We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep coming back!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of il vecchio

il vecchio
110 Central Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
831.324.4282
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $15 - $30
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Imagine that you're winding your way through narrow streets near the Pantheon in Rome. You stumble upon a crowded trattoria where servers hurry by carrying plates of pasta carbonara, rigatoni al pomodoro, bowls of gnocchi swimming in melted gorgonzola-as well as platters of grilled meats and sausage. The aromas are divine, the atmosphere lively and joyful. You have found Maccheroni, a tremendously popular trattoria owned by Luciano Flamini. A similar atmosphere has been created at il vecchio on the Monterey Peninsula. Il vecchio means "the old," and everything about this trattoria romana makes you think you've discovered a traditional dining spot favored by Roman cognoscenti.
Portola Valley, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“We keep coming back!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

This has become our favorite Italian restaurant in the Monterey area. Have been there over 10 times now and every meal has been excellent, as has been the service. Spouse loves their chicken Marsala and has had it over and over. If you like liver you must try it here! Very savory. Best I've ever had. Mussels are outstanding, too. This chef knows how to cook!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    73
    31
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Not deserving of a rave review”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

The decor is quite interesting -- rustic and a little funky -- but we were very disappointed by the quality of the food, particularly after reading all the rave reviews posted earlier. Our entrees were pedestrian, long on pasta and short on meat, and we were disappointed by the lack of pasta/seafood combinations. No "con vongole" in this establishment. There was only one beer on offer, a "no-name" local. The dessert menu included a lemon gelato, which in fact was a sorbet. We were also not impressed by having to wait even though there were a number of empty tables.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Delicious real Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

This was a wonderful "final" meal to our girls weekend - we got lucky with every dinner being fantastic and this did not disappoint. Waiter was excellent, wine delicious, entrees were served with very fresh ingredients, and dessert was delcious as well. My only tiny complaint was that Limoncello would have been nice to have with the very Italian meal but they did not have a liquor license, apparently. However, we tried a dessert wine which was delicious so no harm done! Great all around! Interior was fun and felt authentic, as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful & Expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

This has got to be one of the best meals I've ever had, but it ran about $100 for two after tax and tip. We got the mussels, which were superb, and the pasta was al-dente as hell but delicious. The entrees were perfectly cooked and the little Italian waitress was very nice and helpful. It cost a lot but was worth it.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garmisch-Partenkirchen, Germany
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“The best Italian food in Monterey County”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

Bruschetta, salad and Pasta (I had shrimp scampi) everything taste perfect! I am a huge fan of Italian food though I am not from Italy but I highly recommend this place. We've waited a little bit even though we have reservation but I can tell that people love this restaurant. The crowd it too loud but I don't mind as long as the food taste great =)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed il vecchio also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to il vecchio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage il vecchio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.