We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Nice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Grove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Grove Inn to your Saves list
Butterfly Grove Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Kensington, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Nice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

We stayed two nights 2 adults and a child. Room was larger than expected and clean. Everything seemed well taken care of on the grounds. Knowledgeable and helpful day time manager. HEATED pool and nice outdoors jacuzzi!. Breakfast was medium quality - lots of carbs, but the only fruit was bananas. It was enough to fill the stomach, but not that great. We will return happily.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    91
    46
    29
    11
See reviews for
92
99
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lincolnton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

I attended a conference in Monterey recently and stayed at the Butterfly Grove Inn. It was very clean, peaceful and just an all around good experience. I had an electrical switch issue in the bathroom one morning so I left housekeeping a note and when I return that evening the switch was replaced. I plan to return next year with my wife to Pacific Grove and we will stay at the Butterfly Grove Inn!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

Freezing rooms; shower barely worked; terrible breakfast & horrible coffee. Not worth even half the money we paid. The only good thing was the raccoons robbing the trash can at night... That was cute.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

How to spend few nights in the Monterey Peninsula without spending $500 per night or more. This hotel is the answer, the staff is very friendly, it is clean, the room we had was huge. The swimming pool is pleasant and the hot tub is working (don't laugh, it is an achievement!) On the downside, the water pressure in the shower is very low, yet good enough to take a shower. There is no air conditioning, but it was so cold we actually used the heater (a fireplace with a noisy blower). The breakfast is free, if you dont like carbs you are out of luck they only items proposed are: muffins, waffles, bread, english muffins, cereals, oatmeal, bananas, ... So, same thing anywhere else would not be great but provided the next step up is 3 times the price, we had a decent room and enjoyed our time very much.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, General Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come see us during the butterfly season during October! It is amazing! In addition, we are looking into addressing the fireplace situation. With your feedback we are also improving the breakfast. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This is our second time at this hotel. We really like it. The staff is very nice and incredibly hard working, the rooms are spacious and clean, some with little patios, TV has lots of channels -if that's what you're into. We've stayed at many hotels in this area before and for that price range, I would say its probably the best hotel here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come see us during the butterfly season during October! It is amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arlington va
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

The Butterfly Grove Inn is a wonderful, quiet place to stay. The new owners are investing in the place and it shows! The new bedding, pillows, landscaping, pool area updates are wonderful! We noticed the fresh paint, etc...... This is a great place for a family to stay!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, Owner at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Thank you for noticing all the changes we continue to make. We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come see us during the butterfly season during October! It is amazing! Do note, we have several more enhancements to improve the customer experience happening this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

it was nice and quite, the deer came out and walked through the grounds. I have heard that in Nov, the butterflies come around. If you would like a nice quite getaway this would be a great place to go.

Judy

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, General Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
We are happy you enjoyed your stay! Please come see us during the butterfly season during October! It is amazing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Pacific Grove hotels
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 537 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 282 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 513 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
0.3 mi away
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
Lighthouse Lodge & Cottages
#15 of 17 in Pacific Grove
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Grove Inn

Address: 1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Butterfly Grove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest assured knowing you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging in Pacific Grove, CA. We offer a variety of lodging options suitable for any California traveler.Located near the tip of the Monterey Peninsula, our Inn makes for beautiful views from nearly every room, with some rooms facing the popular butterfly grove. Deer are a frequent sight on our grounds. You can hear the barking of the seals and crashing waves, enhancing the peaceful atmosphere of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Butterfly Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Butterfly Grove Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.