We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Motel quality rooms on lovely site” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Asilomar Conference Grounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Asilomar Conference Grounds to your Saves list
Asilomar Conference Grounds
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Cambridge, MA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Motel quality rooms on lovely site”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Reasonable place for low-budget group meeting or conference. Individual rooms are spare; little decoration, no phone, no tv. They are what I'd expect of a $60/night motel, except for the location. Food (cafeteria style) is good enough. Conference rooms are good-sized and can be set up to meet your needs. Large social hall (for check-in, socializing, coffee shop) is very nice. Best to come here if you will be involved in an indoor activity all day, or if you can arrange for good weather. Unfortunately, "summer" weather is typically cool to cold, breezy to windy, and cloudy to gray. Easy walk to ocean or pool, but neither is inviting for a swim when it's 61 degrees out and gray.

Room Tip: Rooms on the registration/social hall side of the road are closer to the dining hall, the beach, and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    178
    114
    54
    57
See reviews for
141
149
26
128
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

I'm not going to bash this place because I actually like it. The problem is this place needs lots of TLC to make it a "great spot". The rooms are big, the beds are clean and comfortable, the site is one of the best in the area...beach, trees, meeting rooms abound. The problem I was concerned with is the buildings need better care. The siding, the trims, the fascia all need nailing to re-secure them. The doors all need repainting. The parking garages have more storage of furniture than cars. Most of the woods both interior and exterior can be salvaged by applying a sealer but they have not been touch in what I imagine the day they were installed. The cedar shingle, siding & trims are all deteriorating from many year of no maintenance.

I notices too, that many of the exterior doors were propped open with rocks - clearly a security issue. In walking around I found many of the meeting rooms unlocked which is fine I guess but if I were an end user and had materials in them I would be concerned. And oddly, the ice machines are not in each building. You have to go on walk about to find them. The room didnt have a table but there were chairs...?

The Staff were very friendly and helpful. I found them ready to serve and always with a smile. Quite hours begin at 9 PM so be aware of this or you will receive a knock on the door kindly reminding you of this... :P

It's cheap, it's well located and it has a few quirks!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calif
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Beautiful setting, rooms and buildiings lack sound proofing and need universal design updating (example; faucet handles). Food service offers few-to-no Vegetarian options, though one can purchase these for a substantial price in on-site Phoebe's Cafe.

If ocean-side proxiimity is your goal and you don't seek fine food and don't mind irooms that feel and sound like a Motel 8, this is your place.


  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Difficult for backpackers to find good value for money in California, especially in this area, around big sur. Asilomar is a very cosy place with great respect for nature. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We stayed another night because we liked it so much! Fast free wifi, nice cosy lounge with huge fire place, true american breakfast in a big hall making new friends along the big tables.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eugene, Oregon
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

Asilomar is a lovely lovely retreat, a wonderful excape from the tourism of the Monterey area. This was a YWCA camp from the 1920's and some of the historic lodges date from that time. Many others are much newer. The place has the feel of the old National Park lodges, like Yellowstone or Crater Lake. There is a huge central hall with wonderful chairs for reading and a huge fireplace, a cafe, pool tables. Great to hang out. Although the historic rooms are small, they are impeccably clean, and there is a large community living room in each lodge, with sofas and fireplaces. Very comfortable. The breakfast were outstanding! Delicious food, hot or cold choices. A definite highlight. Place also has a very nice pool and close access to Pacific Grove and Monterey. But best of all is the location. It is a large sprawling property on the dunes and among the trees. Crossing the street, you are right on Asilomar State Beach with sandy stretch, tide pools and walking trails. It is quiet and peaceful at Asilomar and being so large, I was surprised by the number of people at breakfast. We were there for July 4, and they had live music group and a bonfire with Some-mores and hot cider. Well done. We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Asilomar. It is not fancy, but that is it's charm.

Room Tip: The historic rooms are small with hardwood floors. Other rooms are much larger and newer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, ca
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
47 hotel reviews
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I stayed here for five days for a conference. There were plenty of good things:

--I asked for a quiet room and (eventually) got a corner room that even had a partial view of the ocean
--the room was spacious, bright, with a very comfortable bed, good quality linens, and lots of space for laptop, etc.
--housekeeping did a great job
--food was fresh and delicious (I am a picky vegetarian) with lots of variety and good service in dining room
--the grounds were beautiful

Unfortunately, the staff at this place are not properly trained. When I arrived around 1:00, I explained that I had been ill and needed to rest. I added that I am 66 years old. The young girl at reception could have cared less. She did not even offer to check to see if my room was available. Even at 3 star hotels like Marriott, where I have attended many conferences, the desk clerk will at least check to see if a room is clean and available--especially for an older person who is feeling tired and ill. The girl asked me to wait to talk with her supervisor. I had lunch at the little cafe in the lobby and went back to talk with the supervisor--also a very young woman. She did not offer to check to see if my room was ready. Instead, she was quite rude and said that keys would be available for my conference in 3 hours. I told her I was recovering from bronchitis. She could care less. Finally, I asked to speak with a manager. At that point she brought out my keys and said I could check in. This young woman's attitude was worse than rude and unprofessional--it was obstructionist. And this from a place for which I had paid for an upgraded room at a cost of $250 per night. This kind of thing is unheard of at a well-managed resort that wants to attract conference attendees.

There were some other issues with staff. Calling the front desk for anything (like a taxi) was an ordeal. They were always "with a customer."
As much as i liked the room and the lovely grounds, I would never go back.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you love nature and historical buildings, Asilomar is the place for you. You'll sleep in comfy beds while being craddled by the sound of the nearby ocean and you may awaken to the sight of deer grazing under your windows. Breakfast is great. And, the staff is very friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Address: 800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asilomar Conference Grounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.