking "everything". We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you for the wonderful review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

577 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    346
    184
    28
    13
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Inyokern,CA
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“A cute little restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Needing a good place to eat we tried the Red House Cafe in Pacific Grove. What a nice little restaurant! Located right on Lighthouse Ave in downtown Old Pacific Grove we found a cute little restaurant housed in an old home. The transformation from home to a restaurant was done very well. The food was good, but a bit over priced. Service was very good. Parking could be a problem during busy weekends. We found this a very good place to have a nice lunch. Hope you do also,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
George C- Thank you for having lunch with us. We are so happy to hear that you liked the food and service and enjoyed the "Little Red House". Thank you for recommending Red House Cafe for lunch. We hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mmmm.....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We went to Red House Cafe for lunch (which they stop serving promptly at 2:30 pm, so plan accordingly). We had the grilled tomato with mozzarella and a roast beef sandwich, both of which were delicious and HUGE!! Service was polite, friendly and appropriately timed. To do it over again, I would split a sandwich with my companion and split a dessert! The desserts looked phenomenal (and we are not dessert eaters), but we were both too full to even consider having one. Highly recommened.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Sdfunnell- Thank you for visiting us from Michigan and thank you for the wonderful recommendation! We are so happy that you liked your sandwiches and found the service to be "polite, friendly, and appropriately timed." Thank you for your kind words. Please come dining with us again and do try our desserts. Please know you can always order a dessert "to go" for later enjoyment. Happy Summer ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“A busy place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This place is busy and is a bit understaffed. The wait staff pays attention to you but if you don't talk fast they will fail to hear the complete sentence as they are off to try to take care of you and 7 or more other tables at the same time. The food is good (for breakfast) so plan to go and try it out.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
troutbum2-Thank you for recommending our restaurant for breakfast. Thank you for liking the food. We are so sorry if your server seemed overly busy and was unable to give you the attention you like and deserve. It sounds like it may have been an unexpectedly busy morning on the day you visited or an early start to the holiday week. We apologize. We will address your feedback with the manager. Happy Summer ahead.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limerick
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant with understated charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Of all of the meals I have had in California, my wife & I remember this as being one of the most pleasant. Nothing was excessive; everything was right, the ambiance, the service and the food. The building in which the restaurant resides is ‘American traditional’ and sympathetically converted to a restaurant. Food portions were generous and reasonably priced. The restaurant is well frequented by locals, and in our opinion was indicative of the quality that we experienced.
I regret not remembering the name of our server that evening (of Italian / Armenian lineage) as I would have liked to have given her a special mention for her courtesy and attention

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christopher D, Owner at Red House Cafe, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Dino246-Thank you for the lovely review. Thank you for liking our ambiance, service,
entrees, and prices. We will share your positive feedback with your server. Thank you.
On your next visit to California, please stop by to see us and come dining again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House Cafe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Red House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.