We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable home away from home....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Gardens Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Pacific Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Gardens Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Rochester, Michigan
1 review
“Comfortable home away from home....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

It was a very nice location, near to everything. Quaint surroundings, very close to beach, great breakfast in the morning; wine and cheese in the evening. A bit outdated interior and some upgrading to the interior is needed, but we had a 2 bedroom apartment and were quite pleased. It was such a pleasant place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 209 is a bit musty, but it has a fireplace and a balcony. Close to the gas BBQ grill and the ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    20
    6
    5
See reviews for
72
70
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Though the inn looks a little old from the outside, it is a very well kept and a cozy place to stay. The inn is 4 minutes away from the beach and there are good restaurants around. The hosts were friendly and ready to help. The fittings are a little old but it all worked fine. The rates were quite reasonable. In all, we enjoyed our short stay. If you are looking for a quite, laid back, relaxing weekend, then this is the place to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

A family owned and operated hotel where we felt welcomed and spoilt. From the moment we arrived we were greeted by the owner who was so helpful, giving us tips and directions for our stay in the area and making our time in Monterey feel like home away from home. Lots of great facilities here, laundry, breakfast, internet (in rooms and a computer for use in the lobby). The rooms are spacious with fires (very cosy!). Close to shops and 17 mile drive bike bath, as well as beach access across road. Room was quiet and clean. We took advantage of the complimentary wine and cheese and continental breakfast. I would definitely stay here again....

Room Tip: We liked our room, and I noticed you can get adjoining ones too, which we will consider if we go wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Owatonna, Minnesota
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Only a few minutes from Monterey. Not your expensive fancy hotel. In a wooded area with a homey feel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They give suggestions on places to eat, and offer to make reservations. We had a large King room with TV w/about 100 channels, w/DVD player, fireplace and popcorn with a popper provide. They also have Wine & Cheese every night where we met some people and had a great conversation, on places to see in the area. We hope to be in the area again and will stay here.

Room Tip: 2nd floor quieter. No elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

My wife and I have stayed many many times over the years at Pacific Gardens. Including a 10 day stay last week. Our daughter and family live in Pacific Grove and we always stay at this nice inn. Has an old-time feel but up to date on all factors. Robert, who I think is the manager, good not be more accommodating and that is true of the rest of the staff as well. Can walk to the ocean/beach is less than 5 minutes. Fireplace in the rooms makes it very cozy in the evenings. Continental breakfast is excellent. Bagels, good muffins, great tea selection, etc etc. Not fancy (thank goodness) but darn near perfect.

Room Tip: The suites are great and not that much more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old bridge, NJ
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

I stayed in this Inn to attend a conference t Asilomar Conference center. The rooms are comfortable, the hotel staff very courteous. the BF is OK and the location is nice opposite to the Asilomar Conference center on a quiet road only 5 minutes walk to the ocean beach area. The staff was very helpful and happy to offer any service needed. The front office closes at 9.00 p.m but if you need them, you can ring and they are happy to attend to you. I took a cab from Monterey Airport which took only 20 minutes. The hotel arranges for early morning taxi service if you need to take an early a.m flight.

Room Tip: Try rooms to the back of the property to avoid late night cars travelling on Asilomar Road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our three-day getaway in the Central Coast of California was anchored at the Pacific Gardens B&B in Pacific Grove. Room 117, although not a fancy accommodation, was perfect for us as we had our bikes with us and enjoyed the extra room. A fridge, popcorn and popcorn maker, fireplace, and Direct TV reception were provided. The staff was extremely accommodating, offering us the opportunity to plug in our electric car during our stay. Breakfast in the common room off the Registration area was very good-- pastries (which were different each morning we were there), bagels, cereals and hard-boiled eggs were served. Coffee was by Seattle's Best and very good. We walked to Asilomar State Beach in about 5-10 minutes and to the Fishwife Restaurant down the end of Asilomar Way in about 15. Other than cycling, we really enjoyed hiking at the Point Lobos State Natural Reserve, south of Carmel. On Monday afternoon the PG Farmer's Market was an opportunity to sample the various food trucks and peruse all the organic offerings displayed in tents up and down the street. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 117 did not have a room above it, thus offering a more quiet environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.