We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It is what it is” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asilomar Conference Grounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Asilomar Conference Grounds to your Saves list
Asilomar Conference Grounds
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
“It is what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Traveling through the Carmel/Monterey, California area, Asilomar is a unique place to stay. Asilomar is a "Conference Center" that caters to small and large groups for "Off-Site" Meetings. Asilomar is a great location for this, but a bit "dodgy" for a overnight hotel location. The good news; Asilomar is located right next to the small, charming City of Carmel, California and Asilomar is very "price competitive" in this area. However, the Arrowmark operated, California State owned facility is like staying at a Boy Scout Camp, read "shared rooms", minimal dorm room style, and poor food on site. It is what it is. no dinners on this site.

My suggestion is if you are traveling through the area... Pick another place to stay.

Room Tip: There are some dorm rooms near the Pacific Ocean, of course we were not located there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    147
    92
    45
    51
See reviews for
110
130
23
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fremont, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed here over the July 4th weekend. Its quiet environment and close proximity to the beach make it a good choice for family retreat. The rooms are sparsely furnished. As advertised, there's no TV or phone in the room, but free WiFi is available. Another inconvenience is that they only have a couple of ice machines (freezers) for the entire site. It's also very dark outside the buildings at night, so you might have some trouble getting around. Breakfast is included but it's just average. The lines might be long if there are large groups around. Its price in general is not cheap, but it would be a bargain during the Monterey Car Week in August as all other hotels and motels jack up their rates to some ridiculous prices.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you want beautiful views, a peaceful place to relax, the perfect place for yourself or the family, then Asilomar is for you and yours. I just got back after three days of attending a conference. It's hard to believe I was at work and yet I am so relaxed. The grounds are large so getting some exercise is a given, but the scenery is so beautiful and the fresh air is amazing. The rooms are comfortable, not luxurious, but have all the necessary amenities. The beach is just steps away. Even the deer come out and play. I went two years ago with my family and had a terrific time also. Work or play I recommend Asilomar for a great place to stay when going on a vacation that is more relaxation than get up and go.

Room Tip: Upstairs to get a good view of the beach or Pebble Beach golf course.
See more room tips
Green Features: I thought they did a good job. Recycling in the rooms.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiburon, CA
Top Contributor
266 reviews 266 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have stayed at Asilomar four times and love the ambience; relaxed, great views, the ocean at your doorstep, wildlife. The gamble , if you are not with a group, is that you cannot specify the room block that you would like. Some are a lot more modern than others. Some are downright gloomy.
This time we had a nice room in a more modern block, with a balcony and views of deer and squirrels close by.
Our room had two double beds, but there was no reading light at the second bed. The sliding door to the balcony was badly corroded and very difficult to latch closed, so they installed a drop-down bar instead of fixing the door. The shower head was encrusted and would not move from one position. Taps were all set to deliver a thin stream of water, in the name of conservation; however, all it does is make you use twice as much of the thin stream. Two basins and a very efficient bathroom extractor fan.
There is no TV in the rooms but it is being considered. WiFi was available in our room but was a bit weak.
Breakfast is no longer included in the price of the room and costs $14 per person. It is a good breakfast but choice is now more limited than before....only one choice of egg, and is expensive for those who wish to have a light breakfast. To cater for the light breakfast there is now a small, but nice cafe in the visitor center, with oatmeal, fruit and pastries, as well as coffee.

Room Tip: Try to get a room in a more modern block. Avoid the older rooms.
See more room tips
Green Features: While they have some commendable practices in and around the grounds, the rationing of water in the bathrooms is a bit silly.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

The view alone gives Asilomar four stars. I attended a CTA seminar here and the facilities are great for this type of event. It is a large, spread-out facility with numerous meeting rooms of all sizes. There are a couple of large fire pits with huge wire mesh cages over the top and a fair size supply of fire wood (we ran out both nights but we like big fires.) The meals were acceptable but not stellar. Great beach to walk on and a very short drive to Monterey Bay Aquarium, restaurants, etc.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, California
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

I was able to join my DH at a conference/if I paid my meals etc. October might not have been the best time--cold and fog, but the sea and deer were lovely. Room could use an update, and BTW our bathroom had too much mold and on the unclean side. Meals were like the cafeteria at Yosemite---lunch good, the rest awful. Super location, but too expensive for what you get. Would not stay there again.

Room Tip: closer to main area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Recently stayed at Asilomar during the first week of October. Lets start with the positives. The staff are kind, always smiling and extremely helpful. The grounds and the rooms are clean. The beds are reasonably comfortable. Finally, mother nature has done a great job of providing a great setting for the facility and there is a retro historical ambiance. Now for the negatives. This is not a "hotel", but a formal camp ground/retreat facility. Great for a bonding corporate conference, but not sure that I would call it a family vacation site. The rooms are spartan,"dorm like" and outdated. The food is average. There are no phones in the rooms or TV's. This is not an environment that I would take small children. The place is in desparate need of an update. You are not getting a spa like resort when you sign up to stay here, but a park run facility in need of some attention and love. That said, had a nice time.

Room Tip: Appreciate that this is a state park run facility and not a five star resort. It is all about having...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Address: 800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asilomar Conference Grounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.