We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Inn, good service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pacific Grove Inn

Save Saved
You added Pacific Grove Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Pacific Grove Inn
2.5 of 5 Inn   |   581 Pine Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Leidschendam, The Netherlands
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Excellent Inn, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We have been here for 2 nights. Nice rooms, basic, but clean. Big pro of this Inn are the wine and cheese parties, organised by the staff. We liked it, because it offered us the possibility to come in contact with the other guests. Very nice location, close to the beach and several trails.
Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    89
    64
    19
    13
    13
See reviews for
27
109
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

I agree with the previous review on this hotel - our room also had an odour. I feel the carpets and furnishings all very worn and in need of replacement. Wine and appetizers very disappointing - we had to ask for more wine as there was not enough for a full glasss each and the appetizers were carrots and celery. We also found the receptionist not really intersted in us as guests - did not bother to explain amenities. The room we had was a king size and was in the annex building with some traffic noise. Breakfast good - home cooked egg dishes the only warm option - really fresh and delicious. I was a little disappointed and felt there were better places to stay. The highlight of our stay was dining a local mexican restaurant, down the steet, towards the beach called Peppers - fantastic food and drink and fantastic value. The walk in to Monteray along the sea front is beautiful caught our first view of harbour seals. We hired bikes from Blazing Saddles at the cannery and cycled the 17 mile drive to Carmel - be warned more than 17 miles with some hills. A spectacular ride not to be missed with stunning scenery and properties. Only regret was not taking our towels to spend some time on Carmel beach which is stunning. We bought a delicious sandwich from the Italian Deli in Carmel and ate it in the square next door - wonderful.

Room Tip: I would opt for a king size room in the annex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Temecula, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2011

We enjoyed our stay here ..I agree with some of the other members that the furnishings could use an update but it was cute and clean and it was nice to have tea always available in the main lobby area.The wine and cheese was tasty and we met some nice couples that we were able to visit with and exchanged travel tips of the area...We also enjoyed walks in this safe quaint neighborhood. The breakfast was very good...loved the home made granola and the egg dish was moist flavorful not greasy. I am wheat sensitive, but still found plenty to eat. We enjoyed the aquarium and took advantage of the 2 days for price of one offered by this B and B. That way we could enjoy 1/2 day at aquarium and not get burned out from the crowds..We took some beach walks then we went back the next day to see what we missed or wanted to see again. I would bring ear plugs if you like to sleep late as there is some road noise but it quiets down after peak hours. All in all it was a pleasant stay and a refreshing trip.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

We enjoyed the large room and the home style breakfast where you get to meet some of your inn mates. Food was pretty good. Although it was about a half hour walk, it was scenic getting to Cannery Row and the Aquarium. Pacific Grove is a nice little town smack between the 17-mile drive and Monterey and the ocean on the other side. Would go back again. Staff was friendly but I expected a little more from a place like this. Wife said room had an odor (I didn't notice it though) but then again it's a really old house.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2011

I suppose you can call this place "quaint". We had booked a "queen suite" with extra bed, this turned out to be a smallish room with an extra air bed in it. Room furnishings are dreary and worn, technical facilities are on their last legs. Movies are available for loan -- on VHS! Wifi coverage is good, but during our stay there were intermittent problems with the internet link. Reception/staff not very attentive, seemed preoccupied. Wine provided in the afternoon was OK; we did not have breakfast. Parking spaces are very narrow. For the money, there are better places in the Monterey area -- and we found one for our second night on the peninsula.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed at the property for 2 nights in the King suite. It is a pleasant place with an old-world charm to it.

Pros:
- The main house and the room were nice - again must say, with an old-world charm
- The innkeeper was friendly and she showed us maps of the place as well as close by restaurant menus
- The breakfast was great - the eggs with various toppings were quite a treat. We missed the wine as we were out of both days - but the cookies were yummy
- They had movies for guests to watch and these were on VHS tapes :)

Cons
- The location was about a 10 min walk to the beach. Would have liked something closer to the beach. Anyway this was something I knew beforehand. Most of the places close to the sea do not accept young children - pretty strange
- The King suite was right on the road and we could hear some traffic noise.
- The rooms had iceboxes instead of refrigerators. This felt pretty primitive and was quite a pain to use.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

Really liked our stay at this property. Lots of pros; a couple big cons. Overall, though, definitely on our list to return again.

Pros:
- Excellent location; everything in Pacific Grove is walkable
- Safe area
- Gorgeous Victorian building
- Nice breakfast
- Great mattress; we slept so well!
- GREAT value!
- 2 fireplaces in King Suite
- Large room (#11)
- Easy parking
- Loved the porch

Con:
- Needs an interior decorator; furnishings weren't exactly period nor modern; a lot of terrible wicker; stuck somewhere in 1980s, which was immediately disappointing
- Room a little dank/stuffy; upholstered furniture didn't give off the "clean" vibe

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pacific Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pacific Grove Inn

Address: 581 Pine Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pacific Grove Inn 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Pacific Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pacific Grove Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pacific Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.