We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the best!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Rates Starting at $269
Ranked #1 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Still the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

I stayed here back in 2009 in the Breakers room.. (see review) and was finally able to return again in January of this new year. This time I wanted to try the Gables room, which used to be the play attic. I just loved it! So private, cozy.. just what i needed for my alone time I much wanted. The accommodations, customer service and breakfast buffet are all still top notch.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    383
    44
    13
    6
    2
See reviews for
40
338
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

How many time have you stayed here? It only takes one visit and you'll return again and again. So much makes this a special place. There's the history of the home, the magnificent views of Monterey Bay, the lovely gardens, the uniqueness of each room, the people who work there ensuring each moment is the best it can be, the excellent breakfasts, the afternoon social time, and let's not forget the 8:00 PM cookies! Individually, each of these are wonderful, but combined, they make for a little bit of heaven on Earth. Rather the first time or the tenth, one can't wait to get there, always sad to leave, and immediately planning for the next visit. For those reading this who haven't stayed here, you'll think I'm exaggerating; those who have stayed know I'm not.

Room Tip: I've stayed in seven different rooms, each as nice as the other. Each offering something specia...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

This review is from our July 2012 visit.

My wife and I were meandering our way up the CA coast along PCH and wanted to stay somewhere nice, different and romantic between LA and SF. The Seven Gables Inn was all that if not more. Beautiful, quaint, clean, quiet, and with outstanding service and a spectacular view of Monterrey Bay.. the platitudes roll off the tongue with no end in sight.

With plenty of restaurants in the area we had no shortage of options. Breakfast was delicious. Our one and only complaint? Were were there only for one night. We will definitely be back the next time we pass through the area.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Breakers Room and loved it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gilroy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

From time to time, we stay at high end hotels such as Ritz Carlton and The Seven Gables Inn in Monterey/Pacific Grove, California. Of all the hotels, this is the most luxurious setting with the absolute best rooms, many with an ocean view of Monterey Bay. Even the check-in is the best: You are escorted to your room, with all questions answered. The rooms have classic antique (or nearly so) furnishings, plush carpeting and draperies, and very comfortable beds, many with a clear view of the ocean which is within 50 meters of the hotel. The included breakfast is generous again, with open ocean views. I recommend at least a two night stay. I have also given such a stay as a gift, and the response afterwards always involves wide-eyed amazement and delight. Be aware that the hotel is two floors in several buildings, with no elevators, and not all rooms have bath tubs, if that matters to you. If you do this ONCE, you will be hooked. We travel world wide, but always find ourselves here, at least 4 times a year!

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room with ocean view-you can see every room online. Plan well ahead. Plan to b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Over the years I’ve stayed in various rooms at the Inn, this time I decided to try the Jewell Cottage.

Imagine my surprise when I walked in to find an actual cozy (ocean view) living room, with a gas fireplace and four walls. No merged rooms in this cottage. The kitchen was also a separate room. Very comfortable and cozy. Glad the owners resisted the urge to marry the kitchen with the living room to create an open-space family type room. I had forgotten how nice it is when rooms are all separated with actual walls.

The kitchen had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, plates, utensils, dining room table, four chairs and a nice area built into the counter for a laptop. No actual stove or oven but you won’t miss them.

A hallway from the kitchen leads to a large bedroom downstairs with a seating area and a large private bathroom. This bedroom also has a separate entrance.

The upstairs bedroom is accessed from a staircase off the kitchen. The master bedroom has a king size bed and two comfortable chairs for ocean viewing and a large bathroom with tub/shower combination.

The view of Monterey Bay from upstairs might not equal that of the Breaker’s, Gable or Rocky Shores rooms but you might find having a 42” television in the living room and the ability to make your own morning coffee a nice trade-off. I thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the fire, watching TV on a rainy night and watching the morning news with my coffee.

The extra space the cottage provides seems like a real plus for couples staying several days, others traveling together or those who wish a bit more privacy.

I have attached some photos of the Jewell Cottage and more are available if you wish to see them. Just email me!

As always, Laila at the front desk was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. I hope the owners realize what a gem they have with this girl!

The Inn was decorated for Christmas and sitting by the large tree in the Main Parlor, enjoying wine and cheese and chatting with other guests was very pleasant.

Everything is exceptionally clean in all rooms of the Inn and the grounds are well maintained. Every penny you spend staying at this incredible Inn is well worth it. I love this place and can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Breakers, Gable, Rocky Shores and Bellevue have the best views, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pacific Grove has always been one of our favorite destinations within the USA and Seven Gables Inn our favorite B&B. You will not be disappointed with your room here or the service. We enjoy the long walks along the recreation trail from Lovers Point to Cannery Row.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

While my husband and I really looked forward to staying at the Seven Gables on our trip up the coast, the inn was really a disappointment. The night prior we had stayed in Cambria at a delightful small inn which overlooked the water and where we could hear the waves lapping at the shore all night long. It was a wonderfully relaxing experience and they did everything right for much less money -- including not having you pay in advance for your room.

Not so here at the Seven Gables where our Seal Rocks Room was ridiculously small and it overlooked the main street so we had a very noisy experience. And if you didn't pull your blinds down anyone walking by could see you undressing or walking around in the room so there goes the view at night! Yes we could see seals lying on the rocks the next morning, but that was about the only good thing about the room and the Inn.

The Inn is very Victorian (which I used to love) but it is bordering on the overdone -- particularly with the excessive Christmas decorations. They are so paranoid about anyone destroying their furnishings that you can't even get an iron in your room (they claim they will set one up for you elsewhere). The bathroom was beyond small -- no place to put your makeup or toiletries and it was so tight only one person could use it at a time. And when you took a shower, the shower curtain just kept blowing into the bathtub and clinging to your body which grossed me out as it was probably full of bacteria. There were also little signs in the room trying to sell you everything -- a robe, candy, wine, T-shirt, etc. I don't want to be sold when I am trying to relax. They commercialized it way too much. The entire room was really small and there was only one bedside table.

Everywhere you went in the Inn outside of your room (the hallway, the front desk, etc.) they had little displays trying to sell you bathrobes and other monogrammed stuff from the hotel which I thought was tacky and the staff just tried way too hard to be over the top nice and friendly.

We had a long drive and just wanted to check in to our room and relax and were taken on this tour by a woman who proceeded to give us the history of the area and the inn which we didn't ask for or want. We just wanted to be shown to our room. There are also a lot of stairs (no elevators) and we had to schlepp our own bags up and down. Nobody offers to help you do that.

The best part of the Inn was the breakfast, but funnily enough, they promote they have big communal tables because they know everyone wants to chit chat and meet the other guests. The reality was that everyone was sitting at the few small tables because they just wanted to sit alone and have their breakfast in private and enjoy their own quiet thoughts in the morning. We got stuck at one of the big tables, but we were the only ones sitting there thankfully as everyone rushed to take the smaller tables. Mauro the waiter there was incredibly nice for breakfast and didn't try too hard like the others. I swear when I went to check out the person at the front desk kept asking if there was anything else I wanted as if he couldn't believe I wasn't going to buy a robe or gift certificate.

The wine and cheese in the afternoon were okay but the cookies at 8 p.m. were a disappointment. Also, when you just return from dinner who wants cookies? They should serve them at 3 or 4 p.m. instead.

The on-site parking was also not the best. They had just a few spots off street, yet they had these big pillars so if you parked your car between them (we had a small Nissan) you had to really wrangle yourself to get out of the car. My husband couldn't get in or out of the car when it was parked in their lot.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the water, it's going to be noisy and not very private with people pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate all the time and effort that this guest took to give such a detailed review and express her opinion about Seven Gables Inn’s accommodations and customer service.

We did, however, need to clarify a few of the items she commented on:

These guests booked online from our website which has really beautiful and very accurate photos of the décor and architecture of Inn and also of every individual guest room. They booked without direct assistance from our reservation staff and chose the Seal Rocks room from the ones that were available.

They arrived early in the afternoon and were shown to their room by one of our friendly staff. We sincerely wish that they had asked to see other rooms that were available that possibly would have better fit their desires. Since they stayed on a Monday in December, our slowest time of the year, we had 11 other rooms that we could have showed them if they had only asked.

The Seal Rocks room is one our most popular rooms 3 stories up with a view looking directly out at the ocean. We are mystified how they would state that people walking by could look in at them. The special feature of this room is that being up so high and having a 12 foot window across the front of the room, guests can lay in bed with the front window completely undraped and have full privacy to lay in bed and look out at the ocean. Seven Gables Inn is not located on the main street in Pacific Grove, but, instead is located on Ocean View Blvd., a 2 lane street which winds along the oceanfront and has no buildings on the ocean side of the street.

While we have a few off-street parking spaces, we have plentiful on-street parking on the 3 streets surrounding the Inn.

We only wish that these guests expressed their extreme disappointment with their room selection and the Inn when they arrived and we would happily have showed them other larger, less expensive or more private rooms or given them a full refund and help them make other arrangements in town.

Susan Wheelwright
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pacific Grove
1.0 mi away
InterContinental The Clement Monterey
1.1 mi away
Spindrift Inn
Spindrift Inn
#2 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,587 reviews
1.4 mi away
Monterey Bay Inn
Monterey Bay Inn
#4 of 54 in Monterey
4.5 of 5 stars 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Victorian Inn
1.9 mi away
Portola Hotel & Spa at Monterey Bay
1.3 mi away
Monterey Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Seven Gables Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1886. Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this elegant inn. Sunsets accent the surrounding mountains. The natural beauty is complemented by a selection of comfortable rooms, all with ocean views, in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Stay in the three-story 1886 Main House, Beach House, Guest House, one of the garden cottages or the private and spacious Jewell Cottage or Sea View Cottage suites. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.