We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just What We Expected” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates 20% Off!
Ranked #1 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Harrison, Arkansas
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Just What We Expected”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

We had high expectations for the Seven Gables Inn and they were certainly met. Our room was very nice, and the bed was one of the most comfortable we've ever slept in. The breakfast both days was excellent, the staff was atttentive and friendly, and we enjoyed the evening wine and cheese, plus the cookies served at 8 p.m. The location is outstanding--right on the harbor and not far from Cannery Row in Monterey. We loved the area, and had two excellent meals at restaurants within walking distance. This is a first class B&B.

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    40
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
304
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

This is my wife's favorite place to stay in the Monterey area. It is a lovely Victorian home (actually two homes now and several outbuldings). It generally is very nice. The rooms are lovely and this time we stayed in one of the better view rooms. Breakfast is always good and for a B&B the rooms are fairly quiet. Staff was mostly nice and they have all the little perks--wine and cheese every afternoon, cookies at night, a nice note and chocolate bar acknowledging our anniversary. About the only negative is they have little reminders that everything is for sale--the robes, pillows, even the sheets. It detracts from the overall atmosphere. They could stop that and just tell people who ask that you can buy the sheets if you want.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

... are the three most important things in real estate, and this place has all three. The location across the road from the bay just can't be beat. The breakfasts are good, but the real value here is the exclusiveness of the location in a town that is exclusive to begin with. There is some occasional noise due to car stereos from some of the less classy tourists passing by, but the cool ocean breezes and the excellent ocean views from the breakfast room make this the premium place to stay in Pacific Grove.

This was our second time. The first time, we stayed in the Carriage House room. This time it was not immediately available, so at first we had to "settle" for the Gables Room, which is right at the top of the house. The ceilings are low and angular - it's like a child's fantasy playroom - but if you mind your head you'll be OK. We were afraid that the room might be too hot - few places in Pacific Grove have air conditioning, and this one does not - but the many windows allowed a pleasant breeze to blow through, and let in the sound of the ocean at night. The view over the bay was premium. The king bed was wonderful.

The charming Laila is in charge of the Inn, and she runs a tight ship. Thankfully.

Room Tip: Some rooms can be seen into from the ground floor of the Inn, so choose carefully or close the drape...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

From the room, to the grounds, to the staff and the breakfasts and afternoon wine and cheese, the SGI nails it. We were in the Rocky Shores room the first weekend in August. the room has spectular views from two windows. We left the windows open only to fall asleep to the waves hitting the rocks. The bed was great and the room well appointed. Breakfasts were wonderful, loved the grits and french toast. The staff was friendly, professional and responsive. I can't think of what they could have done better.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

It was really wonderful I was very satisfied during my stay. The view was excellent ,the rooms were very comfortable .whenever I have time I want to go there and recommend you to stay there especially for your private days. The breakfast and wine and cheese at 4 was perfect. It wont be the last , two nights werent enough . The wines which I bought were delicious. I hardly advise you to spend some time there and share amazing view with your friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Just returned from another wonderful stay at Seven Gables. Have family in the area, so we've stayed there a half dozen times, at least - twice a year for the past 3. Never disappointed. Accommodations are wonderfully comfortable; incredible location with views from every room; fabulous breakfasts that never disappoint; and the staff is absolutely first rate!

Room Tip: There are NO bad rooms here. Have stayed in several. All are well appointed, quiet, private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I traveled California's central coast in honor of our 25th wedding anniversary. I wanted one "splurge" stay, and this was it. (Otherwise, it was Best Westerns, Holiday Inns, etc.) We were NOT disappointed. From check-in to check-out, everything was wonderful, from the very personalized room introduction to the delicious breakfast to the response to my request to use the iron and ironing board. Some reviewers mentioned the "extreme" rules, but they didn't bother me. Not allowed to burn candles in the room? Purchase battery-powered flickering lights from Wal Mart; they're a sexy treat and create a great ambiance. The linens and pillows are wonderful -- so cozy. I loved waking up and seeing that beautiful chandelier, paneled curtains, and that priceless view of the bay. This was our first stay in a B&B. How will any other ever compare?

Room Tip: Seascape provided a terrific bay view and good cross ventilation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1886. Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this elegant inn. Sunsets accent the surrounding mountains. The natural beauty is complemented by a selection of comfortable rooms, all with ocean views, in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Stay in the three-story 1886 Main House, Beach House, Guest House, one of the garden cottages or the private and spacious Jewell Cottage or Sea View Cottage suites. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.