We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Confluence of location, service, and congeniality.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asilomar State Beach

Asilomar State Beach
800 Asilomar Boulevard, South of Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
831-646-6440
Website
Improve this listing
Visit Asilomar State Beach like an insider
Private Tour
$200*
and up
Private Tour: Monterey Coastal Sights by Bike
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The name of this State Beach means "a refuge by the sea," which describes the breathtaking views of forest, surf and sand on more than 105 secluded acres of scenic forest and sand dunes.
San Francisco
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Confluence of location, service, and congeniality.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

The location is beautiful, care and conscientious of the environment, lovely, clean room, and excellent food; liked communal table for breakfast.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    325
    80
    10
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Having been going to Asilomar Beach for the last several years, day trips and have no compliants other than I never find any shells!!! Other than that, love taking long walks or having lunch on the beach. It is very clean and very peaceful. Great place to go an get your peace and tranquility on.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
windsor on
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“really nice beach for a nice walk”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

we stayed in the area for 2 days on a recent trip to Cali
i went for nice long beach walks both mornings
there was quite a bit of plant life on the beach which had that rotting plant odour, but hey, it's nature !!
i found a washed up starfish which became my favourite souvenir of the trip
i loved that the beach is very dog friendly, even without my dog with me
there is a lovely path towards the road side of the beach which runs for miles along the nearby golf course and all along the beach and beyond

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
210 reviews 210 reviews
72 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
“Magical beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

This is one of my favorite Pacific beaches whatever the weather. Whether you hike, bike or drive along the coast make sure you take time to stop and feel the pure sand between your toes.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north east CA
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Beautiful Area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Worth the walk or drive up and down the coast in this area. Just beautiful. Went here at least once every day, some days 2 or 3 times.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Asilomar State Beach also viewed

Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
Pacific Grove, Monterey Peninsula
 

Been to Asilomar State Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asilomar State Beach, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.