We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Review of Jewell Cottage” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Seven Gables Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Seven Gables Inn to your Saves list
Seven Gables Inn
555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Winter Rates 20% Off!
Ranked #1 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
California
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Review of Jewell Cottage”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Over the years I’ve stayed in various rooms at the Inn, this time I decided to try the Jewell Cottage.

Imagine my surprise when I walked in to find an actual cozy (ocean view) living room, with a gas fireplace and four walls. No merged rooms in this cottage. The kitchen was also a separate room. Very comfortable and cozy. Glad the owners resisted the urge to marry the kitchen with the living room to create an open-space family type room. I had forgotten how nice it is when rooms are all separated with actual walls.

The kitchen had a small refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker, plates, utensils, dining room table, four chairs and a nice area built into the counter for a laptop. No actual stove or oven but you won’t miss them.

A hallway from the kitchen leads to a large bedroom downstairs with a seating area and a large private bathroom. This bedroom also has a separate entrance.

The upstairs bedroom is accessed from a staircase off the kitchen. The master bedroom has a king size bed and two comfortable chairs for ocean viewing and a large bathroom with tub/shower combination.

The view of Monterey Bay from upstairs might not equal that of the Breaker’s, Gable or Rocky Shores rooms but you might find having a 42” television in the living room and the ability to make your own morning coffee a nice trade-off. I thoroughly enjoyed sitting by the fire, watching TV on a rainy night and watching the morning news with my coffee.

The extra space the cottage provides seems like a real plus for couples staying several days, others traveling together or those who wish a bit more privacy.

I have attached some photos of the Jewell Cottage and more are available if you wish to see them. Just email me!

As always, Laila at the front desk was very welcoming, friendly and helpful. I hope the owners realize what a gem they have with this girl!

The Inn was decorated for Christmas and sitting by the large tree in the Main Parlor, enjoying wine and cheese and chatting with other guests was very pleasant.

Everything is exceptionally clean in all rooms of the Inn and the grounds are well maintained. Every penny you spend staying at this incredible Inn is well worth it. I love this place and can’t wait to go back.

Room Tip: Breakers, Gable, Rocky Shores and Bellevue have the best views, in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    348
    40
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
37
304
11
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Pacific Grove has always been one of our favorite destinations within the USA and Seven Gables Inn our favorite B&B. You will not be disappointed with your room here or the service. We enjoy the long walks along the recreation trail from Lovers Point to Cannery Row.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

While my husband and I really looked forward to staying at the Seven Gables on our trip up the coast, the inn was really a disappointment. The night prior we had stayed in Cambria at a delightful small inn which overlooked the water and where we could hear the waves lapping at the shore all night long. It was a wonderfully relaxing experience and they did everything right for much less money -- including not having you pay in advance for your room.

Not so here at the Seven Gables where our Seal Rocks Room was ridiculously small and it overlooked the main street so we had a very noisy experience. And if you didn't pull your blinds down anyone walking by could see you undressing or walking around in the room so there goes the view at night! Yes we could see seals lying on the rocks the next morning, but that was about the only good thing about the room and the Inn.

The Inn is very Victorian (which I used to love) but it is bordering on the overdone -- particularly with the excessive Christmas decorations. They are so paranoid about anyone destroying their furnishings that you can't even get an iron in your room (they claim they will set one up for you elsewhere). The bathroom was beyond small -- no place to put your makeup or toiletries and it was so tight only one person could use it at a time. And when you took a shower, the shower curtain just kept blowing into the bathtub and clinging to your body which grossed me out as it was probably full of bacteria. There were also little signs in the room trying to sell you everything -- a robe, candy, wine, T-shirt, etc. I don't want to be sold when I am trying to relax. They commercialized it way too much. The entire room was really small and there was only one bedside table.

Everywhere you went in the Inn outside of your room (the hallway, the front desk, etc.) they had little displays trying to sell you bathrobes and other monogrammed stuff from the hotel which I thought was tacky and the staff just tried way too hard to be over the top nice and friendly.

We had a long drive and just wanted to check in to our room and relax and were taken on this tour by a woman who proceeded to give us the history of the area and the inn which we didn't ask for or want. We just wanted to be shown to our room. There are also a lot of stairs (no elevators) and we had to schlepp our own bags up and down. Nobody offers to help you do that.

The best part of the Inn was the breakfast, but funnily enough, they promote they have big communal tables because they know everyone wants to chit chat and meet the other guests. The reality was that everyone was sitting at the few small tables because they just wanted to sit alone and have their breakfast in private and enjoy their own quiet thoughts in the morning. We got stuck at one of the big tables, but we were the only ones sitting there thankfully as everyone rushed to take the smaller tables. Mauro the waiter there was incredibly nice for breakfast and didn't try too hard like the others. I swear when I went to check out the person at the front desk kept asking if there was anything else I wanted as if he couldn't believe I wasn't going to buy a robe or gift certificate.

The wine and cheese in the afternoon were okay but the cookies at 8 p.m. were a disappointment. Also, when you just return from dinner who wants cookies? They should serve them at 3 or 4 p.m. instead.

The on-site parking was also not the best. They had just a few spots off street, yet they had these big pillars so if you parked your car between them (we had a small Nissan) you had to really wrangle yourself to get out of the car. My husband couldn't get in or out of the car when it was parked in their lot.

Room Tip: If you want a room facing the water, it's going to be noisy and not very private with people pas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
swheelwright, Owner at Seven Gables Inn, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
We appreciate all the time and effort that this guest took to give such a detailed review and express her opinion about Seven Gables Inn’s accommodations and customer service.

We did, however, need to clarify a few of the items she commented on:

These guests booked online from our website which has really beautiful and very accurate photos of the décor and architecture of Inn and also of every individual guest room. They booked without direct assistance from our reservation staff and chose the Seal Rocks room from the ones that were available.

They arrived early in the afternoon and were shown to their room by one of our friendly staff. We sincerely wish that they had asked to see other rooms that were available that possibly would have better fit their desires. Since they stayed on a Monday in December, our slowest time of the year, we had 11 other rooms that we could have showed them if they had only asked.

The Seal Rocks room is one our most popular rooms 3 stories up with a view looking directly out at the ocean. We are mystified how they would state that people walking by could look in at them. The special feature of this room is that being up so high and having a 12 foot window across the front of the room, guests can lay in bed with the front window completely undraped and have full privacy to lay in bed and look out at the ocean. Seven Gables Inn is not located on the main street in Pacific Grove, but, instead is located on Ocean View Blvd., a 2 lane street which winds along the oceanfront and has no buildings on the ocean side of the street.

While we have a few off-street parking spaces, we have plentiful on-street parking on the 3 streets surrounding the Inn.

We only wish that these guests expressed their extreme disappointment with their room selection and the Inn when they arrived and we would happily have showed them other larger, less expensive or more private rooms or given them a full refund and help them make other arrangements in town.

Susan Wheelwright
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
peoria, IL
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at the Jewel Cottage for two nights Dec 1 - 3rd. The hotel was decorated for Christmas and was very elegant - the friendliness of the staff was exceptional!!! Our cottage sleeps 4 - myself, husband and sister stayed there - two bedrooms one up and one down - both with exceptional views. Beds were super comfy and the whole cottage was beautifully done in golds, creams and blues. Bathrooms were nice with stone and upstairs had skylights. Kitchen was large and had complementary sodas, tea, coffee maker - plate of cookies were brought in at turndown and chocolates as well. There is a superb wine and cheese tasting from 4 - 6 pm and it was oh so good. Breakfast was posted in your rooms so you could see what was available. For both of our days it was really good - straita, chicken sausages, ham, eggs, fruit, and so forth. Of course the views are what this inn is all about- you just cannot find a bad ocean view at this inn! Right on ocean ave its just a short drive to the aquarium, cannery row, Pacific grove and 17 mile drive there is alot to see and do. Before you check in I recieved a phone call asking if there was anything - flowers, chocolates, massages or offers I wanted to get, I thought that was a nice touch. This place is great and is expensive - we had the winter rates and for the 3 of us at the Jewel cottage the total was 1100.00 for 2 nights. It was well worth it for us - the service, views and location will have us coming back to the Seen gables for sure

Room Tip: All rooms have a ocean view most are for 2 people there are 2 cottages that will sleep up to four w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were given a gift of 3 nights at the Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, CA. Our room looked out over the bay and was very cozy. The staff was very attentive. Everything about our stay was prefect and it was a great relaxing time in a wonderful setting.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the bay are priceless!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

I spent five nights at the Seven Gables Inn and found it to be everything you could wish for in an Inn. Small, intimate, lovely furnishings, spectacular food, etc., etc. I don't usually gush about a place, but there was nothing I would change about this place.

The views from every room are breathtaking. We stayed in the Mariposa room. It was not huge, but rooms in old houses aren't. It was, however, very elegantly and comfortably furnished with high end linens and amenities.

The wine and cheese party every evening was a great place to meet other guests (or not) and just enjoy the sunset from the parlor.

The staff were very accommodating without being obsequious.

Five stars all the way!!!

Room Tip: Can't speak for the other rooms, but the Mariposa room was gorgeous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We spent a night at the Seven Gables earlier in October. From the moment we arrived we found the service exceptional. The room we stayed in was also lovely with comfortable chairs looking out at the Bay. Binoculars throughout the inn are a great touch.

The wine and cheese as well as breakfast were plentiful and very tasty.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Seven Gables Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seven Gables Inn

Address: 555 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Circa 1886. Imagine the picturesque and romantic setting of Seven Gables Inn in Pacific Grove, California with waves crashing along the rocky shoreline of the Pacific Ocean. Sea otters and whales are viewed regularly from this elegant inn. Sunsets accent the surrounding mountains. The natural beauty is complemented by a selection of comfortable rooms, all with ocean views, in a cluster of seven historic buildings. Stay in the three-story 1886 Main House, Beach House, Guest House, one of the garden cottages or the private and spacious Jewell Cottage or Sea View Cottage suites. Savor a bountiful breakfast in the oceanfront dining room and gather for afternoon wine and cheese featuring Monterey County wineries. Munch on homemade cookies served with milk in the evening. Outstanding service and hospitality make Seven Gables Inn an especially delightful retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Seven Gables Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seven Gables Hotel Pacific Grove
7 Gables Inn
Seven Gables Inn Grand View Inn
Seven Gables Inn Monterey

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Seven Gables Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.