We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still real value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fishwife

Fishwife
1996 1/2 Sunset Drive, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
831-375-7107
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 75 Restaurants in Pacific Grove
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
california
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
“Still real value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

We always go to the Fishwife when we are in the Monterey area. The meals are always great, including the Pasta Primavera and the fish. Be sure to make a reservation.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    132
    50
    21
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Napa, California
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Ordinary at best.....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

Fishwife had been recommended to us. We checked out reviews and decided to give it a try. We found it to be completely overrated. The food is ordinary and definitely not fine dining as advertised.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
1 review
“Host left me hanging...”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Tried to inquire about how busy the restaurant was and potentially make a reservation, but the host set the phone down and then I had the pleasure of listening to him do everything but get back to me until I gave up after 12 minutes. It was obvious that it wasn't that busy, but apparently they didn't want our business. Frustrating and definitely not "competent service."

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vacaville, california
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fishwife”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2013

Excellent service. Food was good. Moderate prices for a seafood restaurant. We were able to get a table for 4 without a reservation, though reservations are suggested. Parking may be a little challenge, although we were able to find some.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“pricey but delicious”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I was traveling alone on business, and appreciated that they gave me a table where I felt comfortable. Food was very good, and the service excellent. Everyone seemed to be enjoying their visit, some seemed like regulars.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fishwife also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Fishwife? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fishwife, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.