We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Catherine C., " A very nice escape by the sea"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Asilomar Conference Grounds

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Asilomar Conference Grounds to your Saves list
Asilomar Conference Grounds
2.0 of 5 Resort   |   800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed & Breakfast Package
Ranked #10 of 17 Hotels in Pacific Grove
GreenLeadersGold level
Davis, California
1 review
“Catherine C., " A very nice escape by the sea"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

If you love nature and historical buildings, Asilomar is the place for you. You'll sleep in comfy beds while being craddled by the sound of the nearby ocean and you may awaken to the sight of deer grazing under your windows. Breakfast is great. And, the staff is very friendly, and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

451 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    151
    96
    45
    52
See reviews for
112
132
24
110
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chico, California
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

My family met for a weekend stay and we really enjoyed the conference grounds. We stayed in Tree Tops. The rooms are dorm style with two double beds and two desks w/chairs and a common area where we enjoyed a fire and played board games. No television or phone makes it a true get-away. I'm a little tall for a double bed so my feet hung over the end and my bedside light didn't work (lightbulb was fine, the socket was the problem) so that was a bummer. We loved the family-style dining and the proximity to the beach. I was able to find a great deal on Travelzoo.com so we had free breakfasts and a discounted rate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rohnert Park, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

If you are looking to get what you pay for, for your $200/night stay, this is not it. This is basically "camping" with a room and bathroom. The area is lovely, there is beach access, a nice lounging area inside and good breakfast. The rooms are big and accomodate 5 people. The carpets are disgusting, the bathrooms are old and dingy. The house keeping is awful. There was a crushed bug in the carpet when we got there, a dead moth on the carpet in the bathroom, hairs in the sink, dirt under the sinks and our toilet wasn't cleaned. The front desk was apologetic and got the toilet cleaned right away. We were there with a large family, but not a conference. They wanted to charge $95/hour for use of the BBQ's so we had to find a park instead.
Plus side: beach access and nice beach
large, heated swimming pool
good, hot breakfast with 2 main choices
brand new beds with brand new bedding
clean towels
large areas to sit with large families
Negative: filthy floors
large property- takes awhile to walk to anything (fine for us, our kids are older and we had no seniors with walking problems with us)
old, dirty bathrooms
awful housekeeping
not all rooms have fireplaces and we couldn't request it
no fridges or microwaves
no TV or phone in rooms
no fitness center
no room service
Bottom line, if you want fancy camping, you should find a less expensive place.
Cost is way to much for the room quality and lack on amenities

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We had a family reunion here for the second time and it was great! You can book rooms so that you are all in the same area and the fact that you can all eat together in the dining hall is great.
It is just a short walk to the beach and the tide pools and only a 10 minute drive to Monterey.
This year we had a little fireplace in our room that we could use for heat at night which made the experience just a little more special.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthem, Arizona
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

We've been coming to Asilomar for many years and were not surprised with the rustic accommodations, easy beach access and stunning location. The cafe in the social hall is a great addition particularly for the odd tea, coffee or snack, but be prepared for resort pricing!

For the first time we rented bicycles for a half day and rode along the ocean front to Seaside and back. This is to be thoroughly recommended and the pricing for the bikes was quite reasonable.

Our room was in the Manzanita building and was very large, spacious and quiet. It is a bit of a walk to the main areas of Asilomar particularly in the cold and damp fog of a morning, but we enjoyed the seclusion of the room.

A couple of issues with our visit:

-the guide in the room indicates there are safe deposit boxes at the front desk--there are none

-some front desk staff are in need of customer service training. They are often quite offhand and unhelpful with enquiries.

In summary, Asilomar has not changed that much over the years and we got what we expected from our visit--peace, renewal and fantastic access to the coast.

Room Tip: Try for a room in one of the more modern buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, Nebraska
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

I led a group of 50 high school youth and adult leaders from Nebraska on a mission trip to central California. We do this every summer, and this year, our flights took us through San Francisco. I wanted the group to be able to enjoy the coast, so we booked our two nights stay after our mission trip at Asilomar. It far exceeded my expectations. The area is beautiful and it was an amazing experience to walk to the ocean and enjoy it's beauty. The teens loved that, and also the "camp" atmosphere of gathering around a bonfire at night or sitting in the lodge and enjoying some board games, card games or shooting pool.

The breakfast was incredible, but the times it is served are limited. I would suggest that they expand these times to accommodate those that need to leave early. The staff was very helpful and saw to our every need. When we found out we would miss our second breakfast, they arranged for us to exchange our breakfast coupons for a s'mores and hot chocolate feast around a bonfire.

The rooms are rustic and older. Don't expect the Hilton when going to Asilomar, but we appreciated having 4 separate beds for our group in every room. The rooms were spacious and another nice aspect was having the shower, toilet and sink all in different rooms. That allowed for the groups in each room to get ready quickly in the morning. The beds were comfortable and the kids loved their stay, as did I.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove, California
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Serene, beautiful and very peaceful. The rooms are fairly large, simple (nothing fancy-very cabin like) and very clean. The beds are comfortable. Asilomar is right across from the beach, in a forested setting with lots of wildlife. The swimming pool is large and clean. The breakfasts are healthy with much of the produce locally grown.

Room Tip: we stayed upstairs in the "Deer Lodge". It was further from the main lodge, but very quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Asilomar Conference Grounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asilomar Conference Grounds

Address: 800 Asilomar Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Asilomar Conference Grounds 2*
Number of rooms: 312
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Asilomar Conference Grounds reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asilomar Conference Grounds Hotel Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Grounds Pacific Grove
Asilomar Conference Center
Asilomar Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Asilomar Conference Grounds, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.