We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple place to stay for a night or two.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Grove Inn to your Saves list
Butterfly Grove Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Simple place to stay for a night or two.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

It's great to have a king size bed and it was comfortable enough with my own pillow. Something was stirring up my allergies, not sure what it is. Hubby did not detect any "odours or smells" but I think I detected strong detergent in the bedding or perhaps the carpets. Allergy pill seemed to help the itchy eyes. We were in room 19, across from the pool area.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    68
    29
    23
    10
See reviews for
67
65
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Milpitas, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed at Butterfly Grove Inn for the weekend in 1 of the family suites. I read the reviews to stay away from the 2 story units in the back....and we were given one, room 24. I was skeptical, but when i opened the door, I was pleasantly surprised. The room looked better than the pictures on the website. The carpets, bed, armoire looked newer. And there was tons of room, and cable TV.

The main room had a king size bed, electric fireplace, table for eating, and cable. The hall had a tall mini fridge and microwave. The 2nd bedroom had a queen and a space heater. Front desk gave us a rollaway bed, and we also brought a pack n play. And we still had a lot of room.

The property had lots of character. We would eat breakfast in the pool area and there was always a guy cleaning it every morning. My son would talk to him while he was cleaning the pool. Continental breakfast had cereals, milk, OJ, toast, muffins, oatmeal, bananas. Too many complainers on here, but that breakfast was good enough for us. The same person cleaning the pool was also taking care of the gardens on the grounds. There are huge trees and the Butterfly sanctuary is behind the hotel. My son and I took a morning nature walk. There was outdoor seating to enjoy nature all over the grounds. I liked the parking policy - park wherever, just don't block traffic.

This isn't the Ritz, however, it was perfect for our family. We don't need all the bells and whistles. We had an awesome time. Someone came and helped us clean when we accidently clogged the toilet. Asilomar is 1 mile away, and the light house is down the street. I would highly recommend room 24 if you want the family suite. We didn't hear any noises from other room because no one was checked in around us. Good thing, cuz my son likes to slam doors. We will be coming back again.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

Recently spent some time in the Montery/Pacific Grove CA area and stayed at the Butterfly Grove Inn. The room was very roomy and they provided a refrigerator and microwave in the room at no additional cost. There was clean towels every day and the room was spotless. The only complaint that I have is that I could feel the springs in the mattress. I woke up with a back ache every day. The mattress was very old and really needed to be replaced.
They knew we were coming in late and therefore made up the futon bed for us for our daughter, that was very much appreciated. I would stay here again if the matresses were updated! It was a very very nice room with vaulted ceilings. Very quiet area.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camano Island, Washington
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Two nights of problems...tv didn't work, man spent time late at night trying to fix it and finally used an ext. cord to run across the room and tried a different outlet. While all this was going on he left the door open and all of the cold evening air came in - looked for the t-stat to turn on the heat for awhile and couldn't find it, called the office, they turned it on reluctantly at the office. When it got warm enough we put a heavy door mat over the heater vent to "stop the heat"! The room smelled bad and the bath was cramped, thin towels, etc. etc. Soft mattress - sore backs. The electrician came the next day to fix the tv and it worked after that. We were glad to check out after the 2 days; not a friendly office personnel except the younger lady was fine.

Room Tip: You can do better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,Australia
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

I wrote a glowing review of the Butterfly Grove Inn when our family stayed here in 2005, and have stayed here several times since. From this last trip sadly I have to say the standards have slipped and the Inn is not as well-maintained or well-run as before.Couldn't quite it my gap finger on it but it just seemd a bit tired and grubby. I would still recommend it as a budget-friendly option, but in a little town with lots of hotels and motels you could probably do better.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed off-season in February so things may be different in summer. Nice quiet position. Lots of cute deer around. Nice sized rooms. Good parking. Rooms are tired with old furniture and – in winter at least – the heating is a bit weak. A long way from the nearest bar (Cannery Row) and restaurants that have people in them. Bath panelling held together with duck tape, soap was "Batman power punch". Good king-sized bed and lofty ceilings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Unlike other reviewers, we stayed in a room that was beautifully refurbished - 18' wood ceilings, gas fireplace, new paint, shower (wonderful), carpets. We parked in front of our unit in the single-story part of the hotel, right by the butterfly reserve. The location is completely quiet but only blocks to the beach and town. The person managing the front desk walked us to the room and made sure we were happy with it.

Room Tip: We arrived late and were given the handicap room, since we asked for a fireplace. Also, ask the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Butterfly Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Grove Inn

Address: 1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Butterfly Grove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest assured knowing you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging in Pacific Grove, CA. We offer a variety of lodging options suitable for any California traveler.Located near the tip of the Monterey Peninsula, our Inn makes for beautiful views from nearly every room, with some rooms facing the popular butterfly grove. Deer are a frequent sight on our grounds. You can hear the barking of the seals and crashing waves, enhancing the peaceful atmosphere of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Butterfly Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Butterfly Grove Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.