We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway with a dog” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Andril Fireplace Cottages

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Andril Fireplace Cottages to your Saves list
Andril Fireplace Cottages
569 Asilomar Blvd, near Sinex Road, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect getaway with a dog”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We have stayed here twice now, and are getting ready to book our next stay. It is very dog friendly, in fact, the pet fee is nominal. The cottages are well equipped, the grounds are well kept, and the hosts are very nice and attentive. We loved being a short 5 minute walk from Asilomar Beach, where there is a half mile of off leash dog beach! There is so much to do all around the area and dogs are welcome just about everywhere. Oh! And if you need to make a run to the store, your dog can stay in the cottage unattended. We did stay one night in a regular King room, not a cottage. It was nice, but no fenced in patio or privacy, so would avoid that if you bring a dog along. The fireplace cottages do have a lingering burning smell, so you might want to bring aerosol or a candle to freshen things up.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    170
    29
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
85
60
3
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
stockton
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Following a disappointing stay at a different place, we decided to give Andril Fireplace Cottages a "test drive" for a single night. We were greeted by Crystal, a positively charming young lady who answered all our questions and didn't hesitate to give us a helping hand when we couldn't figure out how to use our television remote control. This is a lovely place with pristine, up-to-date and tastefully decorated rooms and cottages. Although we are animal lovers, we were a little hesitant about staying in a pet friendly place, but were pleasantly surprised to discover that the accommodation had registered a solid "zero" on the animal smell gauge. In fact, this is the cleanest place we've ever stayed in (no musty or rug shampoo odor) and not a speck of dust or a water spot in sight! The location is a short stroll to the ocean and at night we slept surrounded by fragrant pines. We absolutely shall return!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Rafael, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We love Andril's. We have been staying there annually since 2001 for 4-6 night visits. Great individual cottages with full kitchens, fireplaces (with wood provided), a great free library of DVDs, free wi-fi, and all a five minute walk through the Asilomar Conference Center to the beach. They are also pet friendly. They have easy access to everything that Monterey has to offer - the aquarium, Cannery Row, Carmel, etc., but are located quietly among the pines in Pacific Grove. The staff is extremely helpful and accommodating. Wouldn't stay anywhere else on the Monterey penninsula!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakland, CA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We just spent two nights in Pacific Grove and Andril never disappoints. Perfect for families with kids and well behaved dogs who like a little room to run around. The movie library, hot tub, and gardens/BBQ are all great amenities. Beds are fantastic and kitchens are well equipped. Peaceful yet close to everything in town. And it's only minutes from a great morning coffee and walk at Asilomar Beach. We have stayed at several places in town but this is the best!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasant Hill, California
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

In the middle of a five night stay. Every time we come here Andril never fails to impress. They have recently made a few changes to satisfy some not so nice guests. Suing the Smiths for their own bad behavior. Kevin had to put in pavers where there was lawn in the zen garden and redo some patios. Worst of all was the removal of the" Big Chair".
This time we brought our friends who came from Missouri to join us. We are having a wonderful time. If you want to come in the summer, make your reservation early. We made ours the year before in October. Though you can get last minute if your not fussy about a particular unit. All and all a very special place.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We recently spent three days at the Andril's in Pacific Grove, CA. We try to stay there for a few days every three or four months if possible.They are pet friendly, charging a minimal fee for each animal per night. Each cottage has a secure patio or small yard for your pet(s), so you know that they are safe while you are away. The staff is very nice and sees to your every need. The Pacific Grove area is beautiful, and the Andril's is a short walk through the Asilomar Conference Grounds to Asilomar State Beach. A short walk south on the beach brings you to an area where your pet may run free and play with the other dogs on the beach. Our dogs love it.

Prices vary by season, and there is a three-day minimum stay in the summer, but it is worth the cost. We recommend the Andril's to all of our friends and family who are planning on staying in the Monterey / Carmel area.

Room Tip: The staff will assist you in selecting a room by your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmingdale, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

What a find. I came from NY to visit my son, his wife and my grandson who live in California and luckily came across this amazing place. Cottage was just perfect - comfortable for the four of us and we loved having breakfast in the cottage, along with cooking on the grill. Hot tub was super and my grandson loved playing soccer on the large green, treed yard. Close to the Aquarium and Cannery Row as well as a pleasant walk to the ocean - which I really enjoyed. Can't say enough good things about this special place by the sea! Will definitely come back. A wonderful place to make memories.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Andril Fireplace Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andril Fireplace Cottages

Address: 569 Asilomar Blvd, near Sinex Road, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity so you can book your Andril Fireplace Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andril Fireplace Cottages Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Andril Fireplace Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.