We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“june 2013 trip” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages to your Saves list
Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages
2.0 of 5 Cottage   |   221 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel amenities
norwalk ca
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“june 2013 trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

great get away place cozy cottage in a great location we did not want to leave close to Monterey and attractions, we actually saw a couple deer , room was snug and clean had a outdoor area with grass and place to sit and relax , we will stay again .

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    62
    13
    9
    9
See reviews for
29
66
13
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

It was very nice, comfortable and extremely relaxing. An open garden with tables and chairs is availavle to have breakfst and you can have your parking space just in front of your cottage. The sea is very close.

Just a word about the staff: the reception is run by a couple, she is kind and smiling, he should really try to be more accomodating.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

I would have given the motel a higher review since it is in a good location, is a good value for the price and appeared clean. However, my husband and I stayed for two nights in June and awoke with itchy pink welts on our backs and shoulders. Although we were traveling with our small dog, he had just been groomed and is treated monthly with Frontline flea/tick applications. So, we knew it wasn't fleas from him. Plus, he wasn't scratching!
I took all of our clothing to the laundromat, washed and dried everything on hot, and didn't pack it in the suitcases for our trip home.
At checkout, I told the manager about our welts and that there was a problem with the bedding in room 118. I didn't put a name to it since I didn't actually have the body of a bedbug to show him, but that's our best guess. He was apologetic and said they had never had a complaint about that before. However, I read an earlier Tripadvisor review that cited a similar issue.
The motel changed the sheets and towels every day we were there, but I don't think that solves the problem.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My Girlfriend and I stayed here on our drive down the California coast and were so happy we did. The place is soooo cute, the staff is super friendly and the location is great. It's a short cab to downtown Monterey, but it's right by the beach and a cool old lighthouse. We did a morning jog along the beach. It's also at the top of 17 mile road so we took the senic route to Carmel.

The rooms were also really cute, very new feeling and very clean. It have nice warm furnishings and our own staircase and patio with cahrs and a little table. It felt like we had our own little apartment. Right at the bottom of the stairs was a parking spot for our car. The property has these little walkways and areas of landscaping that were unexpected and added to the overall cute vibe of this place. I know i'm saying that too much, but a lot of places we looked at on TA were reviewed as being old and rundown and this place was not. great attention to detail, and a free continental breakfast! If I go back I will stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get the room right above the Ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This was an excellent choice for our stay in Monterey. The cottage style motel is situated in a beautiful area in Pacific Grove which is much nicer than staying in downtown Monterey. It's quaint, quiet and spotlessly clean and there are deer grazing just outside and Sea Otters can be seen floating around at the nearby seafront. The cottage is fully equipped so you're able to cook for yourself if you want but the "Fishwife" not far away at Asilomar Beach is a great choice for an excellent seafood meal. The complimentary breakfast was also quite enough. The Bide-A-Wee is only about a 15 minute drive to the charming town of Carmel and a good base for exploring the magnificent Point Lobos State Reserve, Big Sur or the Carmel Valley Wineries.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perkasie,
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

During visits to the Monterey Peninsula over the years I have stayed at the Bide A Wee many times and always look forward to returning. The units have the feel of individual cottages. Lovely, well kept grounds and setting. Housekeeping is excellent and accommodating as is the office staff. I believe the owners take great interest and instill pride in their employees. Quiet and peaceful - excellent!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Big rooms..nice location. Breakfast was limited but sufficient. Not as close to the ocean as I thought..but just down the road. I would stay again. They have two day tickets to the aquarium for the price of one

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages

Address: 221 Asilomar Blvd, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Specialty Lodging in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quaint and Quiet Lodging in Pacific Grove, CaliforniaThe Bide-A-Wee Inn and Cottages is a quaint and quiet rustic inn on the tip of the Monterey Peninsula offering pet friendly lodging accommodations. Nestled in a beautifully wooded area on Asilomar Blvd., in Pacific Grove CA, the Bide-A-Wee is just a 3 minute walk from the Pacific Ocean, Point Pinos Lighthouse and the Pacific Grove Golf course. Enjoy miles of beautiful walk and bike paths, or experience the "17 Mile Drive", one of the most famous and magnificent stretches of road in the country, which showcases the spectacular Pacific shoreline and vast ocean view. Just minutes away are the world famous Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row, as well as the world famous Pebble Beach Golf Links.The Bide-A-Wee Inn & Cottages is just a 10 minute drive away from Carmel and all Monterey tourist attractions, and many of the finest restaurants and shops are just a 5 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bide-a-Wee-Inn And Cottages
Bide-a-Wee-Inn & Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bide-A-Wee-Inn & Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.