We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Favorite Get Away” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Save Saved
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Seven Gables Inn
555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Orange, California
1 review
“Our Favorite Get Away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We have stayed at the Seven Gables three times and we are anxious to return as soon as possible. The hospitality and service are superb. The staff makes you feel as if you are the only guest in the Inn. We have stayed in both of the cottages and were extremely pleased with the decor and the cleanliness. This Inn exceeds all of our expectations. The food is fabulous and the servers make you feel like royalty. The grounds and views are spectacular. We cannot wait until we return again.

Room Tip: Jewel cottage has spectacular views and the Sea View cottage is great for privacy with it's own...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    39
    11
    4
    2
See reviews for
35
284
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at the Seven Gables Inn for our Anniversary last year. We were pleasantly surprised by the nice note and ornament left on our bed when we got there. The grounds are so pretty and the room, the Cypress,was very nice with a spectacular view. The inside of the hotel was decorated with antiques and looked amazing at night. they had a great wine & cheese service in the evening and home baked cookies at night, although i wasn't fond of the taste. The location was also great because the ocean is across the street with a path that leads you to cannery row about a mile and a half walk away. The breakfast was better than satisfactory. The people working in the hotel were friendly and helpful. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed here in December over Christmas, after returning from our destination wedding in Cabo San Lucas. It was exactly what we needed to unwind and relax after a year of planning our wedding. We were welcomed with a nice note of congratulations with a delicious chocolate bar. This property has breathtaking views from every corner. We enjoyed waking up to gorgeous views from our room every morning. The breakfasts were great as were the afternoon wine tastings and late night cookies. We enjoyed walking to nearby areas like Cannery Row, and local restaurants. The staff here are very friendly and helpful. We love the Pacific Grove area and plan on returning here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitney, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We visited Pacific Grove and the Seven Gables Inn this past November. I cannot recommend this property enough. The setting is wonderful, the rooms are beautiful, and you will never sleep in a more comfortable bed. We also really enjoyed the breakfasts and the wine in the evenings. The staff was also outstanding.

Room Tip: We stayed in The Breakers - outstanding view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here back in 2009 in the Breakers room.. (see review) and was finally able to return again in January of this new year. This time I wanted to try the Gables room, which used to be the play attic. I just loved it! So private, cozy.. just what i needed for my alone time I much wanted. The accommodations, customer service and breakfast buffet are all still top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

How many time have you stayed here? It only takes one visit and you'll return again and again. So much makes this a special place. There's the history of the home, the magnificent views of Monterey Bay, the lovely gardens, the uniqueness of each room, the people who work there ensuring each moment is the best it can be, the excellent breakfasts, the afternoon social time, and let's not forget the 8:00 PM cookies! Individually, each of these are wonderful, but combined, they make for a little bit of heaven on Earth. Rather the first time or the tenth, one can't wait to get there, always sad to leave, and immediately planning for the next visit. For those reading this who haven't stayed here, you'll think I'm exaggerating; those who have stayed know I'm not.

Room Tip: I've stayed in seven different rooms, each as nice as the other. Each offering something specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This review is from our July 2012 visit.

My wife and I were meandering our way up the CA coast along PCH and wanted to stay somewhere nice, different and romantic between LA and SF. The Seven Gables Inn was all that if not more. Beautiful, quaint, clean, quiet, and with outstanding service and a spectacular view of Monterrey Bay.. the platitudes roll off the tongue with no end in sight.

With plenty of restaurants in the area we had no shortage of options. Breakfast was delicious. Our one and only complaint? Were were there only for one night. We will definitely be back the next time we pass through the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Breakers Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1886. Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this elegant inn. Sunsets accent the surrounding mountains. The natural beauty is complemented by a selection of comfortable rooms, all with ocean views, in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Stay in the three-story 1886 Main House, Beach House, Guest House, one of the garden cottages or the private and spacious Jewell Cottage or Sea View Cottage suites. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.