We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“roomy rooms w/fireplace” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Grove Inn to your Saves list
Butterfly Grove Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Stockton, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“roomy rooms w/fireplace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

The day we arrived we were greeted by a friendly face and was will to make our stay comfortable. The room that we stayed in was very big with 2 queen beds and a great fireplace. I enjoyed even looking at the ceiling as I laid in bed. The outside was wonderful with the Monterey Pines at our fingertips. There was beautiful flowers all around the the grounds. The ocean is less then a mile away and easy to get to.
Back to the rooms, there was a coffee maker, frig. air dryer, microwave, and the sink was seperate from the shower and toilet.
One thing more, it was so quite, Quite, QUITE.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank busstop1239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, General Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, August 17, 2014
Thank you and please come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Marin County, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

I checked in for one night, July 13, based on a friend's great memory of the place from several years ago.
It has not been maintained: very worn, spotted carpets and many cosmetic issues.
Major complaint was THE LACK OF CLEANLINESS: hair in tub, dirt on sills, dirty light switches, deck and chairs not swept or cleaned off, one outdoor chair broken, rumpled sheets and bedspread, hair in hairdryer. Even the complimentary shampoo bottles had their seal broken, one was half-empty. Towels old.
I spoke to the new manager, Eric, who apologized but could not do much about anything. Apparently they have only ONE person to clean the whole place, and have frequent turnovers, so only the most basic stuff is getting done. Expect dirt.
I thought it was pretty outrageous to want to charge $25/day per pet per night. I was traveling with 2 small dogs. To be charged a cleaning fee of $50 for a room that was drastically not clean to begin with. Eric refunded one of the $25 charges. And made many apologies: didn't have someone to send over to the room and clean it.
DO NOT STAY here in the near future, unless you are prepared for the above.
There are new owners and they are hoping to improve the situation and apparently do not have the resources to do it right now.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0eliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Huge, clean, room with vaulted ceiling and fireplace just like photo on website. Now that's truth in advertising!. Staff was friendly, eager to please. We loved the Thai restaurant that was recommended. The Inn is located in a pleasant setting close to beach and aquarium. Only complaint was I could not get the poolside jacuzzi to work and at that time the desk person was attending to needs of another guest.. Overall, a great value and much nicer than the property where our friends stayed just down the street. I would definitely recommend Butterfly to others visiting the area.

Room Tip: I booked online and specified room with two beds. Later when I received email confirmation, I reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank maggie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Very nicely kept place, the staff was very friendly and accommodating. The accommodations are very clean and rooms are big, new appliances in room ,newer beds clean sheets... Pool was nice and warm...

Room Tip: ask for King Bed rooms..very spacious rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mathur756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed two nights 2 adults and a child. Room was larger than expected and clean. Everything seemed well taken care of on the grounds. Knowledgeable and helpful day time manager. HEATED pool and nice outdoors jacuzzi!. Breakfast was medium quality - lots of carbs, but the only fruit was bananas. It was enough to fill the stomach, but not that great. We will return happily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skeehop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnton, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I attended a conference in Monterey recently and stayed at the Butterfly Grove Inn. It was very clean, peaceful and just an all around good experience. I had an electrical switch issue in the bathroom one morning so I left housekeeping a note and when I return that evening the switch was replaced. I plan to return next year with my wife to Pacific Grove and we will stay at the Butterfly Grove Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Kirby S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Freezing rooms; shower barely worked; terrible breakfast & horrible coffee. Not worth even half the money we paid. The only good thing was the raccoons robbing the trash can at night... That was cute.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Starfan11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
#7 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Grove Inn

Address: 1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Butterfly Grove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest assured knowing you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging in Pacific Grove, CA. We offer a variety of lodging options suitable for any California traveler.Located near the tip of the Monterey Peninsula, our Inn makes for beautiful views from nearly every room, with some rooms facing the popular butterfly grove. Deer are a frequent sight on our grounds. You can hear the barking of the seals and crashing waves, enhancing the peaceful atmosphere of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Butterfly Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Butterfly Grove Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing