We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Servants quarters?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Asilomar Conference Grounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Asilomar Conference Grounds to your Saves list
Asilomar Conference Grounds
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
San Francisco Peninsula
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Servants quarters?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

I didn't know that Julia Morgan designed servants quarters, but surprise! Our room was very small and spare, too hot, no coffee maker, no phone, no TV or radio. All we had for entertainment was every sound our neighbors made. We were put on the ground floor so to have any privacy we had to leave our black out curtains closed (no sheers or blinds). We asked for an upstairs room - not possible...but we were told to check back later because sometimes people don't like the rooms and leave (forfeiting the price of a night's stay.) In fairness, the light fixtures were nice - arts and crafts design.
We were at Asilomar for a family reunion. We asked that our room be near others in our group. We were spread out from each other as much as was possible. Thanks Asilomar!
We rented a meeting room for the weekend but we were told we couldn't bring in our own food, even with a promise to clean up. Asilomar catering wanted all the business. Their prices were too high for many of our family members, so instead of the freedom of mingling in THE ROOM WE RENTED, we went to a pizza place (Gianni's - good choice) where we were able to talk only with the people seated nearby. Their policy is Understandable, but not at all helpful, and shouldn't we have some control over the room we rented?
The reunion was great, Asilomar was not.

Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

453 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    152
    96
    46
    52
See reviews for
113
132
24
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The rooms are not luxurious, no telephones, no TV but with an oceanview room, you can sit on the porch and view the ocean for your entertainment. It is in the most beautiful location, directly across from Asilomar beach. You can take a morning stroll down pathways directly to the beach,or walk on the property itself. It's a place to unwind, really unwind. And, by the way, their restaurant is really good as well.

Room Tip: Oceanview rooms are the best
See more room tips
Green Features: This hotel prides itself in being very green and it's easy to fall into this pattern as a guest.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

"Rustic" means dormitory room like with no amenities. Thin walls, no coffee machine. Nothing is upgraded. No new soap or shampoos provided each day. No phone = no customer service since you cannot call the front desk. Misleading reviews saying it is good for family reunions with children. This is a place for adults looking for a quiet getaway.

Minimal customer service in the dining hall for large families with children. No kids' menu, or even plastic cups/straws for young children. They refuse to seat your large party together if you are not all present at the same time.
Mistakenly advertised with the word "resort".

We did find the grounds beautiful and enjoyed the nature walks with deer, and boardwalk path to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Asilomar is one of my favorite places to stay when I want to stay in quiet surroundings. It sits on
over 100 acres of beautiful ecologically diverse landscaping with deer, raccoons, and different kinds of birds. There are paths that are easy to walk on that are suitable for wheelchairs, or the
elderly all which lead to the beach which is across the street. The rooms are rather plain, but
are clean with private baths and some have balconies. Parking is along the windy streets, or
in a couple of garages. There is a beautiful rustic lodge with a television, small café, Ping-Pong
table, with a huge fireplace that is great to relax by. There's also outdoor tables so you can enjoy
picnic lunches, or to sit and visit. The grounds are well kept up, and there's lots of wooden paths
that lead to the beach which is across the street from Asilomar State Park.

Sometimes breakfasts are included in the room price, but if you get a special room rate don't
expect a free breakfast. The dining lodge and small café in the main lodge are both quite expensive. You can find a quaint little restaurant in Pacific Grove for less money, but its advisable to bring your favorite snacks to snack on because there aren't grocery stores close
by in Pacific Grove. There is a Trader Joe's in Monterey with other markets, but having snacks
and extra beverages available without having to run out to find markets will make your trip more
enjoyable.

There's so much to see and do in the area. If your a walker, there's a great path across the
street from Asilomar that leads into all the shops and sights in Monterey. It's a beautiful walk
along the beach with great views of sea life and the surf. There's also biking along the area,
with access close by to the l7-mile drive.

We have been coming to this conference grounds for many years. There have been great
improvements, but the prices keep going up. Try to book ahead and look for their specials
which come up mid-week throughout the year........so much to do in the area, a few minutes
from Carmel, and other wonderful sites. Have fun!

Room Tip: Request a balcony room Ask for a room that is close to parking Try to get breakfast included in th...
See more room tips
Green Features: They encourage short showers and to stay on the walking paths so you don't damage the sand dunes.
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
virginia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Asilomar is pretty basic. Room decor isn't modern, but it's clean and spacious. The main lodge building is very cool- arts and crafts kind of architecture. There is a fireplace and some pool tables that we enjoyed. Breakfast was very tasty. The big deal is the location. Five minute walk to the beach and tide pools. Close to restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

We recently spent a few nights in the Whitecaps set of rooms. We had read the other reviews and were a little nervous about the number of times we saw "rustic" used. There are no TV's or phones in rooms, but all have a private bathroom (one thing I was worried about). There aren't a lot of amenities here but we thought it was just perfect for a few days. We liked the breakfast in their cafeteria and that everyone gets directed to a table with others. That helped us meet many of the other guests. We also really enjoyed the main social hall's pool and ping-pong tables. Cute gift shop where I picked up a few presents and souvenirs. The cafeteria in the social hall has limited hours and we thought was a little pricey, but Trader Joe's and Safeway are within a short drive for supplies.
The property is right next to the beach and we really liked how eco-friendly the resort was. The boardwalk to the beach was done in a way to protect the fragile ecosystem. We spent a couple of hours exploring the tide pools and beach. We all said we'd definitely go back, though next time we'd try to rent a cabin for more space.

Room Tip: If you are traveling with family, try to rent a cabin for extra space and a fireplace. It was very c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

I was here for a week for a conference. The rooms are motel like. The rooms are plain and the setting is bucolic. There are no televisions and the wifi is spotty at best. the housekeeping staff is rather inefficient and I had the impression that the room was never very clean. The food was prepared by Aramak and it reminded me of better than average cafeteria food that we had in college. I would never choose this site if I had a choice

Room Tip: I do not think that there is a good room but the grounds are beautiful
See more room tips
Green Features: The entire resort is eco friendly. They encourage both water and laundry conservation.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Address: 800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asilomar Conference Grounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.