We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit over the top but really pleasant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn to your Saves list
Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   643 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Second Night Free!
Ranked #4 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A bit over the top but really pleasant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2007

We found the place very twee, lots of roses on the wallpaper including the ceiling, and teddy bears everywhere, but our stay there was really pleasant. We were in the Dr. Hart room which was an incredible bargain for a large and really comfortable room, the bed was superb, and the service was excellent, food lovely especially breakfast, and lots of complimentary things. The staff were really warm and hospitable. It was much nicer than a standard hotel for half the cost, and we would highly recommend it. The area is great as well, with two superb restaurants - Passionfish and The Cellar, just beside the Inn. You can walk to Cannery Row from there and the views are brilliant.

  • Liked — comfort of room, food, and frienliness of staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    92
    35
    7
    2
See reviews for
28
196
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
186 helpful votes 186 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2007

We booked here for one night before our flight home.This is your quaint Victorian grandma's house.(the kind you know most men hate except if they're gay).Gosby Inn is on a nice street with great places to eat nearby.It was nice to get some cake and sherry in the afternoon when we arrived.Our room was so samll and very hard to move around but it looked out on the garden.I cant say anything about breakfast as we had to leave very early. So it was not worth the extra money for it to be included but it was a nice different place to stay


  • Liked — personality,location
  • Disliked — room too small
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2007

Room nine is clean, quiet and comfortable, but the food is not very good. Go to Toasties for breakfast. Real nice location in a real nice town..

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2007

Our stay at the Gosby House was disapointing. I paid $130 for one night's stay and found the room to be intolerbaly small for two people to enjoy with any freedom. Wine and cheese were suppossed to be served at 430 pm but was presented was embarrassing. I am by no means a wine connoisseur, but the wine served was terrible. Additionally, there was no cheese. The was a small vegetable platter as well as what must have been an attempt at strawberry cheese cake. The next morning at breakfast the only thing remotely edible was the cold cereal. The oatmeal was cold, and a very sad attempt at a frittata was equally tepid and lifeless. For this much money and less, I have stayed at some wonderful B&B's with outstanding breakfast service. Here the room was tiny, and the food was awful. Lastly, we are a couple in our mid-twenties, and everyone else staying there was at least thirty years older. It is not the place for the younger romantics. Ultimately, I would have much prefered at staying at somewhere closer to the water and going to breakfast.

  • Liked — Good Location
  • Disliked — Small Room, Food was awful
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2007

We got lost getting to Pacific Grove, not because of the directions, but because of my bad sense of direction. A call to Gosby House and we were guided to the Gosby House. Even though we did not arrive until 7:00 p.m., our luggage was taken to our room and we were given a tour. Sherry was served. Each evening a variety of hors d'oeuvres and wine were available. It was an opportunity to met some of the guests... What a treat.
We stayed in the Carriage House. Our room had a spa tub for two, fireplace and balcony. There were so many complimentary services. Our beds were turned down in the evening, chocolates placed on the pillows and a beautiful rose placed on the bed. Soft terry cloth robes were provided. The towels were soft and large. Breakfast in the morning was self serve. The first morning, blueberry crepes were served. Yum!! The second morning scrambled eggs with cheese and red bell peppers. Both mornings oatmeal was available and fresh fruit. Granola was also on the menu. Cranberry juice, orange juice, coffee and a wonderful variety of teas were there. Also served were these awesome muffins with pineapple. Oh I forgot the evening cake and cookies. Both nights the cakes were unbelievable.
The staff was attentive and informative. We are looking forward to another stay in the near future.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modesto, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

We stayed at the Green Gables our first night in the area and two nights at the Gosby. Both have many similarities. We selected the carriage house room here also and it was smaller than at the Green Gables but about $100.00 less. We had a nice sitting area in front of the fireplace, a small refrigerator here that we did not have at the Green Gables, a large bathroom with a jacuzzi tub, shower, separate toilet and a private porch overlooking a street with homes. The parking was a bit of a problem here but we made it work. The Inn itself has a smaller area for eating and so one morning we could not find a table to sit and eat so returned to our room and waited about 10 minutes. The breakfast here included an egg dish with muffins, cereals, and juice and the second day we had blueberry blinis that were wonderful. The wine and tea in the afternoon was variable: the first day we had a huge assortment of cheeses, crackers, nuts, cookies, cake, and vegetables but the second day we had only pasta salad, vegetables, and cake. There was wine, coffee, and tea available and help was good about refilling things.
The Gosby is in downtown Pacific Grove within walking distance of several restaurants but not near the ocean. They have bicycles available to use.
It was a good experience and a lovely place to stay. I would definitely recommend it.

  • Liked — Lovely room
  • Disliked — parking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collegeville, PA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2007

Very nice B&B. The house is beautiful and the location is wonderful for visiting Monterey, 17-mile drive, Pacific Grove. Easily within walking distance of restaurants and Ocean View Drive. The service was warm and friendly. The afternoon snacks were very good. We only wished we had been able to spend more time. Our room was small, but I knew that when I booked (they were very honest over the phone about the differences in accomodation choices). The websites showed no vacancy for the night we wanted, but a small disclaimer at the bottom said to call just in case. We did and they were able to accomodate us with a non-advertised room at a slightly lower rate.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn

Address: 643 Lighthouse Avenue, Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the Monterey Peninsula, the Gosby House Inn in Pacific Grove has been welcoming guests for over 100 years. This cheerful yellow and white Victorian mansion, with its carefully tended gardens and central patio, sets the standard for gracious innkeeping. Restaurants, shops and a scenic shoreline walking and biking path are just a few blocks from the Gosby House Inn, the choice for romance on the Monterey Peninsula.This Four Sisters Inn blends the modern luxuries and sophisticated services of a boutique hotel with the traditional amenities and architecture of a B & B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gosby House Inn - a 4 Sisters Inn
Gosby House Inn - a Four Sisters Hotel Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gosby House Inn - A Four Sisters Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.