We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Borg's Ocean Front Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Pacific Grove
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Borg's Ocean Front Motel
Save
You added Borg's Ocean Front Motel to your Saves list
635 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Lafayette, California, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This is not a four star hotel by any means, but it is an extremely good value. The room we had was small but clean, and located just across the road from the ocean. I loved hearing the waves crash at night! I wish the road weren't there, but I guess you can't have everything. The staff was very helpful and friendly. I like a rather flat pillow, and they found one for me no problem. Borg's is within walking distance of several good restaurants and we enjoyed a lovely weekend exploring the town and area. We'll visit again and stay here. One funny note - the shower was so small that if you dropped the soap you might not be able to pick it up without opening the door!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
231 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Been coming to borgs for over thirty years. Although we are used to staying in upscale hotels we Tay at borgs because of the location. There are only two hotels on the point of he peninsula. Although borgs has absolutely no comforts of fancier hotels, the walls re paper thin, rooms and bathroom small. We love it. You get up in the morning open the old curtains and behold...the rough rugged coast, otters and seals out the window gulls too. Weekday rates under 100 weekend rates 120 per night. Senior that is. Will be coming here for the next thirty years.

Room Tip: Expect clean. No fills. Location location location
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pookeygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Don't let the out dated decor, and basic amenities scare you away! Our Room didn't even have a hair dryer or Iron, but the bedding was comfortable. Need to update their TV's. At night no matter where your room is At, you can be guaranteed to hear the crashing surf. The road that separates the hotel from the ocean can get a bit busy and noisy, but at nightfall it quiets down. No pool or hot Tub, But Having Lover's Point Park across the road is a Plus! Not much for Breakfast, all hotel Offers is Coffee in the Lobby, But A few blocks up the Street in Pacific Grove on Lighthouse Ave., is an assortment of eating establishments. Desk Staff Very Friendly, Helpful. It all boils down to Location, Location! WE Would Stay Here Again!!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs can be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tcruzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

While on a recent adventure exploring the Oregon/California coast, we stumbled upon this little place! We stayed two nights instead of the planned upon one, and loved it! Small but cozy room, clean, very friendly staff, close to everything, especially the ocean. We definitely would return.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, CA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My main reason for choosing Borg's is that they offer family rooms - a regular hotel room with a smaller room inside, with its own door. On this trip, I was traveling with a teenager, so we appreciated having a little separation while still not paying double for two rooms. The family rooms have a side ocean view, but we found it quite pleasant (I stayed here years earlier when the teenager was much younger and enjoyed it then too).

The other advantages - walking distance to Pacific Grove, right on the ocean, the lovely ocean side walking path.

We walked out onto the rocks at Lover's Point across the street from Borg's around sunset and saw several otters in the kelp, fishing and frolicking.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank OaklandAnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

I've been at the Borg's Ocean Front Motel at least 4 times . . have loved it every time. If you go, get a room facing the ocean so that you can hear the waves crashing all night, and in the morning feed the seagulls from your window (if you like doing that). Yes, the rooms are a bit old looking, but I've never been in a place so close to the ocean. The views are fantastic, and so are the sounds. After all, if you go to the ocean, that's what you want to see, right? Walk across the road with your cup of coffee and watch the tide come in. Bring a bottle of wine, some sour dough bread and swiss cheese for snacks and sit by the beach for lunch. Take lots of pictures. Watch for cool birds and starfish clinging to the rocks. On weekends, you can watch couples getting married on Lover's Point. Or stand near the railing by the ocean at night and listen to the waves crashing - it's almost eerie to be that close to the ocean and not be able to see it. I've taken some of the best pictures of my life staying at the motel. The desk clerks are awesome, friendly and helpful. My only complaint would be that when I stayed in March, for some reason their wireless wasn't working. We had 2 laptops with us and neither worked, no signal anywhere on the grounds. But, when I'm by the ocean, I would rather be outside looking at it anyway. No, it's not fancy, but I can get fancy anywhere else. If you want to stay at the ocean, this is the best there is!

Room Tip: If you are looking at the motel from the front, the corner upper left is the best for a family and h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

After reading all the positive reviews we stayed at Borg's for one night. For $125.00 plus tax we stayed in an "Ocean front" room, with a queen bed. The view was great, the sea is across the road. That is the ONLY positive thing I can say about Borg's & that is what you pay for.

The windows open onto an outside landing which is the main access for all the rooms on the second floor. The road is right outside, so the traffic is easily audible as is the noise made by people walking and talking on the landing.

The walls are paper thin so we could hear everything going on in the room next to us. Someone was smoking in the middle of the night on the landing so we had the smoke blowing into our room.

The room was old, dark, tired, dated, small and musty. There was coffee in the office, no breakfast. No other facilities in the room like a fridge, coffee maker etc.

We couldn't wait to leave the next morning.

We have stayed up and down the Oregon and California coast in much nicer places for the same or less money. The next three nights we spent in Pacific Grove at a different motel, ( not on the sea ) but with a sea glimpse, two blocks from the ocean. We had a huge room with a king size bed, two sinks, writing desk, coffee maker, fridge, microwave and a private a balcony. It was modern, clean, quiet and included a good Continental breakfast all for $89.00 plus tax.

I would not recommend Borg's to my friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 5Seb56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Pacific Grove hotels

mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.2 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.3 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,698 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Monterey Tides
Monterey Tides
#38 of 55 in Monterey
3.5 of 5 stars 1,723 reviews
1.6 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#5 of 55 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,372 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Borg's Ocean Front Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Borg's Ocean Front Motel

Address: 635 Ocean View Boulevard, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Lover's Point overlooking spectacular Monterey Bay; across from beach and park. Many unobstructed ocean view rooms. Monterey Bay Aquarium, golf, restaurants and historic downtown Pacific Grove are all very close by. Free WIFI in all rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Borg`s Ocean Front Hotel Pacific Grove
Borgs Ocean Front Hotel
Borgs Ocean Front Motel
The Borgs Motel Pacific Grove

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing