We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates 20% Off!
Ranked #1 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Overland Park, Kansas, United States
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Gorgeous property, beautifully decorated. We stayed in the Fairllawn room. It was small, but nice. The bed was wonderful. The sheets were amazing. Best bed ever. Binoculars in every room, and in the living area, so you could take advantage of the ocean front space. The staff was super friendly. Parking is on the street, although they do have a small lot, we never got a space. But street parking very close and easy, even on a weekend. Breakfast was fabulous. We stayed two nights, one morning with a savory option, the next morning, sweet. They have an evening reception with different wines and appetizers, very nice, and tided us over until a later dinner. The have fresh made cookies and milk in the evening. We made it back early enough one night in time for snicker doodles.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    40
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
304
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

If you are interested in experiencing Victorian elegance with a spectacular ocean view than Seven Gables Inn is your answer. This property is one of the best we stayed at in all of our travels. The location is great and every room has a view to the beach and the ocean. The property is pristinely maintained and the staff is friendly and helpful. Every room offers a different experience and décor lots of beautiful leaded glass windows with antique furniture and a wonderful relaxing atmosphere. The beds are really comfortable which makes the experience very relaxing. The Inn is excellently located nearby the Monterey Aquarium, beaches, the 17 mile road and shopping areas. The location has great paths for walking or biking along the coast line. The staff has thought of everything including making sure there is a set of binoculars in every room so that you can enjoy the seals and dolphins frolicking in the water. The main area of the Inn is nicely appointed and allows for afternoon wine and cheese while enjoying the beautiful view. The breakfast every morning was outstanding with a great number of choices and great service. Lots of nice restaurants within walking distance with a variety of choices. Top it all off with cookies and great coffee waiting in the main house in the evening. We had a wonderful time and have decided to make Seven Gables Inn a place to come back every year. We highly recommend the Seven Gables for a wonderful relaxing experience. By the way they clean the windows very often so you always get a perfect view - outstanding.

Room Tip: Every room is outstanding but the Beach House has some of the best views and breakfast is served on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

The premises are beautiful--very clean and very well attended. The breakfast every morning was outstanding and the attention to detail was wonderful. Every morning there were different things to choose from as well as established favorites. Arthur, at the front desk, was especially helpful. We wanted to pack some fragile items to take with us on our journey home and he went out of his way to find boxes for all of them, with a wonderful, cheerful smile, as always..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salida, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We recently stayed for the memorial day weekend. What an amazing place. Service was top notch. The Seascape room was comfortable, well furnished and made us feel like royalty.
Morning breakfast was always amazing. Food fresh, tasty, and plentiful. Wine and cheese in the afternoon was something we will remember.
All the guest were amazing. Something about staying in a bed and breakfast that brings out the best in people. We meet people from all over the united states. Many of them were repeat visitors to the Inn.
Above all, the staff was amazing. From the desk, the meals, to the service staff, this is without a doubt the best experience I've had. I am planning on returning simply because of the highly quality and standards of the staff. Above and beyond my expectations.
I could go on for quite a while, but lets sum it up. Amazing staff, room, view, food, and location. What more could a couple ask for!!!!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms have a view of Monterey Bay. Simply choose your price range and you won't be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Seven Gables B &B was first class all the way. The rooms were clean and quiet. The breakfasts which are included were delicious and service was superb. We receieved a tour on arriving and offered assistance in every way. I would highly recommend this B & B with awesome views of the ocean. All the staff are friendly and always ready to help.

Room Tip: Request a room with an ocean view it is worth the extra cost. No swimming pool. No exercise centre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is the second time that my husband and I have spent time at this fantastic Victorian B&B. Each time we stay we are amazed at the first rate service and relaxing atmosphere; this is one place that we want to come back to again and again. Within a easy stroll to the Monterey Bay Aquarium and some really wonderful eateries. The Lover's Point park is delightful, the vistas awesome, and the service and breakfast at the in first rate. This is the "posh" place that you always dreamed of. Each room is delightfully appointed and decorated in period décor. The grounds are quaint and charming. The main house (the original home) is spectacular and you will feel pampered and fussed over by the evening turn-down service, afternoon wine and cheeses, and late night homemade cookies and milk. Every room has binoculars to whale watch, otter watch, people watch, and sailboat watch to your hearts content. We even borrowed our pair for the 17 mile drive to Carmel which starts at the Inn. We can't recommend the Seven Gables enough!

Room Tip: Views from the main house are spectacular! Truly, not a bad room in the Inn.
See more room tips
Green Features: The behind the scenes eco-friendly features of this Inn do not leave you feeling any less pampered!
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Our stay here was wonderful. We were in the carriage house which was away from the main house but this made it very romantic. The breakfast was very good and the afternoon snacks were so good we had to rush back every afternoon during our stay. And the view is fabulous.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1886. Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this elegant inn. Sunsets accent the surrounding mountains. The natural beauty is complemented by a selection of comfortable rooms, all with ocean views, in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Stay in the three-story 1886 Main House, Beach House, Guest House, one of the garden cottages or the private and spacious Jewell Cottage or Sea View Cottage suites. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.