We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victorian sea view cottage steps from the sea” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates 20% Off!
Ranked #1 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Victorian sea view cottage steps from the sea”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2014 via mobile

We rented the "Sea View Cottage" room which is a 2 bedroom suite with reduced rate if you only use one of the bedrooms. The room was large and had 2 fireplaces that kept it romantic and warm on chilly seaside nights. The bed was large and comfortable and the bathroom was cavernous. An added bonus for this room is a private courtyard off the main bedroom complete with a fountain and a pretty flower garden. The service at the hotel was friendly and relaxed. We particularly enjoyed the afternoon wine and cheese service hosted by Rosita.

The are two reasons why I wouldn't rate our experience truly 5 stars. Firstly the room is spectacular but the sea view is obstructed by another building on the property. This blocks a true view of the sea from anywhere in the cottage except for the front entrance. Other rooms in the inn have perfect unobstructed views of the coast as the inn is right on the water. So if a sea view from your sitting room is high on your priority list I wouldn't pay extra for the sea (obstructed) view cottage. The second reason why we rated it 4 not 5 stars is because of the breakfast. The selection was limited and it felt like it was an "institutional" preparation that didn't fit with the small, intimate B&B feeling of the hotel. A little more gourmet attention to detail and personal choices would have made breakfast more of a highlight for us.

The location of the hotel is perfect and I think it is better situated to walk to some of the good restaurants in downtown Pacific Grove than other inns.

Enjoy!

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    40
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
304
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Findon
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Perfectly placed to make the most of the peninsular - an easy stroll East along the coast path to Monterey past enchanting families of harbour seals, and inland to the centre of Pacific Grove. Stunning views, charming and helpful staff, an opportunity to meet fellow guests over a leisurely breakfast and the most immaculate rooms and grounds you could hope to come across anywhere! The Flatley family deserve to be proud of their Inn - relax and enjoy it!

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Very pleasant stay. Great room and facilities. Fantastic view, in fact the best view we have ever experienced. Very friendly staff. Nice idea to have wine and cheese tasting every evening, very relaxing atmosphere.
Let down slightly by breakfast where chaos ensued. Not enough tables/seats if all guests head down around the same time, happened twice during our visit, which also resulted in waiting for food to arrive. If they can sort out their breakfast process, five stars would be on the horizion.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a good sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
newport coast
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Everything about our stay at the Seven Gables was perfect. The room (Fairmount) was lovely with sea view, stained glass and comfy bed. The wine reception was great with yummy cheeses, crackers and local wines. The cookies at 8:00 pm were delicious. The breakfasts were also delicious...the best crispy bacon I have ever had! Every window looked out onto to the gorgeous coastline. Mama harbor seals were giving birth on a beach nearby. And every single person we encountered was delightful and helpful! Pacific Grove is a gem and the Seven Gables is now our favorite place to stay there!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Coquitlam, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

My mother has wanted to go to this hotel for over 25 years, as it reminded her of our favourite movie, Anne of Green Gables. The guest house was immaculate and cozy as could be. The breakfast was very nice, and we loved the cheese and wine hour (and how impressively the hostesses dealt with an unruly guest), and taking some cookies to our cottage before bed. The view was amazing from our window and the beach walking to fisherman's wharf was littered with mom and baby seals - we couldn't have asked for a better time. Also, the restaurants around were great and the hostess was happy to make reservations for us. Would definitely go back and would highly recommend (especially for a girls' weekend).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foothill Ranch, California
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Even tho the 7 Gables Inn at Pacific Grove is not hidden, the area surrounding it is. I have never heard of the town until a co-worker told me about it. What an amazing place. We were given a wedding gift of staying at the Inn and we are so happy they did. The Inn is Amazing! Great views, good food, and a great room. We stayed in the Rocky Shores room. Everything was good about the room. My only comment was the fact that the windows were higher in our room more so than the other rooms and the chairs were lower. So if you wanted to see out and see more of the coastline, you should either stay in another room or sit in the alcove in that room. This is not a negative comment but an observation. We will stay there again but we will pick a room on the 2nd floor of the "Beach House" bldg. The staff was excellent! We were going to miss the warm cookies and milk one night and asked the staff about that and they brought them up to our room. On the day we were leaving the head chef asked us if we wanted to take a couple of apples for the road. Very nice indeed!

Room Tip: The Beach house bldg., has great views and if you want to see more of the coast line and not the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

This is an incredibly beautifully appointed inn situated on a lovely point overlooking the Pacific. From the custom drapes to the unique and beautiful leaded glass throughout, everything is lovely, pristinely clean and thoughtfully arranged. Truly a world class inn.

Stayed April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1886. Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this elegant inn. Sunsets accent the surrounding mountains. The natural beauty is complemented by a selection of comfortable rooms, all with ocean views, in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Stay in the three-story 1886 Main House, Beach House, Guest House, one of the garden cottages or the private and spacious Jewell Cottage or Sea View Cottage suites. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.