We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A 'find'” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Gardens Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Gardens Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
NYC
1 review
“A 'find'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2010

Our group of 7 thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay at Pacific Gardens Inn. Everyone from the Inn staff to the owner was pleasant, courteous, attentive and very knowledgeable about the area. The rooms were spacious and clean, and the proximity to the striking public beach was exactly what we were looking for. The outdoor spa, in-room fireplace, continental breakfast and cocktail hours were icing on the cake. Truthfully, our only regret was leaving!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    76
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
76
73
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Fresno
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2009

It was my first time in Monterey, and a friend of mine made the reservations for me. I couldn't have of made a better choice. The location was peaceful and management were helpfull and friendly...Family Friendly.... I would recommend it to anyone and make my reservations there again, next time with my boys.

Jennifer

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2009

Location is great, fireplace was very nice, the food was convenient, room was spacious, in-room toiletries good, tons of HOT water, plenty of food and beverages, afternoon wine and cheese is a nice gesture. The area is quiet.

But: My room was a dark, cave-like first-floor room that never saw the sun. The carpet smelled like it hadn't been cleaned in months; the curtains were covered in grime; the towels were threadbare. I heard every word from my next-door neighbors, heard (and felt) every footstep upstairs, got woken up every time someone turned on the shower (amazingly loud). The breakfast was the usual Costco-type slightly stale (or defrosted) scones, bagels, muffins, plus cereal, fruit, hard boiled eggs, juice - a good selection, but nothing exciting. Computer/printer useful for boarding pass.

I did ask to change rooms, but they were full; the surrounding hotels were also full; I would have moved if I could. It is terribly disappointing to be staying 4 days in a musty cave, when you are in such a beautiful part of the country and can hear the crashing surf every time you step outside.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2009

The inn is in a great location and Robert, the owner provides his guests with lots of little amenities. The value cannot be beat for the services that you are provided. The continental breakfast is very nice, great coffee, juice, fresh fruit, cereals, pastries, bagels, scones and boiled eggs. There are wood burning fireplaces in the rooms and coffee makers and popcorn poppers. At night there is a lovely wine and cheese/sausage gathering. We enjoyed these because we were able to meet fellow travelers and share our adventures. The inn is close to good restaurants and 17 Mile Drive, the Monterey Aquarium, and right across the street from the beach. During our stay there was a terrible storm which took down trees in the area and we were without power for over 24 hours. Robert made sure everyone had battery lanterns and plenty of wood for their fireplaces. The lobby had light from a small generator so many of us gathered there in the evening to share wine and stories around the lobby fireplace. Robert's attention to his guests was quite evident and this made a tough situation much more tolerable.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
n.c.
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2009

This property is in a beautiful location, accross street from state park with access to the beach. Staff went out of way to accomodate our every wish and query. The complimentary breakfast is more than adequate. The only negative comment would be on bathroom equipment, which badly needs updating-- shower inoperative and sink faucets quirky.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2009

We spent two nights at the inn the end of September. The grounds and hot tub are beautiful, in a convenient location. The accommodations do need remodeling, and the fireplace was not operational. In addition, the bed mattress was quite poor. However, the manager was most helpful, which offset some of the negative aspects.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2009

Plusses: terrific location, adequate space, working fireplace, aim-to-please management, generous breakfast and wine & cheese.

Minuses: polyester bedding, balky wifi.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.