We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Grove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Pacific Grove Inn to your Saves list
Pacific Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   581 Pine Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
San Jose, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Great Place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We stayed here about a month ago and had an excellent experience. Loved the afternoon snacks and wine, the evening cookies, and the wonderful breakfast the following morning. Didn't have a chance to try out their videos ( they have a bizillion) on the VCR , so will have to go back to try that next time. Enjoyed visiting Pacific Grove!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the ocean...we had one with a peekaboo view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    74
    22
    14
    14
See reviews for
35
123
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Wonderful relaxing place to stay. A bit of a walk to the coast, but well worth it. Rooms are clean and spacious and wonderfully appointed. Really recommend it for a great get-away place. We love to go there, place of choice for the area.

Room Tip: They are all good, but get one facing the ocean!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed there for 1 night and were treated like royalty. Had the upstairs suite with 2 fireplaces. Amazing bottle of wine. Great beds. Lots of history. Fab breakfast. We ate at Archie's. had drinks in town. Went thrift store shopping. Had a blast. Nice place to relax. Weather was perfect v

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

This is a beautiful B&B inside with a lot of nice touches. The staff was excellent and friendly. In the norning the breakfast has unique main plates. In the evening enjoy wine and cheese with all the guests. Then when I came home for bed, there was a plate of wonderful homemade cookies waiting for my bedtime snack. It is conveniently located for exploring the whole area. One writer mentioned the police station but remember this is quiet Pacific Grove... I hardly knew they were there. Do not miss the Monterrey Aquarium. I also enjoyed going out on a whale boat even off season.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, CA
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Beautiful B&B in a turn-of-the-century Victorian. We stayed in the main home on the top floor with some views of the Monterey Bay. The room was actually three little rooms (main bedroom, sitting room and single bedroom with a plaque over the door stating "Prayer Room"). The staff were very warm and friendly providing directions, restaurant suggestions, etc. In the morning there is a nice breakfast with a few hot selections like Quiche or French Toast. If you buy your ticket to the Monterey Bay Aquarium from the B&B, you pay the same price, but get two days for the price of one, and you avoid the potentially long line at the Aquarium. There is a parking lot behind the Inn. The spaces are small, so park on the street if you have a large vehicle. The Inn is about a 1/4-1/2 mile from Lover's Point at the Bay. Driving will allow you to continue on around the scenic bay and stop at the Monarch Butterfly Grove on the way back. Hint: at dusk the butterflies huddle together in clumps on the trees. Look closely at what first appears to be dead leaves and you'll see them. Overall, the Inn is beautiful and worth a visit. The Not So Good in the title refers to the bed which was listed as Queen Size but was actually full sized. The mattress was old and not very comfortable. The fireplace was gas and controlled by a thermostat but there was now way to set it to run for more that a few minutes, so we ended up just turning it off. Directly across the street is the local Police Station and Fire Department. Good if you need it, but not good if there were sirens which happened only once around 10PM. All in All, a nice Inn with nice people and some quirks that one probably should expect in an older B&B.

Room Tip: I understand that rooms on the lower floors don't have an ocean view but do have king-sized beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasanton, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We recently stayed at the Pacific Grove Inn. We were welcomed immediately upon arrival and given a tour of the property.We stayed in the Buck House and our room had a partial view of the Pacific Ocean.The room was very charming-it had a gas fireplace. I felt like I took a step back in time.The parlor was very charming and had period furniture. It created a great atmosphere when staying in a historical home. We especially enjoyed the amenities-afternoon snacks, cookies in the evening, movies to borrow for the VCR,microwave popcorn and a cooked to order breakfast omelet.It was a very friendly place to stay and it was just a few blocks to the ocean.

Room Tip: There were only two of us so a king room was very adequate for our needs. The room was clean and com...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here. A couple of things could have been better (we didn't love the shower, the bed was a little old school), but otherwise, the staff was great (as was breakfast), room was pretty nice, loved the fireplace, and the location was perfect.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pacific Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Grove Inn

Address: 581 Pine Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Grove Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Pacific Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.