We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean & Comfortable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) to your Saves list
The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Bozeman, Montana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Clean & Comfortable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We were referred to the Wilkie's Inn by the Sunset Inn, which was sold out. We got the last room available after checking in late in the day. The reception desk guy, Ray, was very professional and welcoming. Our queen room was on the second floor and had a view of the ocean looking north. While the rooms are fairly small it was adequate, clean & comfortable. We ate downtown Pacific Grove and came back later to a quiet room. But, at 6:30 a.m. the next morning (Sunday) we were awoken by some unruly guests that were on the outside balcony talking loud and smoking. While not a big deal for us given we needed to get up any way, I'm sure the couple next door us with young kids were not too appreciative. All in all an OK place to stay in Pacific Grove on a budget.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    22
    8
    15
See reviews for
15
34
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lafayette, California
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Wilkie's Inn enabled us to discover the Monarch Butterfly Sanctuary!!! It was located right across the street. The Grove of butterflies was magical, as we have never seen a natural migration before. This motel was comfortable enough- my husband didn't care for the dingy accommodations. I thought the bed was comfortable. The first night, we managed to turn the heat on in the room, but the second night the heat didn't come on. The bathroom was adequate. The breakfast was fine- packaged oatmeal,orange juice, coffee, milk, raisin bran/ generic cheerios, svenhard's pastries, bread for toast and a waffle maker- gives one the opportunity to enjoy the many great local dining places instead:) The prices doubled the nights we were there- because it was "Valentine's" weekend (Feb 15-17). We didn't request maid service during our stay because we didn't want our personal items disturbed in the small room. One day, there was a very personable young man (from another motel location) at the desk with whom we enjoyed conversing.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset Village, Bermuda
Top Contributor
274 reviews 274 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We froze to death in our room.... the supposed heater was about 1 candlepower on a freezing night....the whole place is old fashioned in a cheap way & needs a good scrub & painting as well as some renovations. Breakfast was poor & served right in front of the checkin desk a very strange arrangement. Sorry wont be returning there.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Director of Sales at The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection), responded to this review, February 21, 2013
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept our sincere apology. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed and the appropriate action has been taken.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, CA
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
873 helpful votes 873 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

RESERVATION: We stayed at the Wilkie's Clarion January 19-21 during the MLK holiday weekend. We had booked a queen bedroom about a week before our stay on the comfort inn website. The rate was $70 per night before the 10% AAA discount, the least expensive holiday weekend rate I had ever seen online in a hotel in Pacific Grove. Of course you will not find this rate available at other times of the year -like the Concours d'elegance in August. This hotel can be used to accumulate Quality Comfort Inn points, but based on the web site, it apparently cannot be reserved as a free night using those points.

LOCATION: the hotel is really a motel- you drive your car up to the door, with all doors on exterior corridors facing the parking lot. The motel is the first of a series of motels and hotels on Lighthouse Ave, when driving north from the town center. It is hard to miss during the daytime as it is painted a rather garish pink. Walk 15 minutes south along the sidewalks of an upscale apartment area, and you are in the center of town with innumerable restaurants. Walk 15 minutes north past the golf course, and you are at the ocean -although you would not want to do this at sunset, as the residential streets in that area have no sidewalks, and no there are no pathways along the street, so you would end up walking in the middle of the street alongside parked cars.

PARKING: there are 22 parking spaces on the property, and 24 rooms. Parking is also available on the street a short distance away. Some people even park across the street next to the other hotels. The parking lot is separated from the street by an attractive garden island. Employees apparently take up about 3-4 parking spaces -these are noticeable because they don't move and are in the same spot every day. We had no difficulty finding parking on the premises even late at night, when the hotel was apparently fully booked. The two closest diagonal spots to the check-in office are for compact cars only, as it is a tight squeeze to circle around the garden island into these spots, when all the other spaces are taken -I tried it with my 1998 Honda Civic and barley made it, without having to back up.

CHECK-IN: We checked in at 4pm with the parking lot only a third full, and were assigned to room 102. I asked if they had a room available on the second floor, and the manager said no. 102 is just behind the stairs, which is next to the ice machine, and closest to the check-in office, and the unloading area for check-ins vehicles. It is the room with the most noise, and least privacy as people go up and down the carpeted stairs at all hours, and can peer into room 102. In hot weather you would hear the ice-machine going. However at the rate I paid I wasn't about to haggle much about getting another room.

PLUSH FURNISHINGS IN A CRAMPED ROOM: My wife said the queen size bed was really a full size bed. The room also came with a microwave, a 33" tall refrigerator, a love seat, a three drawer dresser, a chair with padded armrests and backing, a desk 18" by 33", two night stands with lights, an ottoman next to the TV and a lamp next to the love seat. The sliding closet doors were fully mirrored floor to ceiling. Ceiling fan with attached bright lights. The bed mattress was firm but comfortable. Afternoon sunshine streamed in the windows. Window equipped with both sheer and blackout curtains, although the latter didn't quite close all the way. Ice bucket with two glasses, not plastic cups. Coffee maker with porcelain cups, not styrofoam cups. Red patterned carpeting was industrial grade, designed for maximum durability, and was not comfortable to walk on. Crooked floor near the dresser as if the foundation had settled unevenly.

TV: The 31" flat screen TV is located above the dresser in an entertainment system. The base pulls out, so you can pull out the TV from the entertainment system. The base also swivels on a mount, so you can watch it from an angle, instead of from directly in bed. There are 90+ cable channels available including a multitude of various ESPN and HBO channels. I watched 3 hours of the NFL game from the comfortable love seat on the side of the room next to the window.

REMODELED BATHROOM: The bathroom was remodeled with an attractive granite sink, bright overhead lights, a swing out makeup mirror, modern tiles on the walls above the bathtub, but was tight to get in -the opening door almost touched the toilet. There was also a helpful night light in the bathroom attached to the hair dryer mount.

NOISE: Flushing the toilet almost shook the entire building. Fortunately they were modern, low water, high flush types, so the toilets didn't run for very long when refilling. We could hear our upstairs guests footsteps on the thinly padded carpet. Noise also traveled around the locked interior connecting doors from our neighbors, as we could hear talking. Fortunately none of our neighbors were loud snorers. Modern screened windows with tight fitting openings to diminish noise from the parking lot. We could hear kids running around in the exterior corridors, and bouncing on the stairs.. There is no pool nor jacuzzi so perhaps so this place might not appeal to families with kids. Very little traffic noise from Lighthouse Avenue.

ROOM CONFIGURATION: There are 11 rooms on the first floor, rooms 101-111, and 13 rooms on the second floor, rooms 201-212,214 -there is no room 213. Rooms 102-110, 202-210 have their main window alongside the door facing the exterior corridor, and the parking lot. Rooms 101 and 201 at the north end have a main corner window facing the northeast with a partial ocean view above the residential rooftops across the street along Bayview avenue. 201 is a king size bedroom, and one of several not available on the comfort inn web site -you have to call directly to reserve a specific room number. Rooms 110 and 210 have their main window facing south. Rooms 201-210 also have a main window facing east -although not much to write home about - a view of a two story duplex. 202 has a partial ocean view to the side of the duplex. Rooms 212 and room 214 appear to be much larger rooms than the others, with two beds. Room 214 has windows facing north over the parking lot and west over Lighthouse Ave, and south over a residential house.

ROOMS TO GET, ROOMS TO AVOID The most desirable rooms would appear to be 101,201, 202, 212 and 214. The least desirable rooms would be the room that I got, 102 and 109 next to the stairs, and perhaps 110, with a window facing south toward an old residential house, with a motor home parked in front. Rooms 103-109 have a view of the front grills of vehicles in the parking lot, and would hear noises from their upstair guests' footsteps.

WIFI ACCESS: free wifi access. We were able to get a strong signal from the Wifi access during most the daytime hours. However there was no access in the early morning hours before breakfast.

BREAKFAST: the usual continental breakfast with waffle maker, toast with butter (didn't see any jam), apples, pastries, quaker oats, cold cereal, milk, orange juice. Breakfast is served in the check-in office at 730am. There are only 2 chairs, so most people eat standing up, with paper plates balancing on the fireplace mantle, or on the check-in counter. They do have trays to take back to your room -but our room had no sitting table.

ALCOVE: a unique feature of this hotel is the exterior sun room alcove at the top of the stairs next to room 201. There are 4 padded chairs around a marble table, surrounded on three sides by glass and a roof to keep out the elements. A great place to read a book in the afternoon sunshine, or a night with the overhead light, protected from the wind and rain.

BUS: A Monterey-Salinas-Transit mini bus stops at the bus stop near room 214 for those without wheels.

NEXT TIME: I would come back again, but would make my reservation by phone for specific designated rooms, using the comfort inn web site as a starting point for bargaining for price.

Room Tip: rooms 101,201,202 have partial ocean views, rooms 212,214 are the largest, rooms 102,110 are closest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

Rooms are small but well accented, and pleasing in a coastal Bed & Breakfast kind of fashion, though signs of wear are apparent in wall dents & leaking fixtures. The room is great if you don't plan to spend much time there. The lights have timers & motion sensors, so if you like to lie down and read at night be sure to take a break every 15 minutes or so and wave your arms around. Breakfast was bad even for continental, with runny waffle batter & broken waffle timer, and both days the 7am breakfast opened well after 7am. All in all not a great place for a business traveler, though if you're going for vacation & don't plan to take part in breakfast it could be worthwhile due to the proximity to the beach.

Room Tip: If you're near the ice machine you'll hear it every time someone scoops out ice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Leandro, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

My fiance and I decided to just get away, so I looked up places to stay (within our budget) online and went through something like Hotels dot com. On these sites, You dont know where you are going to end up until you book it, so I was a little wiery. Booked it, got directions and off we went.
We arrived and we were both pleasantly surprised. Nice room with a small refridgerator, microwave and a good selection on the Cable TV lineup.The room was clean, the bed was good and it was quiet. No over-night partiers, loud noises. The loication is just a few blocks away from the ocean, near the tip of Pacific Grove. Nice little spot upstairs at the top of the stairwell that was closed off with plexi glass that you could sit outside, out of the elements (wind, rain, etc...) and enjoy the fresh air, have a drink or a smoke. They have a small breakfast for their guests... nothing too fancy, Belgian waffles, cereal, fruit, Cream of WHeat, coffee, juices, etc. Like I said, nothing too fancy,no eggs or sausage, but it served its purpose. I would go here again, as for the price, it is a good deal. I would grade this place as "above average", soley for the price, and location. Not "very good", but close. Recommended. Especially if you are on a tight budget and just need to get away for the night/weekend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Old and Outdated. Like nightlights? All of the light switches have one. The armoire doors limit where you can sit and watch tv. The parking spaces are not assigned so you may not be able to park close to your room. Our room was next to the office and was a bit noisy. The staff was not all that friendly much less hospitable. We will nnever stay here again.

Room Tip: We won't stay here again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, General Manager at The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection), responded to this review, October 27, 2012
Sorry to hear that your stay was unsatisfactory. We try our level best to accommodate each guest for their pleasant and comfortable stay. The TVs are new so they are swivel instead of the old ones. There are many options for the room types or floor levels. The hotel do not offer valet parking what so ever. Again we apologize for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)

Address: 1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilkie`s Inn (Clarion Collection) Hotel Pacific Grove
Clarion Collection Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.