We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I absolutely adore Martine Inn” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martine Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Martine Inn to your Saves list
Martine Inn
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   255 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking & WiFi
Ranked #5 of 10 Pacific Grove B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fresno, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“I absolutely adore Martine Inn”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

Iv stayed at Martine Inn several times, with kids in the family suit, and also as a romantic get away. I especially enjoy the views and courtyard areas. Its a beautiful Victorian house full of memorabilia from days gone by. I highly recommend this establishment to anyone looking for a special experience.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Being able to serve you and have you return for a totally different experience is wonderful. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    126
    47
    18
    16
    10
See reviews for
18
148
5
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Burlingame, California, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

This was a great place to stay. Our room, California, overlooked the gardens. Wine and appetizers in the evening, breakfast was fabulous, and a going away treat at the end of our stay was very nice. It is just minutes walk away from the aquarium and parking is free if staying at the inn. People were happy to please. We would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Creating your desire to return is our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bettendorf, Iowa
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Room was very comfortable and filled with Victorian style antiques. Stayed in Mahogany room. Had working fireplace that only required one match to start. Very nice to take chill off of the cool night air and also romantic. Wine and appetizers offered every evening in dining room overlooking the ocean. Made for conversation with other guests. Breakfast was outstanding and served at table with china and silver. Within walking distance of several local restaurants in Pacific Grove and Cannery Row. Great path along ocean for jogging, walking or biking. Fruit and coffee/tea available 24 hours. Beautiful grounds. Only negative is memorizing code for front door that changes every day.

Room Tip: Can see ocean from the bathroom window in Mahogany Room. Off of courtyard. Could hear breakfast bei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Thank you for pointing out that the Martine Inn location is so convenient to things you want to do and that we try to give you things to do in house as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

This was my second time staying at the Martine Inn. Our first experience was very nice but the second time left much to be desired. I will illustrate how we feel our stay could be better with a couple of examples. We arrived early in the afternoon and our room was not ready, which is totally fine. We asked if they could store our computers so they would not be left in the hot car but the woman was not helpful and finally all could offer is leaving our valuables in a public place. Also, they have a reception but choices were far more limited than the first time we want. On a minor note, the door to the bathroom in the room grinds on the floor or are weird. The place does have a good view. Hopefully the decline in service in the second visit is an aberration than a downward trend since the first time we stayed, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We are so glad to have you as a returning guest. Our check in time is 3:00 pm and if you arrive before that time your room will not be ready. We vacuum our hallways and common areas last and do not want the noise and activity to inconvenience you in any way. We have stored guests personal belongings for 30 years in one of our conference rooms and have never had things missing. Our reception includes a fruit tray, vegetable tray, antipasto tray, suitable dips, tea sandwiches, and a hot hors d'oeuvre. This has not changed. The size of the trays changes depending upon the number of guest rooms occupied. The hot hors d'oeuvres differ every day and the fruit and vegetable tray items change with the season. We also provide selected white and red wine, sodas, nonalcoholic beverages and bottled water all at no charge.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penn Valley, California
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We had such a great time last year... we just had to return for another anniversary celebration! We were not disappointed. Once again, we were able to book an excellent deal thru TravelZoo. Hopefully, this will be an annual offering! The place is located right across the street from the ocean; within walking distance of Monterey Bay Aquarium and the wharf area, as well as Lover's Point if going the other direction.
I've already given the Martine Inn a big "thumbs up" review last year. But, just wanted to emphacize the quality, the service and the value are still top notch! Thanks to Don and his staff for another quality experience!
Hope to see you again next year!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
We take great pleasure when you return to be our guest multiple times. We had a guest last week that first came to the Martine Inn 29 years ago and has returned many times since. Thanks for taking the time to write a review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Top Contributor
296 reviews 296 reviews
91 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
230 helpful votes 230 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

We were taking advantage of a Travelzoo promotion; king room, bottle of champagne and chocolate covered strawberries. All this for what seemed a reasonable price for Pacific Grove, well under $200.00/night. Even in booking the package I couldn't help but wonder about its rating as the 6th worst out of 10. Or from their perspective, the 6th best in Pacific Grove.

I reasoned that the worst inn in Pacific Grove would probably be the best option in many towns. With an open mind we checked in about 4:30 pm on a Wednesday. We were greeted by the innkeeper and her trainee. After a few minutes of the innkeeper correcting the trainee I was reminded of a tough school teacher about to wrap the knuckles of the trainee with a ruler. Frankly it was making me uncomfortable as nearly everything the young lady did was repeated, and corrected by the innkeeper. Not a nice way to start out stay.

I knew the backstory. The Martine family purchased the Parke Mansion (of Parke-Davis Pharmaceutical fame) in 1972. They invested heavily in the estate to bring it up to current standards and thereafter starting renting the rooms. They rightly take pride in viewing the inn as almost a museum laden as it is with collections of antiques, silver and Don Martine's MG cars. For some people that would be great. For me it was a little weird.

I appreciate a good historic hotel. This inn, however, reminded me of grandma's musty old house. Mind you it wasn't musty, and was very clean, but the floral print of the drapes matching the floral print of the wallpaper was a little too old fashioned for me. I enjoyed the antiques but thought the mismatched pieces was more like a holistic vegetarian restaurant trying to be hip in a hippy, dippy way. The clawfoot bathtub was a nice feature, but of course a little difficult to take a shower in.

The property as a whole was not what I would call well laid out. Many of the rooms were in the main house but others were hidden around the property. We took a look main house rooms the next day after the guests had left. There is one room in particular that looks out over the ocean and has nice features. But many of the other rooms were rather small with the sink in the room and only a bathtub or shower in a separate room with the toilet.

Our room, The Captain's Room, appeared to be in what was formerly a garage. It faced onto the courtyard which made it kinda of dark. There was a room above us (yes, we could hear those guests quite easily but it was never a problem) but no one on either side.

Scattered around the mansion's various spaces were, not one, not two but seven of Don Martine's antique MG cars. Again, I appreciate a good classic car with the best of them but how this adds value to an inn is beyond me. Are they nice, yes, but do they make sense being here...I don't think so. A car museum which is also an inn?

Finally, the food was very good. They have a house chef. They freshly cut the fruit, vegetables and cheese before each wine hour. The morning's breakfast offered three options; oatmeal or granola, a regular egg dish or whatever the special of the day was. The chef made a wonderful blueberry French toast one day. A crab Benedict the next. Preceded by a fruit bowl, accompanied by fruit juice, the breakfast was a highlight of the visit.

In conclusion I can see where some people would absolutely love this place, and rightfully so. It is a unique place with some great features. I suspect there are some folks who return to this inn year after year because it is well located, reasonably priced and sits nearly on the water. For me, however, starting with the severe innkeeper, including the ghostly specter of Mr. Martine and ending with the overly proud display of cars and antiques, it was just kinda weird.

Room Tip: All rooms are unique, ones overlooking the ocean are considerably more expensive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
Thank you for your extensive review. We have never been called weird before nor have I ever been called a ghostly specter. In our 30th year of business I guess anything can happen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

This is a beautiful, century-old inn with unique charm and quality. We were greeted warmly upon arrival and enjoyed our two nights there very much. We have three young children and found the family suite to be perfect. The suite is detached from the main inn, which was great for our family. The breakfasts were delicious, and the ocean view from the dining room with crackling fire made the experience absolutely memorable. The owner's wonderful vintage MG automobiles are on display, and the pool table and piano in a separate building were fun diversions for the kids. It feels very much like a home, because it is. One can stroll along the path along the waterfront in either direction to take in the views, and it was just a leisurely ten minute walk to the famous Monterey Aquarium.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donmartine, Owner at Martine Inn, responded to this review, April 7, 2014
We set up the Family Suite about 5 years ago and it has become very popular. We are glad you enjoyed it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Martine Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martine Inn

Address: 255 Ocean View Blvd., Pacific Grove, CA 93950
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Monterey Peninsula > Pacific Grove
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Pacific Grove
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Martine Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Imagine walking out the front door of your beautifully appointed room and gazing at a beachfront paradise. Take a few steps and smell the ocean and hear the baby seals as they sun themselves. The Martine Inn, a Pacific Grove hotel, provides the perfect romantic getaway for people who love nature and beachfront activities. The Martine Inn overlooks Monterey Bay and provides pristine views of the coastline. The hotel features amenities including:- Romantic Ideal Location- Stroll to Monterey Bay Aquarium and Cannery Row- Complimentary Gourmet Breakfast- Complimentary Evening Wine & Hors d’oeuvres. Escape to the Martine Inn for an unparalleled experience! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Martine Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martine Hotel Pacific Grove
Martine Inn Pacific Grove

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martine Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.