We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this place at all costs.........” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) to your Saves list
The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Lathrop, California
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Avoid this place at all costs.........”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

My family of 4 stayed one night at the Wilkies and we will never return. We all agree it was our worst hotel experience. I don't know if i have enough room here to tell you everything that went wrong. I guess it all began with paying $270 a night and when we pulled up we saw it was a hotel with only outside access...the internet pictures did not lead me to that conclusion however it was just one night and already paid for so we proceeded but it was all down hill from here.......very strong chemical smell when you walked in the room....outdated decor but that does not really matter to me.....lets talk about the ceiling fan that was on a timer and no aircondition so someone had to get up every hour or so and turn the fan back on because it got too hot......mold in the bathroom....sheetrock patchwork in the ceiling over the bed and shower...not tape and floated or painted just the sheetrock showing.....we were like wow really? 3am our neighbors decide to stand outside our door talking loudly and smoking.....no air condition so our windows were open and the smoke was coming in the windows. Hubby got up and asked them if they would mind being a little more quiet....they moved even if it was rudely.....The parking was atrocious. Not enough parking for all the rooms. We had a hard time finding a hotel room for Labor day weekend or we definitely would have left.
The next morning we told the front desk all our concerns and the man who called himself Jose was very unhelpful and rude. He refused to name his manager and would only say 'this is normal, all the hotels in this area are this way', really?

Room Tip: Do not stay in room 109 better yet do not stay at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
carmeloaks, Public Relations Manager at The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection), responded to this review, September 6, 2012
We accommodate many guests each evening, and we strive to make their stay a satisfying one. Consequently, it's disappointing to learn that you're unhappy. Please accept our sincere apology. We want you to know that the comments and suggestions we receive from our
guests are taken seriously. They tell us what we're doing right, what we're
doing wrong and how we can improve. Your willingness to share your recent experience is genuinely appreciated. Please be assured that the issues you've raised have been addressed and the appropriate action has been taken. Please note the hotel does not have an elevator or an air-conditioning which is common in the surrounding area which was meant by our new employee Jose. Since he was new he was doing his very best to accommodate each and every guest during that weekend especially in this case where he checked in the guest around 10:30 am instead of our normal 3 pm and later. It was an unfortunate that we had some emergency situation happened especially when we were busy during Labor day. The work was completed except the paint which we had to delay due to fresh odor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    22
    8
    15
See reviews for
15
34
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Banos
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

The room was extremely clean, and came with refrigerator and microwave. The staff was very nice. The area was quiet and pretty. I would stay again, definitely!! Very reasonably priced. So much better than the big, impersonal hotels! Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tn.
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

very friendly clerk, updated nicely, very good price, good location, close to downtown Pacific Grove, good breakfast, helpful staff, stayed 2 nights, would stay there again, 8/20-21/2012, make a reservation through Choice

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The location is fine, its quiet and a few minutes walk from the ocean. We had two rooms, both were well equipped, clean and comfortable. The owner was helpful and breakfast was reasonable (and included in the price)

Nice, unassuming, motel. We would stay here again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atwater, CA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We have been taking weekend trips this summer and at the last minute we decided to go to the coast to escape the heat of the Central Valley. There was one room remaining and I grabbed it. We had an event to attend first so we arrived around 9 PM. We had a room on a corner so we had a table and windows on two sides; very nice. My wife liked the built-in fireplace for ambience. The room was very nicely appointed with special touches like a small table for the telephone and a bench at the end of the bed.

This is one place we have marked down in our log of places where we have stayed where we will return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Round Rock, Texas
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We were very concerned after reading the reviews, but we're so pleased we took the chance. The room was spotless, the staff very friendly and helpful. The bed great, in fact, my husband and I agreed that we had the best sleep of our trip here, both of them. We plan to be in the area longer next year and we will definitely be staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2012

I have been waiting (about a month) for our Choice Hotel points to be added to our account for this stay before I reviewed The Wilkie's Inn. Not sure we are ever going to see those points, so here goes.

There are three criteria I judge a hotel/motel by: Cleanliness, Security & (when we drive our sports car) Parking.
Cleanliness - the room was quite clean, but difficult to navigate as it seems our room was used to store a lot of excess furniture! I had to move furnishings so we had enough room to get to the bed. Every evening when we returned the furniture had been returned to it's usual inconvenient spot.
Security - absolutely not an issue at The Wilkie's Inn. Located in a very quiet neighborhood with minimal traffic, we were not concerned about our safety.
Parking - The Wilkie's Inn has 25 rooms and 21 parking spots. Of those 21 spots, 3 are (I believe) taken by owners or family members. One car and a pickup did not move the 4 days we were there and another van is parked in random spots throughout the lot. So now when the motel is full, 7 guests need to find street parking and walk in the street (no sidewalks) to the motel. Very inconvenient and inconsiderate.

In addition, the lady who seemingly is always on duty at the front desk seems bored and a little rude.
Although the price was quite attractive, the location was further from restaurants than we were led to believe.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection)

Address: 1038 Lighthouse Ave, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wilkie`s Inn (Clarion Collection) Hotel Pacific Grove
Clarion Collection Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Wilkie's Inn (Clarion Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.