We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, bucolic elegant B&B with amazing waterfront vistas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
lattingtown
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful, bucolic elegant B&B with amazing waterfront vistas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Spent a solitary night in Feb. Arrived very late. Room lovely, facing the ocean (Mariposa). The selection I made in choosing this overnight destination was a wise one. Delicious breakfast, drop dead gorgeous antiques and intrinsic details....................... Well appointed. Unfortunately missed the wine and cheese perk due to late arrival. No regrets. Cookies and wine left in my room !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a water front room. Why would one not????????????
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    370
    42
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
39
325
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

This was everything we thought this bed and breakfast would be. Great location, beautifully appointed rooms, great view of Monterrey Bay where we could watch the sea lions play from our sitting area in our room. The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the breakfast in the morning was delicious. We can't wait to go back next year!

Room Tip: Most every room has a great view of Monterrey Bay, but do your research because some rooms are large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

This was our third stay at the Seven Gables Inn, and all were memorable. As others have commented, the views from the rooms are spectacular, the gardens lovely and inviting, with a wine and cheese gathering in the late afternoon, and a next morning full breakfast served in a tastefully decorated and relaxing room with an incredible view of Lovers Point.

We stayed in the Breakers room our first night and followed this with the Bellevue the following day. Both of these are located on the second floor in the main house and each have their own individual perks. The ambiance of the Breakers room cozy gas fireplace was a nice and romantic touch for a winter evening, and the gable seating area window view gives a close up frontal look at the waves crashing on the rocks directly across the road from the inn. The bay type window also offers a nice but more distant view of Lovers Point to the left. The evening view is ok.

We preferred the Bellevue room because the window view sightline offers a 'stunning' view of the rugged coastline towards Monterey. The large center window offers a dead on look at the waves rushing in and breaking against the rock outcroppings in a beautiful cove. This cove is framed with an adjacent large Cypress tree and visually interesing winding path and road that really add to the look and sound of the moment. The later evening view is also wonderful with the distant lights of Seaside and Marina? across the water. The room has a large and comfy sofa seat for viewing, rather than the separate individual chairs that most of the other rooms have. The bed is also nicely centered on the dramatic evening view.

Our other favorite room at the Seven Gables is the Rocky Shores room, located on the third floor of the beach house. It offers separate and distinct great views of Lovers Point from the alcove window and also a great view of the coastline towards Monterey from the main room larger window. You can't go wrong choosing this room.

The ambiance and views of the inn, together with its proximity to all that Monterey and Pacific Grove offers, makes this a very worthy destination choice.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coarsegold, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We stayed in September 2012. We were in the Fairlawn room. They say its the smallest and cheapest room. Yes it is small BUT very private and beautiful. Has a private entrance and it opens directly to the front lawn with the park benches. We sat for hours in the lovely chairs in front of the huge bay windows and watched the ocean. Even though you are on the front bottom level,when you sink into those chairs the street disappears and all you see is ocean. Breakfast was to die for,excellent food and views in a beautiful dining room. The front desk lady Liala was the kindest most personable,lovely ,very helpful person! She had a way of making you feel like you were the most important person in the world.We are going again next week and staying in the Crespi room. I can hardly wait! The Mahaffys

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Beautifully restored Victorian right on the water in Pacific Grove. Gorgeous views. The staff was friendly and the breakfast was awesome! Try the chesse grits. Easy walking distance to the sites in Monterey.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, Ca
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We dicovered Seven Gables Inn on Yelp, which had high reveiws. My girlfriend and I were celebrating our two year anniversary and wanted to create a memory in a new area. Coming from Fullerton, we relied upon Yelp and Foursquare to plan our trip. From the moment of booking the room, we realized the right choice was made. The super friendly staff was more than accomidating and made our stay as if we were staying with family. Upon our arrival, we realized we had an amazing view of the Ocean, and a nice note from the staff of our Anniversary. The grounds were meticulous maintained, and the inner decor had a very keen eye of detail. We loved the breakfast and the view of "Lovers Point", while eating. We were also able to take advantage of the Wine and Champagne time, which lasted from 4-6, which allowed us to just simply talk and watch the sunset. Lastly, they made homemade cookies and served them with milk from 8-9pm. We also had a nightly turn down service which put chocolates on our pillows for the evening. J.R., the operations manager, also gave great insight for the better resturaunts to dine. Overall, we couldn't think of a better place to have stayed, we highly recommend the Seven Gables Inn.

Room Tip: Not all the rooms come with T.V.'s so if you want one, be sure to ask. It wasn't a problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Seven Gables three times and we are anxious to return as soon as possible. The hospitality and service are superb. The staff makes you feel as if you are the only guest in the Inn. We have stayed in both of the cottages and were extremely pleased with the decor and the cleanliness. This Inn exceeds all of our expectations. The food is fabulous and the servers make you feel like royalty. The grounds and views are spectacular. We cannot wait until we return again.

Room Tip: Jewel cottage has spectacular views and the Sea View cottage is great for privacy with it's own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1886. Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this elegant inn. Sunsets accent the surrounding mountains. The natural beauty is complemented by a selection of comfortable rooms, all with ocean views, in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Stay in the three-story 1886 Main House, Beach House, Guest House, one of the garden cottages or the private and spacious Jewell Cottage or Sea View Cottage suites. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.