We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Has charm, but a bit tired and remote” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Butterfly Grove Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Butterfly Grove Inn to your Saves list
Butterfly Grove Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Has charm, but a bit tired and remote”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed off-season in February so things may be different in summer. Nice quiet position. Lots of cute deer around. Nice sized rooms. Good parking. Rooms are tired with old furniture and – in winter at least – the heating is a bit weak. A long way from the nearest bar (Cannery Row) and restaurants that have people in them. Bath panelling held together with duck tape, soap was "Batman power punch". Good king-sized bed and lofty ceilings.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    93
    49
    30
    11
See reviews for
96
103
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Unlike other reviewers, we stayed in a room that was beautifully refurbished - 18' wood ceilings, gas fireplace, new paint, shower (wonderful), carpets. We parked in front of our unit in the single-story part of the hotel, right by the butterfly reserve. The location is completely quiet but only blocks to the beach and town. The person managing the front desk walked us to the room and made sure we were happy with it.

Room Tip: We arrived late and were given the handicap room, since we asked for a fireplace. Also, ask the desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mt Vernon, WA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

I agree with what many reviewers have said about this place. It is in a great location, quietly tucked among the eucalyptus and cypress trees right next to the butterfly sanctuary and minutes from Pacific Grove and Monterey. A nice easy walk to the ocean. It is sweet in all its pink glory with twinkling Christmas lights and flower baskets. The pool and hot tub area are very nice and well maintained. The rooms are large and clean. We had a two room suite with two bathrooms and a fireplace for a very reasonable price. But the rooms are dated, the beds are pretty uncomfortable (hard pillows and mattress), one of our showers ran lukewarm, and the walls are thin (heard my neighbor's violent movies late into the evening two nights in a row). The breakfast is simple but ample enough for a continental. We enjoyed our stay and how close we were to everything we came for, which was not spending time in our hotel room.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was attending an event in Monterey and some friends suggested the inn. I wasn't sure when I made the reservation if I would be bringing my dog but I ended up needing to do so. The inn was good for traveling with Fido, you park near your room (it's sort of the old fashioned motor court style) so it was easy for me to bring his sleeping crate in. Other +'s were: large room that was quite clean (I am picky) with good walks in every direction (there really is a butterfly grove behind the property!) and the rates were very reasonable. Also, the staff was friendly. That being said, as other people have noted, the inn is not fancy and the furniture falls in the category of eclectic. For me, the only minus was someone in the next room had the radio on until 2:00 a.m. It was not loud but it was annoying.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

There's nothing fancy about this place at all, but it's a great place if you want a quiet spot, and a good value. We brought our kids here for a quick weekend getaway. The room was a bit dated, but it was clean and comfortable. The fireplace was a nice touch also.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice motel, very clean and spacious, pleasant staff. Right next to Butterfly Grove. Nice to have the open grassy area in front. Reasonably priced, and they seem to allow one-night stays which some hotels don't. Pacific Grove is so beautiful with lovely walks along the ocean and cute shops.

I could hear those next door a bit through the wall, but it didn't ruin my stay,

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

My family and I had a great 5 day stay at Butterfly Grove Inn. The beds and pillows were so comfy! It was nice and quiet. Having the butterfly sanctuary behind us was delightful. The staff was kind and accomodating. They kept our bags for us for several hours after check out even though they don't have a storage area, did it as a favor. It is a bit dated but it more than makes up for it with its comfort and space. Showers are nice and hot. I will stay here again, it made our whole vacation. We stayed in the 2 room suite which gave us extra space and a TV and a bathroom in each room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
0.3 mi away
Sunset Inn
Sunset Inn
#4 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.5 mi away
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
Rosedale Inn Executive Suite
#5 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 284 reviews
0.5 mi away
Deer Haven Inn
Deer Haven Inn
#3 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
0.7 mi away
Lovers Point Inn
Lovers Point Inn
#9 of 17 in Pacific Grove
4.0 of 5 stars 518 reviews
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Inn & Suites Pacific Grove
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Butterfly Grove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Butterfly Grove Inn

Address: 1073 Lighthouse Ave, near Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Butterfly Grove Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rest assured knowing you will have a relaxing guest experience at an affordable rate when you choose our convenient lodging in Pacific Grove, CA. We offer a variety of lodging options suitable for any California traveler.Located near the tip of the Monterey Peninsula, our Inn makes for beautiful views from nearly every room, with some rooms facing the popular butterfly grove. Deer are a frequent sight on our grounds. You can hear the barking of the seals and crashing waves, enhancing the peaceful atmosphere of the Inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Butterfly Grove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Butterfly Grove Hotel Pacific Grove
Butterfly Grove Motel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Butterfly Grove Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.