We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Getaway place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Gardens Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Gardens Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Gardens Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Getaway place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2008

We loved our stay at Pacific Gardens. Having a fireplace in the room was really cozy and romantic. The owner, Robert, made excellent recommendations for restaurants and things to do and was very friendly. We loved the evening "wine and cheese" time in the lobby area. We hope to go back!

  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    78
    21
    6
    5
See reviews for
78
76
14
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis MD
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

You can't beat this hotel for price, location, and friendly staff. We were visiting for a long weekend and found a motel from this web site. However when we got there, the room was small and cramped. It was okay but we quickly started looking for a roomier room. The Pacific Gardens' room was a great size and had a nice working fireplace with real wood! Popcorn and a good assortment of interesting magazines made the room feel like home. The staff couldn't have been friendlier, and the location across the road from Asilomar, the state park, and the ocean was terrific. We hope we can visit again soon.

Stayed November 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2007

Having never been to the area we were trying to book at other well known establishments with no success. In the process, Pacific Garden was mentioned as an alternative. From our warm reception upon arrival we knew we had a found the right place for us, and were not disappointed.

Here are some of the reasons we loved our stay. Being run by family and friends, it was more personable than a hotel would be. Staff was knowledgeable of the area, would listen to our requests, and then guided us to great restaurants and places of interest. Internet is available in the lobby or via wireless in your room. From breakfast in the morning to the wine and cheese in the evenings, food was good and interactions with other guests always pleasant. Hot tubs were warm and easily accessible and the cozy fireplace in your room made for great evenings. Then there is Robert, a wonderful host with a great smile who will make you want to come back again soon.

A great place to enjoy your visit to the Monterey Peninsula.

  • Liked — Robert
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morro Bay, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2007

From the cheery wine and appetizers in the evening to the bountiful breakfasts in the morning - surrounded by the natural beauty of the setting, and a friendly, helpful staff - one could not feel more at home.

Our room was large, clean, well-appointed and our picture window offered a view of Mama and Baby deer as we enjoyed our morning coffee. For that second cup, we sat outside admiring the flower
gardens as we planned our day.

Finding this relaxed comfort - convenient to everywhere we wished to visit on the Peninsula - made it our perfect haven.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, CA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2007

I've been to PG 40+ times. This was my third visit to the Pacific Gardens Inn, but my first since the new owner, Robert took over. Our mother lives in PG all of her kid's families (17 in the whole group), visited her from out of town to celebrate her 80th birthday.

I can't say enough about how great a job the new owner, Robert did taking care of us! He went above and beyond all of our expectations! The rest of the staff are also very friendly and helpful.

The meeting room was used like it was our personal living room. There were 15+ people in and out of there day & night for four days or so, and we all had a great experience.

I have never had any complaints of any kind at the PGI, unlike many of the other places in PG. I will continue to stay there because I'm convinced that it is the best location for the money spent!

  • Liked — Owner & Staff, Complimentary wine, beer, cheese, breakfast, Fireplaces
  • Disliked — I can't think of anything I didn't like.
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2007

Great place. Nice and quite, hidden in the pines. Quick walk to the beach. The only place I stay when visiting Monterey.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2007

First, the good parts. The location is excellent, this is directly across from the main entrance to Assilomar state park, which has a beautiful beach area, trails along the coast, tidal pools, etc. The owner is very friendly, the fireplaces are nice and romantic and the hot tubs are very nice and toasty.

The only two drawbacks are the lack of soundproofing between units, and the condition of the rooms themselves. We had a ground floor unit, the second level may be better about noise. I'm not sure how anyone can build a toilet that loud. The room we had did look a bit shabby, worn carpet, old linoleum, etc. The bed was reasonably comfy though.

The price is reasonable for the location, but I'd probably look around at other places nearby on my next trip.

  • Liked — Front desk staff were very helpful
  • Disliked — Worn out room
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Gardens Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Gardens Inn

Address: 701 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
#4 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Pacific Gardens Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Pacific Gardens Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Gardens Hotel Pacific Grove
Pacific Gardens Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Gardens Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.