We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for our mini vacation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Gardens Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Gardens Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Central Valley, CA
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for our mini vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our three-day getaway in the Central Coast of California was anchored at the Pacific Gardens B&B in Pacific Grove. Room 117, although not a fancy accommodation, was perfect for us as we had our bikes with us and enjoyed the extra room. A fridge, popcorn and popcorn maker, fireplace, and Direct TV reception were provided. The staff was extremely accommodating, offering us the opportunity to plug in our electric car during our stay. Breakfast in the common room off the Registration area was very good-- pastries (which were different each morning we were there), bagels, cereals and hard-boiled eggs were served. Coffee was by Seattle's Best and very good. We walked to Asilomar State Beach in about 5-10 minutes and to the Fishwife Restaurant down the end of Asilomar Way in about 15. Other than cycling, we really enjoyed hiking at the Point Lobos State Natural Reserve, south of Carmel. On Monday afternoon the PG Farmer's Market was an opportunity to sample the various food trucks and peruse all the organic offerings displayed in tents up and down the street. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 117 did not have a room above it, thus offering a more quiet environment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    78
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
78
75
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

Very cozy lodge-like setting in beautiful, quiet, forest surroundings. Close to most attractions with easy accessibility. Owner and staff very friendly and helpful. Some rooms have kitchenettes and fireplaces. We didn't have kitchenette but we didn't need it for this visit. I like having access to all those t.v. channels when it's time to relax. Will return for third visit later in year.

Room Tip: If you have kids and need kitchenette, just request it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

We had a great stay in the 2 BR suite with our two boys, aged 3 and 1. Plenty of room to spread out with separate bedrooms, a nice living room, kitchen, and dining area. While it's not luxury, it's perfectly nice, clean and comfortable. The few hazards for our kids, like the fireplace poker, were easily put out of reach. If you are hard-core about childproofing, you might worry about a few exposed outlets, and the accordian closet doors in the bedrooms might pinch little fingers, but we had no problems. The location can't be beat, across the street from lovely Asilomar, with meadows, a beach, tidepoools, and a nice cafe next to a huge deck. Our room was also nice and quiet, and full of light. At $200/night, it seemed a little pricey until we considered the substantial money we saved by bringing groceries from home and cooking in the unit - huge savings.

We appreciated the good service from the front desk. A bedside light was not working, and maintenance people arrived within 2 minutes of my call to fix it.

Breakfast was very basic - cold cereal and bagels, hard boiled eggs, bananas, juice, coffee tea. No hot entrees, but good enough for our little guys.

Only less-than-great features. One was the shower-head. I'm 5'8", and the water came out at the level of my chin, and felt like sandpaper. A new showerhead would fix that problem. The other feature that could be better was the bed - it was rather hard, not as soft and comfy as at a higher-end hotel.

This was SOOO much more comfortable and relaxing than a basic hotel room. We would definitely stay here again with our small kids.

Room Tip: Try to get a second floor room. First floor rooms can be a little dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HospatalityArtist, Owner at Pacific Gardens Inn, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Thank you for the Great Review your children were wonderful! I also changed out the shower head. Thanks again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My wife and I have been regularly been staying at this hotel for a few years. It has an excellant location adjacent to Asilomar Conference center in Pacific Grove. While it does not have any particular views from the property, the are just a brief walk away. There is also a city operated shuttle bus that stops outside that can take you downtown, the acquarium, or other locations on the peninsula.
The "Inn" itself consists of half a dozen free standing buildings of one and two story, with an office out front and a hot tub area in the center. The grounds are well kept, although I noticed that some of the wooden facings and balconies needed attention. All the rooms that we have used were in good shape, although maybe a little aged. The carpets were clean, beds comfortable, and bathrooms sparkling. Many rooms have refrigerators. All of them seem to have coffee makers and airpop popcorn makers. What we really enjoy are the wood burning fireplaces, The Inn provides nice split oak logs that you can burn. The fireplaces have gas log lighters to keep the wood going and wire and glass surrounds to keep the fire inside. Extra firewood is readily available. Be sure to crack the window or the room can get smokey. Nothing more romantic than a crackling fire!
The Inn recently updated to satellite TV and improved the wireless internet. No complaints about that, but the TVs are the crummy tube type. Hopefully that will improve soon?
Your room also includes a continental breakfast served in the lobby. We saw bagesls, toast, pastries, hardboiled eggs, cold cereal and microwave hot cereal. Coffee and OJ were good. In the evening they serve wine with cheese and crackers.
Our interactions with the staff have always been good.
This Inn offers especially good rates during the offseason.

Room Tip: Definately get a room with a fireplace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

My nephew and I spent a night here in early August. We left Yosemite in the morning and had breakfast in Oakhurst. The temperature in Oakhurst was 100 degrees. 20 minutes outside of Pacific Grove the temperature had dropped to 60. The check-in and check-out process was easy and swift. The staff members were courteous and helpful. They gave me advice about what to do during our short stay. We were both extremely disappointed with the Monterey Aquarium.
We stayed in room 104 at the Inn. There was some road noise and voices carried from a nearby establishment at night. The beds were comfortable and the breakfast had the usual fare. Would stay again in Pacific Grove over Monterey.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Altos, CA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My sister's husband was going to attend a legal conference in Monterey, so they invited us to share a house. I suggested booking a 2 bedroom suite at the Pacific Gardens in Pacific Grove. It is close to Monterey and close to places we could walk to; Asilomar Beach, Point Puntas Lighthouse, Pacific Grove museum, the Monarch Butterfly preserve. (we are walkers). The suite had a full kitchen (which we didn't use because we ate out except for the continental breakfasts at the Inn.) The best part was the comfortably sized living room with gas starter fireplace. We were able to watch baseball playoff games on the TV and visit with each other. If you have two separate hotel rooms, you aren't together that much. One bedroom has a double sized bed, and the other has 2 twin beds. It looked like the carpets, drapes, upholstery were new. The bathroom looked upgraded too. You get your own carport parking space.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

An older motel / B&B in a marvelous location. A throwback to the 50's and 60's but very clean. Our suite had a large sitting room, wood burning fireplace, full kitchen, huge walkin closet and a garage! Across the road from the beach. Extremely pleasant and helpful staff, both Kelly on check in and Robert the next am. Kelly gave us a great dinner recommendation, the Fishwife down the street. Hope to have an excuse to go back sometime, both to the Inn and the restaurant.

Room Tip: We had 109 .. no view but very quiet and private and with a garage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.