We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food...Nice Ambiance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Red House Cafe

Red House Cafe
662 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950-2616
831-643-1060
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $1 - $30
Cuisines: American, Californian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Dessert, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
SoCal
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Good Food...Nice Ambiance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We had dinner here our first night in Pacific Grove. The food was delicious and the service attentive. The feel of the restaurant is relaxed and unhurried making for a lovely dining experience. We would return here on our next trip.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    300
    163
    28
    11
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sherwood Park, Canada
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

After driving down from San Fran, we checked into our room at Seven Gables and the staff their directed us to the Red House Cafe for lunch. This was one of the best meals we have ever had. We sat out on the porch in the sunshine and I had the legendary Grilled Cheese Sandwich. Make no mistake, this is to die for. Tje food was so good, we ate there again one night for dinne, but.....the grilled cheese cannot be beat. I will make a point of eating here again. Excellent food, excellent service and a very nice local wine selection.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“FANTASTIC”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We both had the calamari salad and it was AMAZING! Seriously, amazing. It's making my mouth water remembering it. We will be back next time we are in the area; it was THAT good!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“excellent homemade meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

the meals were excellent as was the service. perfect location the little town of pacific grove away from the crowds in monterey

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury Park, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A Gem in an unexpected Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Pacific Grove is a small, underdeveloped area between Monterey and Carmel, CA near the famous 17 Mile Drive and world renown golf courses Pebble Beach and Spanish Bay for just two. Begun as a Methodist town and until 1971 it did not allow alcohol, naturally it soon fell behind its better known neighbors.
My wife and I took the short drive from Carmel since a friend grew up in CG (as locals call it) and we want to visit this beach community. Well two major surprises, the wonderful small Victorian homes lining the streets down to the ocean and The Red House Cafe.
We selected it by chance among a number of cafes and inns along Lighthouse Avenue and we were more than pleasantly surprised, we were excited.
I ordered the Warmed Tomato Mozzarella on crunchy Italian bread with their special balsamic vinaigrette. I was concerned that the bread would be the thick cut usually supplied to hide the mysteries of the sandwich but it was this cut, crisp and added the tactile crunch to local sauted tomatoes in balsamic (not salty, just right) and wonderfully soft and undertoned cheese. What a great combination.
My wife had the usually pedestrian 'field green' salad, but when i is fresh, crisp and made with caramelized onions, kalamata olives, cherry tomatoes AND Champagne vinaigrette it leaves the ordinary behind.
Certainly worth a side visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Red House Cafe also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Red House Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red House Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.