We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BG is great!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Grove Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Grove Inn to your Saves list
Butterfly Grove Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Sonoma, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BG is great!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

It is reasonably priced, big rooms, quiet, close to everything and works for me on my frequent visits to PG and the MB area. Happy it is still around. And it is right next to a protected Monarch Butterfly grove!! Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    89
    43
    26
    10
See reviews for
86
94
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

It was quiet, the room was huge. The room used a gas fireplace for heat, which was charming. On the negative, everything was ordinary. And the swimming pool was out of order - very disappointing since the weather was unusually hot and sunny. I feel no inspiration to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, May 24, 2014
Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murphys, California
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have been staying at the Butterfly Grove Inn for a couple of decades. You can't beat the location, just a few blocks from downtown Pacific Grove and a few more the other direction to the beaches. It is quiet with well maintained grounds. The rooms are your standard motel that show the age a bit, but the beds are comfortable. The added benefit is that the motel adjacent to one of the Monarch butterfly resting places. If you are there at the right time of year, it is a sight to see.

Room Tip: Small pet fee is only $25 which is pretty good in comparison to other accommodations in the area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Lewis - thanks for taking the time to place a review and rate the experience you had at our property. We are listening very closely to our customers and making changes along the way. The bed experience is improving this week as we speak. We hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We have stayed at the Butterfly Grove Inn twice now and we will certainly return again to this clean, comfortable motel with spacious rooms in a quiet, beautiful location for an unbeatable price. The staff are friendly and helpful and the new owners are making nice upgrades to the rooms. We have paid far more for much less...we highly recommend this family friendly, clean and comfortable Inn in Pacific Grove.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Carin - thank you for taking the time to review Butterfly Grove Inn here on TripAdvisor. We are happy you found value in our property with your recent stay. We are continuing to improve the experience, see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

Had a great weekend here with friends. Perfect location, quiet and clean. Plenty of parking! We stayed in the house that has been converted into multiple rooms. Extremely charming and plenty of space. Will come again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Heather - thank you for taking the time to place a review and rate your experience. We are happy you and your friends enjoyed your stay at Butterfly Grove Inn. See you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakdale, California, United States
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

This is our 4th time here and we absolutely love it! The new owners are great and they are continuously updating the rooms. The pool and spa area is so nice for the young kids. We plan on returning in the near future!!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
Debbie - thank you for your review and rating on TripAdvisor. We are glad you have enjoyed your stays with us and we are happy to see you are noticing some changes at our facility. There are more changes to come soon! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

This is a wonderful family-oriented, value priced establishment. If you want high-end and glossy, keep looking, but if you want a clean, safe, quiet place to stay in Pacific Grove that stretches your dollars, stop now and book your room. We just got back from our second stay here and we couldn't be happier with our experience. We stayed in Room 18, which is a two-bedroom, two-bath suite. Perfect for our two boys (ages 11 and 14) and us. They had their privacy and we had ours. Each room had a brand-new flat-screen TV with Directv. The Wi-Fi is free. The rooms were exceptionally clean. There was a nice sized refrigerator to hold our snacks, a few bottles of Corona and a bottle or two of wine. We were within easy walking distance of the restaurants in Pacific Grove, Asilomar State Beach, Lovers Point and the trail along the ocean. Cannery Row is a lovely two mile walk or two minute drive (but who wants to deal with parking when you can walk!). Fisherman's Wharf is three miles. After a day of sightseeing, hiking or whatever makes you happy, come back here and relax by the pool and hot tub. The pool is heated and we swam in April! Sitting by the pool, all we heard was quiet broken by the birds. And the customer service is fabulous. The staff are friendly, helpful and responsive. Quick replies to my questions via email during the booking process! We'll be back for sure!

Room Tip: Both rooms we've stayed in have been clean and quiet. Rooms have a good sized mini-fridge. Will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ButterflyGroveInn, General Manager at Butterfly Grove Inn, responded to this review, April 29, 2014
Thank you for your kinds words. We are very happy to see you enjoyed your experience at Butterfly Grove Inn - a true escape to sanctuary! We look forward to servicing you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Grove Inn

Address: 1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Butterfly Grove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest assured knowing you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging in Pacific Grove, CA. We offer a variety of lodging options suitable for any California traveler.Located near the tip of the Monterey Peninsula, our Inn makes for beautiful views from nearly every room, with some rooms facing the popular butterfly grove. Deer are a frequent sight on our grounds. You can hear the barking of the seals and crashing waves, enhancing the peaceful atmosphere of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Butterfly Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Butterfly Grove Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.