We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Pacific Grove” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) to your Saves list
The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
San Francisco, Ca
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay in Pacific Grove”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

I found Wilkie's Inn for a one-night getaway from the Bay Area. The price was right for a weeknight stay in January, and I was not disappointed. The room was nice and clean, the motel was quiet and the desk staff were all helpful and friendly. It is possible to walk to the beach or downtown from the inn. During the winter months it is worth a (very short) walk to the monarch butterfly sanctuary practically across the street. I'll be happy to stay here in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    33
    27
    9
    15
See reviews for
15
36
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, CA
Level Contributor
261 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,067 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

We stayed at Wilkie's Clarion Hotel (WCH) October 12-14, 2013, Columbus Day Weekend.

RATE: We had made reservations using the Comfortinn web site, and the AAA discount, paying $105 Saturday, and $63 Sunday, before 10% taxes. The rate was low with a 30% off Advance purchase special for Choice Priviledges members, noncancellable and nonrefundable.

RACK RATE: The manager later told me that the 'system rate' or rack rate for walk-ins for our room could be as high as $200 for a Friday or Saturday night. We charge our stays at Comfort inns on our Comfort inn credit card to accumulate points toward free stays.

PHONE ONLY: Note that the comfortinn web site will not allow you to reserve certain rooms such as room 202, a king bed room near the top of the stairs, and next to the outdoor communal sun room at the top of the stairs. And you cannot choose your exact room over the internet. Such rooms have to be reserved by phone only, at the much higher system rate.

LOCATION: WCH is located in a quiet residential neighborhood about 0.8 miles from downtown Pacific Grove. It is the first of a series of hotels along Lighthouse Ave, stretching to the ocean at Asilomar Beach.

MOTEL: The hotel is a two story motel, where you park your car right next to the front door of your room. External corridors, with no balconies.

PARKING: There are at least 18 on site parking spots, plus 1 handicap parking spot. And there are some half dozen parking spots on the street adjacent to the hotel. We never had a problem finding parking.

ROOM 106: Our room 106 had brightly painted walls, with an attractive, almost new, dark green patterned carpet. Room features include a 60" wide queen bed, dresser/stand with 33" flat screen TV with HD cable channels including HBO on a rotating stand, 18" refrigerator, microwave, 2 night stands with lamps and lampshades, luminescent large digital clock, double door mirror closet, ottomon, and small phone table with phone.

SLEEP: Quality of the bed was excellent, with a firm mattress, clean linens, and blanket, comforter, and multiple fluffy pillows for each sleeper. Modern sliding windows with screens and rubber weatherstripping around the edges to minimize noise from the outside. While we could hear footfalls from our upstair neighbors, they were considerate and only made noise when arriving and unpacking. The windows had both sheer and blackout curtains.

LOVESEAT: There was also a loveseat next to the window, where I could read with the afternoon sun shining through the first floor window. The loveseat had seen better days and was lumpy, with shot springs and torn cushion top. I sat on a couple of pillows to alleviate the lumpiness of the bottom cushions.

BATHROOM: Bathroom was remodeled with a beautiful granite countertop, bathtub/shower combination, and a low toilet at the bathroom door entrance. There was even a bathroom window, with a view of the duplex behind the hotel. Very clean. Front desk provides free toothbrush and toothpaste if you forget yours.

HEATER: Wall heater was in the back of the room next to the double mirror door closet. There is no AC, but it is not needed in Pacific Grove due to its close proximity to the ocean.

CONFIGURATION: Rooms 101-111 on 1st floor, and rooms 201-214 on 2nd floor. No room number 213. No elevators, only stairs, to 2nd floor. Rooms 102 and 111 are cheaper than the other rooms, as they are directly underneath the carpeted outdoor stairs, and 102 also closest to the ice machine and $1 soft drink machine.

ROOMS: Rooms 102-110 and rooms 202-210 directly face the parking lot in the west. Room 101 has a view of the side street north of the hotel, and room 201 at the top of the stairs, has a distant view of Monterey Bay to the east and north. Rooms 212 and 214 are rooms with two queen beds apiece, and closest to Lighthouse Ave. Room 214 would have views to the south, west and north, but no ocean view.

QUEENS: We almost always get a room with a single queen bed, which is about $10 cheaper than a king bed room. 102, 103, 106, 107 are queens, while 108 is a two bed room. All the other rooms are king beds or two bed configuration rooms. No single queen bed room on the second floor

SUN ROOM: Next to room 202 at the top of the stairs is a communal sun room, with 3 padded chairs around a table, surrounded by plexiglass. You can see Monterey Bay in the distance from here.

BREAKFAST: Breakfast is provided in the lobby of the hotel. There are only two chairs and a low coffee table so most people eat standing up watching TV news, or take their food to their rooms. Directly outside the lobby is a sitting area with a few chairs, but nobody is going to eat outdoors in the cold mornings. The only hot food is the waffle maker, and toast -wheat bread or english muffins. Waits for the waffle maker can be lengthy, as one party may have three or four waffles to make, each taking 2.5 minutes to cook. Other foods include oatmeal, cereal, pastries, apples and oranges. No bagels, no eggs, and no sausages.

WALKING: This part of Pacific Grove is walkable to the main tourist spots. We walked multiple times to downtown Pacific Grove in about 16 minutes, with no sidewalks for the first 2 blocks, and then sidewalks for the remainder of the way -usually on the opposite side of Lighthouse Ave with the street lights. We also walked to the Asilomar Beach in 12 minutes -no sidewalks, Lovers Point in 18 minutes, and the Aquarium in about 34 minutes, along Ocean Ave. The An Choy Vietnamese restaurant is 2 blocks north along Lighthouse Ave.

KNOCKS: My only knocks against this place are 1. lengthy walk to the main tourist spots and restaurants of Pacific Grove, 2. no pool, 3. no on site restaurant, 4. no balcony, 5. no place to sit for breakfast, 6. too much furniture for the small space of the room -I would get rid of the lamp next to the door, the phone and phone table, and the ottoman. 7. torn top of loveseat. I don't think they can do anything about the first 4 points, but 5, 6 and 7 are fixable.

Room Tip: Rooms 102-111 front the parking lot, with 102 and 111 next to the stairs. 201 has a distant ocean v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Maur-des-Fosses, France
Level Contributor
111 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

Cheap motel, but the room was clean, and good space for two people, the motel is closed to the downtown, and close to the Lighthouse.
Staff at the lobby was not very friendly, and if you want to take breakfast, no table except two outside, no one in the bedroom!

Room Tip: room 107 was ok
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manteca, California
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

It was Veteran's Day weekend and no Hotels to be found except this one. Our son in law booked us into Rm#101. Small room with table and two chairs. A desk with office chair. Next to the desk on the wall was your "closet" to hang clothes. A bit cramped and the bed (King size) was hard as a rock. I took the down comforter and put it down as a mattress pad and that made it bearable for our second night. Small continental breakfast in the Office was good. Staff were extremely friendly. Walls are paper thin. Heard word for word conversation with room next door until midnight. In the corner was a window that you could see the ocean. Nice cute neighborhood. Room was clean. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: This room was tucked away in the back. Small, but okay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is tiny and the rooms are quite small. The room and the lobby were very clean and adequate if a little overdecorated.
It was nice to have the car close by and the location near our relatives was perfect. There is even a small public seating area under cover outdoors.We would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We arrived on Sunday Night July 7, The Hotels in the area were all pretty much booked due to the 4th Of July Holiday. The rooms were clean,and Actually smelled good. We had 2 queen beds, and they were comfortable. The Hotel Desk Clerk was Very Friendly and asked If I needed any Info on Dining or attractions. He was very Knowledgeable on any questions I had. Room had Cable TV, In Room Coffee/Tea, Hair Dryer, Iron In Closet, Pretty much everything we needed. In the Morning they had A waffle Maker, Toast, Cereals, Fruit, danish,Milk, Orange Juice, Coffee & Tea in the Lobby. The Location is on The "Quiet Side" of The Monterey Peninsula, about 4-5 Blocks from the Ocean, and a few miles from Cannery Row. We Did Not experience any Problems other than a slightly plugged shower head, And Would Stay here Again.

Room Tip: Upstairs Rooms may be quieter, We did experience " Footstep noise" late at night in our gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
78 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed for one night in Pacific Grove to visit the aquarium and Wilkie's was a wonderful choice. Just a short drive from Wilkie's to the aquarium and also many restaurant choices close at hand on Cannery Row. Wilkie's offered an excellent continental breakfast that included waffles, cereals, juice and coffee. Rooms were spacious and very clean. Very friendly family run B&B.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)

Address: 1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Choice Hotels so you can book your The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilkie`s Inn (Clarion Collection) Hotel Pacific Grove
Clarion Collection Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.